Thread: Fraser Island Lakes clogged by sand

Fraser Island Lakes clogged by sand

More sensationalistic crap from Tree hugging hippies.

Lakes looked fine, infact more than fine last time I was there (last month) with the amount of run off across the beach.

Fair dinkum where do these retards get the time to do this crap!

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574...-29277,00.html

FRASER Island is at risk of losing its unique lakes unless nearby roads are closed immediately, says an environment group.
    The Fraser Island Defenders organisation (FIDO) says lakes on the world heritage-listed island are clogged by run off from sand roads.
    FIDO spokesman John Sinclair says sediment and pollution runs into the lakes every time there's a downpour.
    "It's appalling if nothing's done...then the lakes are just going to progressively die," Mr Sinclair told ABC Radio.
    FIDO wants the roads to be shut and relocated away from the lakes.
    The Queensland Government says it is providing funding to lessen the impact of tourism on Fraser Island.
    But Queensland Minister for Sustainability Andrew McNamara says more federal funding is needed to protect the lakes.
    "We spend $9 million, the Federal Government currently puts $160,000 a year into Fraser Island, I would welcome a larger input," he told ABC Radio.
    Federal opposition environment spokesman Greg Hunt says the Rudd Government has slashed funding to important community environmental programs.
    "The majority of the funding has been transferred to state bodies so community environment groups are missing out," Mr Hunt told ABC Radio.
    "Groups such as FIDO can't access new community water grants which could help these magnificent
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Re: Fraser Island Lakes clogged by sand

Mate, if these treehuggers have there way the only place we will be able to go in 20years is in the back yard of ya house ...........

Willo

Heath, maybe write a letter to the good Minister with your experiences.

Guys/gals we will hear more and more of this bleeting aas the state election comes closer and greens preferences are being horse traded. "We will shut this and close that and fund your 2 biggest projects but we want all your preferences and support...." that is how it works.

Go talk to your local member and your running candidates when they are announced and let them know what you are thinking & feeling. They can't go against public sentiment as they won't get elected.........

Its not bad hey?????......I can remember in the late 70's and early 80's the greenies fighting tooth and nail to "save the lakes" on Fraser as they were drying up. Now they are dying?????
    There main argument then was that because people used the lakes as a recreational reserve which disrupted the thin layer of weed and matter on the lake bottom thus allowing the water to drain away. They wanted all of Fraser to be a no touch zone and wanted all people off the island period.
    I know they were strong in stopping the logging on the island many years ago and they deserve credit for their efforts in that episode but.......this is just plain stupid thinking.

Shane

Quote " "We spend $9 million, the Federal Government currently puts $160,000 a year into Fraser Island, I would welcome a larger input," he told ABC Radio."

To me, with 400,000 visitors to the island a year, Fraser is supporting itself. In other words, the amount of money spent is generated by the island by way of , Beach permits, camping fees etc.

Private enterprize gleans much much more from the Island than the Govt.

I firmly believe that the future will see a reduction in numbers or vehicles and people. It will be because of minority groups, such as the ferals that :- leave rubbish behind, fail to provide proper sanitary sites, hoons, drunks etc. These people are definatley in the minority but will spoil it for the majority.

FIDO has it's place, but like the Daintree Folk, they want to keep it for themselves.

Any natural resource that is well managed and maintained will survive the rigors of " viewers ".

I did note that John Sinclair did not provide any material to substanciate his claims.

Quote Originally Posted by Heath View Post
    More sensationalistic crap from Tree hugging hippies.

Lakes looked fine, infact more than fine last time I was there (last month) with the amount of run off across the beach.

Fair dinkum where do these retards get the time to do this crap!

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574...-29277,00.html

FRASER Island is at risk of losing its unique lakes unless nearby roads are closed immediately, says an environment group.
    The Fraser Island Defenders organisation (FIDO) says lakes on the world heritage-listed island are clogged by run off from sand roads.
    FIDO spokesman John Sinclair says sediment and pollution runs into the lakes every time there's a downpour.
    "It's appalling if nothing's done...then the lakes are just going to progressively die," Mr Sinclair told ABC Radio.
    FIDO wants the roads to be shut and relocated away from the lakes.
    The Queensland Government says it is providing funding to lessen the impact of tourism on Fraser Island.
    But Queensland Minister for Sustainability Andrew McNamara says more federal funding is needed to protect the lakes.
    "We spend $9 million, the Federal Government currently puts $160,000 a year into Fraser Island, I would welcome a larger input," he told ABC Radio.
    Federal opposition environment spokesman Greg Hunt says the Rudd Government has slashed funding to important community environmental programs.
    "The majority of the funding has been transferred to state bodies so community environment groups are missing out," Mr Hunt told ABC Radio.
    "Groups such as FIDO can't access new community water grants which could help these magnificent
    Just love it, hickup in the 'not for profit-profit organisation' balance sheet, hope it continues so they can find honest employ, cause on average they WILL go ANYWHERE the free money is coming in.