Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Engel Fridge / Freezer Combi

Re: Engel Fridge / Freezer Combi

I own a 60lt Waeco and would never buy one again. Mine is about 3 years old and have had it repaired 5 times. I used to have an Engel in my truck and it went for ever.
    Waeco has been working great for the last year but I don't have a great deal of trust in the unit.
    Buy an Engel !!!

I have had a 80 liter waeco for 8 + years and its been everywhere , does all I need when up the cape fishing for 2 weeks, travelling for work out west , or just into town or the BBQ , used to live in the back of the triton and never missed a beat never been serviced or fixed very reliable, my one issue is it is now getting rust .
    But when it is time to up grade I'll get a Trailblazer
    Give a man a fish and feed him for a day , teach a man to fish and feed him for life .

Quote Originally Posted by deefa66 View Post
    Hi Nagg, can do the same with my evacool 60lt, once I get the temp control set right. I've had this unit for 5years and a 60lt trialblazer for 8years before that. Both good, trailblazer strong, good for throwing in back of ute, changed to evacool as we got a slide-on made, evacool a bit more streamlined.
    Cheers Deefa
    Hi Deefa

Does the evacool come with a separate freezer section ?
    What I am saying that I can make a 1 kg block of ice ..... overnight in the Freezer section
    & Still keep Veges , milk etc cold without half freezing them ...........
    You really cant do that without having a separate compartment

Yeh Nagg, comes with a divider that you can put in to seperate the end that has all the cooling/freezing stuff from other end that is basically an evakool esky,that you just use as fridge space.Take out divider and whole thing will freeze just need to regulate temp control. Trailblazer was similar but freezer section was at bottom and fridge section towards top, depending on temp setting, once again the whole thing could be used as freezer.

All good units

Cheers Dale

Quote Originally Posted by deefa66 View Post
    Yeh Nagg, comes with a divider that you can put in to seperate the end that has all the cooling/freezing stuff from other end that is basically an evakool esky,that you just use as fridge space.Take out divider and whole thing will freeze just need to regulate temp control. Trailblazer was similar but freezer section was at bottom and fridge section towards top, depending on temp setting, once again the whole thing could be used as freezer.

All good units

Cheers Dale
    Thanks Dale

The Engle is a permanent arrangement with a lid on the freezer & a fan in the centre .......... remove the lid & increase the temp to use it all as a fridge!

Anyhow ... thanks for that ........ A mate is looking for cheaper options

Nagg you didn't even check the evacools before buying the engel did you?

The eva's can be all fridge, all freezer, combination fridge freezer, or the freezer section can be run as a fridge - ie 15 l fridge.

Engels and evacools both use overflow cooling for the fridge - the engel just uses a fan as well.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Nagg you didn't even check the evacools before buying the engel did you?

The eva's can be all fridge, all freezer, combination fridge freezer, or the freezer section can be run as a fridge - ie 15 l fridge.

Engels and evacools both use overflow cooling for the fridge - the engel just uses a fan as well.
    Forgive me ...... for I know not what I do!

Nah .... very limited availability down here ..
    I did speak to a bloke up at Awoonga about his ...... & he basically described it as being OK ..... but he found the bolt on electrics / compressor a pain - thought he should have bought a waeco