Thread: 6hp outboard advice

6hp outboard advice

G'day all

Just after some advice on 6hp outboards so i can get out over christmas. at the moment ive have been looking at Johnson and Mercury. it just needs to push along a 3.8 tinnie

so any advice on these or other brands of motors would be appreciated

Falz.

Re: 6hp outboard advice

I would look at the tohatsu. If i was to purchase a portable motor i would not even look at anything else than a tohatsu.

ne

a new or 2nd hand one??? if 2nd hand how old ?? ect

My experience with 6hp are the following motors, which I owned at the same time and did a comparison on the same tinny one day to decide which one to keep and which to sell.

The boat they were tested on was a 2005 Blue Fin 315 Trekker (v-nose barra punt) with an aluminium frame floor and front casting deck. I weigh about 85 kg, and I only had minimal gear in the boat as it was a water test only to check the motors (no fishing gear / esky).

Suzuki 6hp 4 stroke 2005 - was a nice little motor, fairly light to carry around, used bugger-all fuel, easy to start. Struggled a bit on the power side of things, I had to really move my weight around to get it on the plane, and it did struggle to stay there. You really had to keep it at full revs to stay cruising along without it bogging down with rev variations.

Mercury 6hp 2 stroke 2003 - Pretty sweet little motor. Revs freely and with more punch than the Suzi. Got on and maintained the plane easier, did not have to move my weight around as much and planed quicker. The 2st and 4st were about the same noise level, but the 2st is a bit more fumey. Yes it uses a bit more fuel than the 4st, but I was happy to sacrifice this in order to have the added punch. The Merc is basically a re-badged Tohatsu, so I imagine that they would have the same reedeming and negative features.

I would be looking at a biger motor than a 6hp for a 3.8 tinny. I am considering an 8 or 9.9hp for my 315 to make travelling waterways a bit easier, especially with 2 fishers and gear aboard.

Ed.

yer,, i would get a 15 or something but i dont have my boat licence yet, and i dont really want to go though my holidays without being able to go out for a fish up the river. so my plan is to keep the 6 for abit and keep it as clean as possible then trade in for a larger one

Hi mate,

As the others have said you may want a little more power for a 3.8m A 6hp will push it, however in the long run you will be happier in the long run with a 15hp.

As you brands, you can go past Yamaha., however I have had a johnson powering my last boat, and it served me well, with no issues.

My new motor is Yamaha and I can not fault, that's why I recomend Yamaha, being a 4 stroke, it's quieter and smoother than a 2 stroke.

are the yamaha 2 strokes any good?

Smile Re: 6hp outboard advice

don't knows if laws are aus wide but in tas you need a license for a 4hp motor and above

ie a 6hp would need a boat license

yer its 6hp up here in Qld

I would have thought any of the major 2stroke outboard brands would be fine.

yamaha 2 strokes are unreal,

i owned a us Mercury in the past and had no end of trouble starting the thing etc,
    just became a real headache at times,

ive since got a yamaha 2st and mate cant rave about it enough,
    starts so easily and just cant flood it no matter what you do,
    just makes your day on the water so much nicer knowing that you wont have trouble when you want to go home,

i know they are a bit dearer and less warranty but believe me mate its worth going yamaha.

But if I had to choose it would be a yammy ;-)