Thread: Curado E7 and a few barra

Curado E7 and a few barra

Well took the new curado E7 for a fish on saturday night and lost it's virginity on a few barra,it's a much improved reel over the older 200dhsv that i've been using much more smoother,lighter with a lot more feel.Casting smaller lure's like spearhead's and shad rap's is a breeze but also deal's wth larger lure's like barra bait's no worries.

The drag is a huge improvment over the older model's also(no need for carbontex yet) it handled barra to 80cm with ease even in a fast flowing river.Playing around with the vbs you can really set it up just right and i had to as i was standing there in almost pitch black condition's so i did'nt want to overun and birdsnest as it would have been a hassle sorting it out in the dark.I switched reel's from my 50mg to the curado as a back to back comparison and i have to say that the curado is definatly a nicer smoother reel to use,even a mate who swear's by his 50mg's was impressed and is also off to get one,they really are a notch up in my book's.

I landed around 20 fish on the reel for the night including a 3ft long bullshark which snavelled a 10+classic and put up a bit of a display(daly river jumping shark) but the curado was smooth to the core.The reel was matched up to my gl3 664 which gave it a good balance and feel,it's a combination which i can cast all day/night with and not get sick of using......for me anyway.

So far so good ,that was only it's first outing it's got a whole wet season run off to impress me some more and i'm sure it will get a work out,

Cheers Dan........

Re: Curado E7 and a few barra

top stuff dan,i might have to check them out.
    figjam :wink:

Good read there Dan If you dont mind - keep us posted about the reels (& your ) progress ......... its a relatively new reel which would be of interest to more than a few barra fishoes

thanks for posting

Hey Dan, I LOOOVE mine too.

Christened it on some really nice cod & yella's - although they dont give it the workout a barra would - very very happy it.

Like it much better than my friend's chronarch too!
    Cin

I found that post very helpful cause I've been looking into a baitcaster to use for casting lures around awoonga but haven't settled on one yet.
    How do the Curado's compare to the Chronarch's price wise? Would the Curado hold over 100m of 50lb braid?? Also, how good's the anti backlash because i'm fairly new at using baitcasters.
    Cheers .

Quote Originally Posted by novice23 View Post
    I found that post very helpful cause I've been looking into a baitcaster to use for casting lures around awoonga but haven't settled on one yet.
    How do the Curado's compare to the Chronarch's price wise? Would the Curado hold over 100m of 50lb braid?? Also, how good's the anti backlash because i'm fairly new at using baitcasters.
    Cheers .

I'm not sure on the chronarch price ATM around $350 ish,i got the E7 for $230.
    We put ......i think 130 mtr's of 30lb sunline on it........so i reckon you'd get 100 of 50lb depending on diameter ofcourse.
    Yeah mate the anti backlash if set properly is very good..........with my reels i set the VBS so i have a little sideway's movement in the spool from having the spool brake knob backed right off so can get maximum distance if required and just thumb to stop.

Dan.......

Nice kit for the dollars, I was getting an E5 for a spare Barra reel but thinking of the burner now for lipless n jerkbaits. Decisions decisions.