Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Barra Moments 2008

Re: Barra Moments 2008

Ahh, a challange then! Thanks mate, I'll be on the water this week end if your out and about, you know my little 4 mt hornet now, useing the "blue ute" this week end.

[quote=Steve B;942175]
    Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    New high light, Darryls avatar, nice work mate, some new PB's there[/quot

Add that avater to my highlights. love it D!!!

Tony, yeah the smell of ozone still reeeks!! finally got the computer back online!! will start posting again properly soon........sorry!!

thanks Chris for the kind words mate. I will reply to one of your ABT posts soon. I have a bit to say....all good.

cheers Steve

Hey Simon, hope all is good with the 'bun in the oven' mate!!
    yes all going great so far only 2 and a bit months roughly to go so you all excited
    just got one thing left to paint for the boss and my work is done apparently new bub things must look different they didnt tell me that at the birth classes lol we been stocking up on things for a while even when we where st gin gin last month we got nappys cheap so we grab them nath missus laugh could belive we bought them but hey money is money and every bit we save can go to buying more llllllllllluuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrreeeeeeesssssss hehehehe my plan is coming together wooooohhhhhhaaaaaaok enough wierd talk back to fishing

[quote=nipsta;942230]
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post

yes all going great so far only 2 and a bit months roughly to go so you all excited
    just got one thing left to paint for the boss and my work is done apparently new bub things must look different they didnt tell me that at the birth classes lol we been stocking up on things for a while even when we where st gin gin last month we got nappys cheap so we grab them nath missus laugh could belive we bought them but hey money is money and every bit we save can go to buying more llllllllllluuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrreeeeeeesssssss hehehehe my plan is coming together wooooohhhhhhaaaaaaok enough wierd talk back to fishing
    Gee I just had to check whether I logged onto a mothers support group website ........ Phew , Yeh back to fishinn talk

[quote=NAGG;942240]
    Quote Originally Posted by nipsta View Post

Gee I just had to check whether I logged onto a mothers support group website ........ Phew , Yeh back to fishinn talk

A bit of sympathy Chris....This a wonderful time in a young couples life.....Baby waking up every 2 hrs.....Feeds every 3/4 hrs....shitty nappies.....Teething.....Ear nose and throat issues.....Of course being a Grandfather (Poppy) I just hand the kids back to their parents after a couple of hours (Great Deal)......I can understand Simons excitement Mel is about to give birth to their SON........Priceless
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Here is a little montage of some of the better barra that came into the boat during trips in March , September & November! ...... Destinations that were most fruitful were Awoonga & Monduran ...... Though other destinations included Teemburra , Faust , Tinaroo & Kinchant

Here is my first Awoonga metery taken on a black & gold 130mm slick rig during our Sept trip ....Attachment 39898... With Whitey kicking my butt - It was the biggest fish landed at the big "A" - - - AW2.jpg My new PB @ 106cm taken during the ABT Awoonga Evening championship ...... A little 4" Hollowbelly rigged weedless was the undoing of this little lady - not 30M from where the fish above was landed

During a red hot moonrise bite at Naggs point -Mondy (Sept) Mighty Whitey managed to land this lady ..Attachment 39899... Fortunately while it managed to stitch him up behind the boat to the sounds of "Its gone!" we were able to unwind her & put her in the boat ...... WHAT A NIGHT! >Attachment 39901 ..I managed a good fish as well after a monumental strike right in the lantana ...... As we were casting long from a tied off tree - we threw the buoy & chased her down in more open water ..... Thats fun

Known as the tree (South arm of B @ Mondy) - We had a cracker of a time back in Sept Some great fish were landed including this 103cm girl which was taken on a 6" Storm Swim shad Attachment 39904 One session saw 3 fish landed in 10 mins .... before the blow flies moved in Attachment 39906 MW landed his first metery at the tree during an earlier session .... what a spot

So this is what a $200 barra looks like - Attachment 39907My first pay cheque in an ABT event (Mondy) . Without a doubt this is my most memorable capture .... maybe it had something to do with using bass gear

Attachment 39911 Back at Nagg Whitey lands another metery during our Sept trip ...... Black & gold slick rigs once again proved to be the most successful lure

The barra of the year for my boat Attachment 39890 This was a great capture ... A massive strike at Naggs Pt that saw the big girl do some porpoising jumps - two long runs (We actually thought it was heading to Roo & Kim who we anchored to our right... After throwing the buoy it was a race to beat an obviously good fish to some free standing timber .... some adept boat maneuvering on the leccy (& barking orders that would make any army drill instructor proud ) saw the big girl surface & landed - a great capture & new PB for Whitey @ 112cm ...... If Whitey was hooked on Barra ...... He is now addicted & suffers from IBD too

So that was some of the best of our northern sojourns during 08 ...... & with a whole different situation facing me for 2009 ( living in Brissy) ..... I'm hoping for more of the same & then some ........ Bring on 2009 I say

Nice Chris, imagine your results next year when you live up here and its only a hop up the road for a week end fish!

Heres a bit more from me
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...737#post943737

Nice Chris, imagine your results next year when you live up here and its only a hop up the road for a week end fish!

Heres a bit more from me

Not wrong Brian ....... We wont have to cram in so much + eliminating 11 hours each way ....... which can be used as fishing time

Heres a bit more from me

Not wrong Brian ....... We wont have to cram in so much + eliminating 11 hours each way ....... which can be used as fishing time

See your Stuttering already with excitement
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Thats twice in a couple of days ...... bloody puta

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Funny

Here are a couple of fish I took throught the year, a harder year this year but broke my pb twice and yes had a ball of a time, still a chance of a couple more yet, but if not a great year was had.... Come on 09

She's seen a fish or 2 that tinny mate hey.

Sideways post:
    Heres a thought, has all the banter, yakking, pics, reports etc etc made a difference to how we have fished this year, both technique and results wise? Does anyone feel they have lifted the game a bit by logging on to this flippin site?

She's seen a fish or 2 that tinny mate hey.

Sideways post:
    Heres a thought, has all the banter, yakking, pics, reports etc etc made a difference to how we have fished this year, both technique and results wise? Does anyone feel they have lifted the game a bit by logging on to this flippin site?
    Mate ...... too bloody right There are always tips & snippits of info .
    My contact with the likes of Trev(Awoonga) ..... the single biggest influence in my barra fishing has come directly through this site.
    Friendships have been made ..... That have given me the incentive to up stumps & relocate.
    Furthermore ...... where I was a frequent user of a couple of southern based sites - these have gone bye bye in favour of Ausfish & particularly the IBDers Those tossers know nothing of barra ...... & besides .. who cares about gummy sharks

2008 What a Year Many highs and a few lows

We will have a look at the high points of my year first

Finally acepted Trev's (Awoonga) invitation to fish Awoonga for the first time four days and barra every day, best fish spot on a meter

Got the call from Trev again (Awoonga) in early September for another four days, just to try the new Skeeter First day no fish trouble with motor. Second day fished with Scotty (Vet) in his poly, i managed one fish at 107cm's, Thanks for that Scotty. Third day, Skeeter still at the Doctor fished with Trev in Scotty's poly, i managed two fish, one at 117cm,s and the other around the 90cm mark
    Fourth day back in the Skeeter, got a full face lift, shite it's quick, Trev managed a couple of very small fish at the death
    I would like to Thank Trevor for his hospitality and friendship, the bloke is a champion.

Calling in to Mondy on the way back from Awoonga, meeting Whitto, seeing Chris ans Whitey again and watching the circus erecting a tent, hearing the Monkey storey from Whitey

The low points are, firstly losing my job at the end of February (apparently to old) and a shocker of a trip to what was my most favorite place in the world, Peter Faust
    To say that it would have blown a dog off a chain is not quite right, It would have blown the hair off a dog
    Lost two good fish in the sticks and saw fish to 40cm's on the deck, very disapointing

Merry Christmas All

John.