Barra Moments 2008 - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Barra Moments 2008

Re: Barra Moments 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Pete62 View Post
    My 2 bobs worth..................... for me the highlight of the year on a fishing front, sad as it may seem, was actually finding.................... GOD...................ah just kiddin', close though, finding Ausfish, I have really enjoyed chatting and reading about our fav pastime, infactuation, hobby, from that, I have developed new skills, brushed up on some old ones and met a few fellow AFers along the way.

I am looking forward to '09 with a Mondy trip in Feb, hopefully a Weipa trip with my old man and the MM in Sept.

Cheers and HO Ho HO

Pete,
    Was the man hanging out with Elvis ? ......... Maybe he can join us for the Bash & Muster .......... I hear his boat is awesome

I sat on this one a bit to make sure I got it right, so here goes:

High points are many, putting a few of my IBV mates (impoudment barra virgins) onto their first fish, and sharing in their enthusiasim after the release, watching Simon beat his PB twice with cracker fish, cracking my first meter plus after a long string of 99's, the whole camping/fishing thing, yakking to the lads on here and then putting a face to a name up there, pulling fish in winter, discovering the joy of a curried chicken pie from The Travellers Rest at Gin Gin for brekky, each trip is a high point.
    Low point - the bloody boring drive up that highway, dropping my best ever fish a couple of weeks ago to leader failure, backing down the concrete ramp at 18% water level, 4am in the morning and a hang over that would kill a large dog lol.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    I sat on this one a bit to make sure I got it right, so here goes:

High points are many, putting a few of my IBV mates (impoudment barra virgins) onto their first fish, and sharing in their enthusiasim after the release, watching Simon beat his PB twice with cracker fish, cracking my first meter plus after a long string of 99's, the whole camping/fishing thing, yakking to the lads on here and then putting a face to a name up there, pulling fish in winter, discovering the joy of a curried chicken pie from The Travellers Rest at Gin Gin for brekky, each trip is a high point.
    Low point - the bloody boring drive up that highway, dropping my best ever fish a couple of weeks ago to leader failure, backing down the concrete ramp at 18% water level, 4am in the morning and a hang over that would kill a large dog lol.
    There is something about watching someone catch their first or a PB ........ specially if you've had some involvement

I know the pressure will be on in 2009 when I get the opportunity to play guide to some barra virgins ......... I might get some extra help

PS ....... How do you rate your results ?

Numbers of fish were down per trip, but quality was certainly up, as you would expect with the passing of another year.
    Im reasonably hapy with the on water results mate, still managed to find a fish or two casting in a dam that doubled in size in Febuary, and seemed to suffer "tuff bite syndrome" for a fair part of the year.

Swansong is this week end, a little dash and splash trip to see whats happening up there.

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Numbers of fish were down per trip, but quality was certainly up, as you would expect with the passing of another year.
    Im reasonably hapy with the on water results mate, still managed to find a fish or two casting in a dam that doubled in size in Febuary, and seemed to suffer "tuff bite syndrome" for a fair part of the year.

Swansong is this week end, a little dash and splash trip to see whats happening up there.
    another unfinished symphony ......... hopefully Brian you nail a few big girls (& barra too ).

Good onya

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Merry Christmas guys and girl

Highlights for me were: Putting more AF faces to the names, increasing my own barra angling knowledge and thinking about what I was doing a lot more, and of course finally getting my new rig in July.

Lowlights: seeing any dead impoundment barra, and one particularly comes to mind.......witnessing one particular hillbilly merrily trolling his way through B with a sizeable barra (still alive and gasping) tethered to his boat. I still can't rid myself of the mental image So sad.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Quote Originally Posted by Big_Ren View Post
    Merry Christmas guys and girl

Highlights for me were: Putting more AF faces to the names, increasing my own barra angling knowledge and thinking about what I was doing a lot more, and of course finally getting my new rig in July.

Lowlights: seeing any dead impoundment barra, and one particularly comes to mind.......witnessing one particular hillbilly merrily trolling his way through B with a size able barra (still alive and gasping) tethered to his boat. I still can't rid myself of the mental image So sad.

I know we shouldn't be this way ...... because everyone is entitled to take a barra for the table (as long as it is size) - But to me & my way of thinking , there is something not quite right about killing a big girl ....... Once you see them on the brag mat & get those photos - They usually stay calm & then swim off with maybe just a splash of the tail ........... they are like a big Labrador dog
    But having one alive and tethered to the side of the boat ....... thats sick

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Too true Chris. I fully support all the underlying principles of put and take, but I am absolutely with you about the majesty of these creatures. I certainly have no intention of starting any debate about C&R or keeping fish, it's just MHO.

The tethering of the barra (I have seen it on two occasions now, once the fish was alive as we were close enough to their boat, the other occasion it was certainly dead) is a distressing sight. I am no tree hugger, but something is just not right with this. A humane dispatch with an iki jimi would have been the lesser of the two evils.
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Yes Paul ..... the C&R debate has been done to death

But killing a fish for the table ....... It needs to be prepared & handled / stored properly. With 30 Deg water & 30 Deg ++ ambient temps ...... fish flesh will go off so quickly ......... Dont tell me that if they catch 1 at 6 or 7am they are quickly going to get off the water ..... back to camp so they can prepare that fish.

No wonder so many fish get chucked At least when you see a boat with a ice box the size of a coffin ........ you know their intention!!!!

Yes Paul ...... I feel like you on this one

Thumbs up Re: Barra Moments 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Whitto View Post
    Strange as this may sound I have had a Great year....I got so much from our Mate with 4 Many Lures wa...ker...

Thanks for the very kind words Whitto.

I'd like to wish you and your family a very merry x-mas & a safe & happy new year.

Originally Posted by Whitto
    Strange as this may sound I have had a Great year....I got so much from our Mate with 4 Many Lures wa...ker...

Quote Originally Posted by 2manylures View Post

I'd like to wish you and your family a very merry x-mas & a safe & happy new year.
    Totally uncalled for Whitto ....... not what I expected from you

Quote Originally Posted by 2manylures View Post

Im a man of few words......Instead I will treat your past comments with the contempt they deserve.
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Highlights...lots but Homer was up there! Putting my neighbour Spud onto his first barra (and plenty more after that) Meeting heaps of top blokes here and there from Ausfish stands out too.

Low's....just 1. Sunday 14 sept 5 am.

ABT tour had its share of highs and lows and some funny stuff in between!!

cheers Steve,

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Highlights...lots but Homer was up there! Putting my neighbour Spud onto his first barra (and plenty more after that) Meeting heaps of top blokes here and there from Ausfish stands out too.

Low's....just 1. Sunday 14 sept 5 am.

ABT tour had its share of highs and lows and some funny stuff in between!!

cheers Steve,

Steve ...... It was great to finally meet - Your one genuine good bloke

Everyone stuffs up at some stage & seriously - thank god you got through it ............

Homer ...... what we all aspire to - well done

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Steve ...... It was great to finally meet - Your one genuine good bloke

Everyone stuffs up at some stage & seriously - thank god you got through it ............

Homer ...... what we all aspire to - well done

yeah stev look chris has finally relized live in cockaroach land can be harmfull to ya health so next year he will be in gods country and not far from paradise