So what do you think of this? Feed back needed - Page 2

Thread: So what do you think of this? Feed back needed

Re: So what do you think of this? Feed back needed

Hi Andrew

There is no way, IMHO, given what you want to do with it' that the original boat you asked about is the one to buy. As one of our learned fellow AFs pointed out, warranty will issues pose too great a risk. Plus you do need shade and as a GOM you deserve a softer ride and to be able to run a smaller sized motor than 80 or 90.

So what to buy? Your choice but have a good look at these as even the flash one come in at about $35K . The ones they sold in Aust originally gave a great ride and often i wish I'd kept my 5.6m one. http://www.abetterboat.com.au/home.html

Hope things are going well up there, see you have yet to organize a Northern GOM M & G.

All the best

What could go wrong.......................

Looks like a beautiful boat to me Aussie. I have a 4.5m bluefin warrior myself. My first boat and i'd like to make it my last. Heaps of storage under the casting deck at the front and rear and in the console itself. It also doesn't have a (pod?) at the stern which makes it a huge boat inside for it's length. It is a wet boat though for the passengers anyway (I hide behind the screen) but i haven't been in a tinny that isn't. Has a 40 2banger yammy on the back which is fine if there isn't too much weight in it but in hindsight would probably go a 60. I dont think you'll regret getting a c/c especially if your'e into casting lures to pelagics and/or snaggy banks ect. Good luck with whatever you decide. Ben

Andrew,
    mate, i have a 500 legend (i think its the same as the current 520) thats just over 4yrs old. I had the console moved back approx. 300mm & had quintrex take the esky out and replaced that with a couple of u/floor spiggots. I had an esky that fitted nicely between the console and the front casting platform. Its definately one of the best alloy boats i've owned in the past 26yrs of boating & I've had no problems with the girl apart from 2 bilgepumps ( 1 x johnson, 1 x rule) that played up. on both accounts, quintrex replaced them - no charge and were pleasant to deal with and delivered what they promised. Yep, i do see threads on here where customers have problems with them and i can't (or won't) comment on them as i don't have all the information on their dealings/problems - ie heresay. Mate, at the end of the day, its your choice and whatever decision you make, i hope you enjoy.

Kev.

F&B (January 2009) did a test on the 490 topender with 80hp Yamaha 4st. This is the same hull as the one you are looking at and got an excellent review. Worth a read as there is some discussion about console positions etc.

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Stuff the Quinny, get a GS platey or similar. A boat that's built in Darwin!
    That's what you would think, that GS are built in Darwin, but I looked into these boats some time ago and found out the hulls are actually fabricated and welded overseas and fitted out in Darwin.
    The thread might still be here, and someone from this site informed me of the practice. I was really keen on the 520 tourney boat at the time.

Ally Jack

Here's my Girl and I'm Happy

Care to weigh back in Aussie or ya just gunna let us bench warmes run away with ya thread

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Care to weigh back in Aussie or ya just gunna let us bench warmes run away with ya thread

No mate I'm still reading all the post and none have really warranted a reply other than " thanks mate", but as I said in the first post ..... after we sell our place in Chinderah. We are at the moment in Darwin and are flying back next Monday to tart the place up before putting it on the market. With the way things are it may take a while to sell so there is no hurry so the more feed back the better.

Aussiefool

lol mate just having a dig...... your name does not portray you at all. I looked for 3 years till i found the right boat

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.