Pathfinder vs Challenger

Thread: Pathfinder vs Challenger

Pathfinder vs Challenger

still looking around for a 4wd to tow my 455 poly CC and do the occasional beach camping trip with the fam. need a smaller wagon than patrol or LC and prefer auto petrol.

can spend max 12

spent a LOT of time looking at NL pajs only to have one knocked back at inspection (engine issues).

my question is what do ownwers think of these two other options. thought i might get more car for my dollar putting these two on the list.

Challengers seemed to get a good wrap by folks on here but i dont really have any experience with either.

cheno

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: Pathfinder vs Challenger

I had a pathfinder of that sort of vintage (2001) and it was nice enough, excellent on the beach and would tow that sort of boat no worries. Bit heavy on the fuel but I suspect the challenger wouldn't be far behind.
    They are pretty similar vehicles in specs and size - but maybe the pathfinder is a bit more comfortable. I haven't driven a challenger for many years though so maybe they improved (I was looking at 2000 models). Perhaps the challenger is a bit tougher (was based on the triton chassis??).
    You can ask questions about the pathy on pcoa.org forums.

I have a 98 Pathfinder Ti which I've had for 4 years and have done 80000 km in. It now has 200k on the clock. I've towed a camper trailer from NQ to Tassie and back and averaged 15L per 100km and it goes through 20L per 100km towing my 5.3m half cab glass boat.
    I've towed the camper on the beaches around here and have also towed the camper on Fraser without worries. Reliability has been excellent.
    A mate has a triton ute which I believe shares the same runing gear as the Challenger and he's drivn his all over Fraser and gets similar fuel usage.
    Personally, I recommend the Pathy.
    Another mate has a 2004 Prado and I believe it is a much better all round drive than my Pathfinder but they are way more expemsive.
    Hope this helps.

Hey Chino, PM Levinge, he has a challenger and I think he's selling it in the new year. He could give you some opinions.

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Hey Cheno, just caught sight of this thread.

Info for you on the Challenger.

Comfort factor is really good, missus fell asleep in it the first road trip (she doesn't normally do that).

Room interior - heaps of room
    Economy - really good 8.5 to 9 ltrs per 100 klm on road
    around town its a typical 4wd and get about 450klm to a 75ltr tank
    towing - when I had the 4m tinnie it didn't change much
    now with he 6m centre cab I do notice it on long trips

Grunt - really good, have snatched much bigger 4wd's clear on the beach
    when they've been bogged.

Definitely a value for money vehicle if your not after a big 4wd. works well on both the dirt and road.

Upstart is correct, I will be offloading mine around February as I am upgrading to a V8 Landcruiser, it will make towing the big 6M plate boat alot easier. The Challenger could handle it pretty well but was in the top half of its tow rating, so I have decided to be safe rather than sorry. We do alot of roat trips and now with the big boat its just the way it goes. If your interested let me know. Auto V6 3.0ltr 2004 model (July04 MYPA05 model) roughly 70k Klms, Apr 08 new Cooper ATR tyres.

Selling it reluctantly, if they made a V8 model I'd be buying one really quick!!!
    Fillet and Release Squad

I have a 2002 pathy and love it. Yes they are thirsty beasts, but I am beyond caring about that any more, it is a nice car to drive, feels like a car but has been over some hellish tracks and crappy beaches and never failed me

I doubt there is a lot of difference, both are good

A mate of mine might still have an 01 challenger for sale, 5 speed, if interested?
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?