Thread: inside Fraser

inside Fraser

I am looking for some advice. Myself and two mates are looking at a fish up the inside of Fraser in the first two weeks of 09 weather pending. I would like to know of anyone that can tell me a few do and do nots for such a mission. The plan I feel will be to set off from Urangan and make it to Wathumba for the camp and fish as far as Rooney's. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Re: inside Fraser

hey mate what would you like to know exactly, done this trip many times but stayed on the boats at rooneys., i can tell you there is heaps on sandflies and the likes, wathumba can not be entered or exited at low tide,

cheers justin

Twist,
    Wathumba can be a magical place to visit having camped there many times over the last 15 years or so. Was up there in early November for a week camping on the Northern side of the creek. A few hints for camping there are don't forget your camping permit, camp on the north side of the creek because the boat will be closer to camp and will float during all tides, water is available from the camping area on the southern side but can be a dirty(we always bring our own) but is alright for showering, washing up etc. As mentioned by Skipalong the creek is best navitigatable from half tide up to half tide down. This can limit your fishing a bit but you learn to work around it. Fishing wise, the spotties should be thick this time of year and reefies should be available at Rooney's and on the small coffee rock reefs back in the bay. There is even a chance of a small black marlin between the creek and Rooney's. A couple of things to be mindful of is the green zones just round the corner at Rooney's and in front of the Sandy Cape Lighthouse so get a Great Sandy Straits Marine Park Map before you go(available at Hervey Bay tackle shops or servo at the Boat Harbour). Also there are 6 species on a no take list for Platypus Bay which is defined by a line from Rooney's Point in the north to the mouth of Coongul Creek in the south. The species are Spannish Mackeral, Cobia, Queenfish, Yellowtail Kingfish, Grunter and Barracuda. The no take rule is because of the chance of Cigraterra poisioning from these fish. So if you are camping in Wathumba Ck. you will not be able to bring these species back to camp even if caught out of the Platypus Bay area. That said there is still plenty of other species to keep you busy including whiting, bream and flathead from the beach on the incoming tide. Hope this helps and if you end up going, I'm sure you will enjoy yourself. Nothing better than the creek at high tide with the white sands and the clear water. Magical.

Jeff.
    Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.

Thanks for that. The water especially. I was wondering that. Look forward to posting my report in the new year.

I was not aware of the 6 no takes.

Cheech,
    yes not widely advertised but I will try and find the link and post it.

Jeff.

Found the link, it is under Fisheries Cloed Waters on the Fishweb site.

http://www2.dpi.qld.gov.au/extra/pdf...tt/FCW-161.pdf

Jeff.

These regs are stated in 2005, are they current today nobody seems to know or have seemingly abided by them. Still I am sure there are plenty more "fish in the sea".