Thread: help need choosing fish finder!!!

help need choosing fish finder!!!

hey fellas needed a hand on which unit to buy either the lowrance x86 ds or the garmin 300c. dont have all that much money to spend an these two seems like pretty good sounders for my price range just not sure which one ot lean towards! can any one help me out?

Re: help need choosing fish finder!!!

G'Day Mate.....Have had 3 sounders......Humminbird / Lowrance / and now use the Garmin 300c.....all sounders served their purpose in one way or another.....very happy with the Colour Garmin...has all the whistles and bells and is very easy to read.....if there is a down side it's the size of the screen...could be a little bigger....but u do get use to it.....having said that I would recommend the 300c.....not sure what the price is at the moment in Oz....bought mine X-US 8 months ago and at the time saved $170.00 when the Oz dollar was at 93c......Good luck with your purchase......Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

Re: help need choosing fish finder!!!

i reckon for the cheaper sounders you get way better value out of buying a monochrome over a colour one. you get a much larger, higher resolution screen and a heap more power as well. of the 2 you're looking at i'd personally go the discontinued x86 anyday it's got a way better display and double the power output of the garmin. have a look at the humminbird 717x as well, it's only a few bucks more than what you've been looking at but has an even better display and more power again than the x86. it's horses for courses though, buy something that suits you're usage. ie. there's no point buying a $2000 unit if you want it to pick out rock bars up the creek. good luck with your choice anyway mate.