Mission beach overnighter

Thread: Mission beach overnighter

Mission beach overnighter

Hi Guys...

Went for a overnight spin to the reef with a Swiss guest and despite the fact that this is only the second time he has fished in the sea ,he made good work of it..
    We bagged out on nannies and only a gaffing malfunction let our 6th spanish escape boatside but the weather was fantastic and the fish bit real well leading up to the high tide but were quiet otherwise.

Re: Mission beach overnighter

My deckie Sven had a tough initiation into the world of overhead reels....I had gaffed and landed 4 nannies and 4 spanish mackeral while he tried to undo the mother of all tangles and then the bite shut down..but he later made up for it by landing a 9.8 kg yellowfin tuna on a double hookup ...unfortunately I lost mine as the Halco had been used one too many times and let go on the front trebles..he also scored the largest spanish at 12kg as well as some nannies,redthroat and a mack tuna..

Hi Disorderly, nice catch.

Mate I am heading up at Chrissy for a week or so and debating wether or not to tow my Cruise Craft up there.

Has Clump Pt boat ramp got a pontoon yet? I know the Hull River ramp at South Mission has a pontoon but think maybe the ramp might be a tight fit with my boat.

Awesome trip there mate, the conditions look beautiful!

Ausfish Platinum Member ronnien's Avatar

hi scott,

mate i take it you just luv catching them big jacks? you must have a good honey hole where you get them! looks like you had a wonderful time out there.
    thats a great catch!!!!

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Mateeeeeeeeeeeee
    Nice work Scotty and by the looks you didn't get a decky that was sick this time
    Nice work on the catch mate
    Send the weather here to please
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Robbo...a pontoon is being installed at the moment..

Whatscracken..the conditions were magic..

Ron..... the jacks are a bycatch but yeah I love seeing them pop up...they are such a strong fighter and a tough looking fish as well....

Jt..it made such a difference to have a deckie who didnt get sick and was up for frequent anchor pulling ..just meant we could try that many more spots...but noone would have got sick out there today .....it was just beautiful....a shame the other couple could not have experienced such weather..it makes all the difference....

Scott looks like a great trip, that's a very healthy esky!!

The conditions look unreal, well done

Good catch Scott, weather was great again, shame on the lure thou

What's this scott! no REDS! in your pics i see trout, nannys, tuna, macks even a jack but no reds!
    Get back out there! ... foxy

p.s. well done all the same.

I wasn't going to say anything to him Foxy
    THIS IS WHAT THEY LOOK LIKE SCOTT
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Good stuff Scott.
    Some nice colour there
    Im surprised an albatross didnt try to lay an egg in that little bird nest .
    How do you say "Dopey bastard" in Swiss
    Nice one JT.
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Ausfish Platinum Member levinge's Avatar

Hey Scott,
    Clump Point Ramp is that the one past the Eco Village and with the short rock wall???
    Fillet and Release Squad

Geez Scott, thats a great haul there. Looking forward to getting up there for the Aussie Day weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Fisher4life View Post
    Scott looks like a great trip, that's a very healthy esky!!

The conditions look unreal, well done
    Yeah mate wish every trip was this good.

Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    Good catch Scott, weather was great again, shame on the lure thou

weather was perfect,Daz..and yep spewing about losing the yellowfin.....last time I caught one was 15 years ago....and that was in Mexico....but I think I'll have to get some skirts and start trying trolling some of the deeper water for Wahoo,tuna,Mahi Mahi etc...good excuse to try and find some potential red spots as well..

Quote Originally Posted by levinge View Post
    Hey Scott,
    Clump Point Ramp is that the one past the Eco Village and with the short rock wall???
    Yeah Brett That be the one...only real ramp in town but will have a pontoon by the time of the M@G..

Quote Originally Posted by Alchemy View Post
    Geez Scott, thats a great haul there. Looking forward to getting up there for the Aussie Day weekend.

Yes Dave Isnt it great when a plan comes together....you will love it up here..I didnt have to go further than 50 km's out for the fish this trip...plenty of options...