Thread: Still having problems with the finish

Still having problems with the finish

Hi All,

I'm once again looking for advice. I,ve tapered the guide feet before wraping to give a smooth transition from blank to guide foot, put a coat of finish and it all seems to look ok.

Once it has dried for a few days I grabed the tip of the rod and pulled it down to simulate the rod loaded up and I am getting some sort of movement at the guide feet to cause the epoxy to almost crack. Or another way to describe it would be a stress point.

Now I know the binding is tight as I snapped the thread a few times while trying to get the feel for how tight it had to be.

I think it has to do with how I am applying the finish. I am only putting on one coat. Should I be putting on multiple thin coats and if so how long do you wait between coats? It seems that you would waste a fair bit of epoxy doing that as I only mix up 5mL and that will do a whole rod, I think I would struggle to accuratly mix up any less so I would end up using 2-3 times more to do a rod.

I am about to start wrapping rod number 3, can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Adam

Re: Still having problems with the finish

Multiple thin coats is preferable and weather like this isn't too good for exopy either.
    It's really annoying isn't it
    Maybe the thread is too tight?? Don't know. Never had the movement at the feet bit happen to me.
    Do you load the rod up after the binding and before the exopy??
    I give all mine a good workout before the epoxy goes on.

And please don't think your on your Pat Molone with problems with epoxy etc. It was near 12 months ago to the day I was pulling my last 3 hairs out due to exopy problems.

Cheers then little matey
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Adam,

IMHO you are wrapping way to tight. You should be able to move the guides slightly so you can align them with each other. Also, the tighter you wrap the more problems you will find in doing underwraps and, in particular, overwraps going up the guide feet. The guide doesn't have to be super tight, just snuggly in place. If you are doing a really heavy style game rod you would be using heavier tension but also you'd be using a heavier thread. You should NEVER be breaking the thread because of tension. With the epoxy, I do a fairly thin first coat and then a heavier second coat over my guides. On butt wraps I'll use as many as necessary to get a smoot mirror like finish - usually 3 fairly heavy coats is plenty. This also provides the illusion of depth to the buttwrap/feather inlay/tiger wrap.

I mix 3ml of hardener and 3ml of resin. This is enough for 1 complete rod. I've been using Threadmaster for a while now and have nothing but praise for it.

In all honestly ive never had that problem, but ive always used Erskine's epoxy and products

see here

http://www.therodworks.com.au/index....pshop&Itemid=1

hey mate i think your warpping way too tight too especially if you had previously snapped the thread, it should only be firm not tight. and 2 light coats is plenty.

Thanks Guys,

I will loosen off the tension as that sounds like my main problem.

Also do you let the first coat of epoxy go off completely before appling the second?

On a more exciting note I used my first rod on Sunday and it felt good even though I only got undersize squire and a small red rock cod, can't wait to get smashed by something big!

Thanks again
    Adam

Hey there Adam,
    Good work on the rods and also not being afraid to ask some questions and trialling the responses. Definately let the first coat completely set before applying the second coat. Wait till that first keeper gets caught on your own rod. I recently tested a new 3-5 samurai built with camo grips and Ti guides and although chase trevally regularly was pretty chuffed when it buckled over with its first fish. To see the way the rod loads and everything working together will give that warm fuzzy feeling.
    Last edited by ant_72; 02-12-2008 at 08:53 AM. Reason: computer prob

Hi Adam,

I would have to agree with above comments regarding thread tension, might pay to ease back. Did you mention which brand of epoxy??? I could have missed that bit.

As for accurate mixing requiring small amounts, you could try using a syringe, NOT with a needle I must stress!!!!! They can be used multiple times, however remember..... one syringe only for part A and the other for part B. Also keep them stored separately, I store them in two 150ml specimen jars with lids (having worked in a lab has its benefits).

You can buy them from the chemist or your local vet & they don't cost much.

It does pay to mention you are only using them for mixing epoxy...saves getting wierd looks lol. Another thing to remember, syringes are usually marked in UNITS, I find .5 HEAPS, you will eventually work the volume out. In the end you will have very little waste and your measurements will be spot on.

Would also agree with finga on thin coats. I often apply 4-5 thin coats, making sure I get into all the little spaces around the base of the guides. I certainly don't like seeing the texture of the thread on the expoy surface, but aim for that clear smooth finish.

Hope that helps.

good luck
    Roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

overnight is plenty...i generally do next coat when i get a chance to...so during the following week sometime, it helps if you have a heated drying cupboard...usually do multiple rods in it. store your syringes in a block of coolight like pins, works great.

Mate I havent been onto this site before so I dont know what the recomended system is, all I can tell is a system I have used.

I bind with upholstery thread big but strong and then I glaze over with that clear 2 pack they use to put a glass finish on table tops. I glaze the whole rod.

It is a bit tricky as it likes to run so I leave it in the mixing container until it is about to set up then apply.

After that it is a matter of tumbling until it is set.

GORDON