dam this is getting serious with all the shirts and stuff i guess il have a blank one as im not sure what i might call my self me and i if i get there ton m ma have a idea but im sure i can warn him if inot attending alll festiivtys
I reckon you need shirts that indicate that you "Survived the bash"
- Borumba will never be the same .......
At cania we had alot of enquirey swirls. We found that by sitting the lure on the spot and throwing out a single ripple every 10-15 seconds not only helped entice a second/third/fourth/fifth strike but increased the hook up rate. I think the toga have pretty poor motor skills when compared to the likes of a bass and have alot of trouble getting things in their mouths if they are moving.
I swear your all obsessed with using baitcasters when they are not appropriate. Seriously find yourself a 6'6" - 7ft 2-4kg spin stick with a fast stiff tip. They are deadly for getting small surface lures to walk the dog. My 7ft medalist is perfect for it, i can get 45mm and 65mm bubble pops to dance like a ballerina with mine and they are not necissarily designed to walk as much as pop.
If you insist on baitcaster then one of the alphas series or a chronarch 50mg on a similar length and spec rod.
Hey Chris, by "survived" do u mean still breathing or will we have to do some sort of test, if so, I'm out...................
Pete.
Cant help it mate, its all those endless hours hoiking 120mm bara lures
Gear today in the boat was 2 x 7 foot 2/4kg spin sticks with 2500 size spin reels, and a litle curado bantam on a raider bass stick, nothing flash, but still gave me some choices in what presentation I could offer at any given locale I came accross.
Actually tied the bubble pop onto my spin stick today when I had a toge? smack and miss the spinner bait deep up a little lantana filled inlet, I was determined to net one on surface gear, but the cast thing doesnt feel right to me yet. I know spin gear can throw a small presentation further, but I find a BC more accurate.
Your right re the hold and twitch, nothin new to anyone cept me I spose, ah, another learning curve for me to skid thru yeeha.
I've always had problems getting a surface bite at Borumba. I have always for the fish more receptive to subsurface presentaions but obviously there are alot of Borumba fish that have come from the top. Going slow is hard, it's one thing knowing you have to do it and another actually having the disipline to make yourself do it. We missed alot of fish at cania.
Light spin is easier to control than heavy spin. Sure its not as accurate as casting a heavy lure. But if the lure is too light not only will you cast it further but more accurately aswell.
Looks like my mission for the bash is to convert some of you boys to the dark side.
Additional: We could pick with high fidelity a surface take from a toga over a bass. Bass tend to roll onto the lure while toga come up and snap at it, often pushing a bow wave, snaking or leaving the surface to strike. In general a much messier take.
Pete - You have no idea what you are getting yourself into with this lot ........ The truth is that - I'm not attending because Mighty Whitey was scared off after the Mondy Muster.
If you want to prepare yourself ...... Find a 24 hour pub & do 2 full sessions - That will give you a sample of what to expect ........... god , i'm going to miss it
PS ...... You'll have a ball Pete
Don't ya hate it when your Puter goes to heaven....Am I going to mention loosing everything off the HD....NO an angry SilverBack is not a good look.....Backup your files next time D....kh...d, This is going to be a great weekend Im going to do something different.....No boat or fishing gear and as usual will get pleasently Pissed....will be officially documenting on Video the activities of Team "All the Gear No Idea"on board "Drop Bear".....can't wait guys and gal's this just might better the Muster Oh Dear this could be painful
[quote=Whitto;978122]Don't ya hate it when your Puter goes to heaven....Am I going to mention loosing everything off the HD....NO an angry SilverBack is not a good look.....Backup your files next time D....kh...d, This is going to be a great weekend Im going to do something different.....No boat or fishing gear and as usual will get pleasently Pissed....will be officially documenting on Video the activities of Team "All the Gear No Idea"on board "Drop Bear".....can't wait guys and gal's this just might better the Muster Oh Dear this could be painful[/quoute/]
i may be doing the same whitto as bub still hanging in there to top it off poor mel has got the flu i had for 6 days and still being sick i reckon she has had enough for sure
Can't be much fun at this stage.....Plenty of fishing down the track Simon....right now it's all about the family...it will be history soon enough
Mark (try my luck) and I just got back from Borumba. Yesterday afternoon to late morning today(camped up the dam). Agree with Brian about the road in - no worries. The pond lice were in plague proportions today with atleast 30 buzzing around today. Far too much horsepower for such a little boat. It was good that they don't make it up the sticks and left us alone. Bloody hot.
A report will follow shortly in the freshwater report section.
Chris - sure your don't want to come? 2x50cm+ bass from the surface!
Photo of Mark's - just to get everyone in the mood for Borumba Bash.
More in the report.
Very nice looking Bass there mate and a Very attractive backdrop. Looking forward to the report.
Pete.