Thread: Landbased Longtail...But sharks win overall 24/11/08

Landbased Longtail...But sharks win overall 24/11/08

Just spent a couple of days on the rocks with Nick (abbott_86).

He has been very keen to land a big fish off the rocks but this trip luck just wasnt on his side.

The first day we had a total of three hook ups with Nick hooking two BIG longies.
    After some screaming runs both his fish were nabbed by the sharks.
    Very disappointing but its one factor thats just out of your control.

I had one hook up on the day and had a long fight with a seriously stubborn longtail (some just seem to fight harder).....After seeing three sharks at the base of the rocks I thought there was no hope of landing the fish but as it got closer the sharks seem to disappear... .....Sometimes the gods are on your side.
    The fish was around 14-15kg taken on the trusty 85g raider.

The second day saw Nick once again hook up solidly early morning to a ripper spaniard around 15kg which we saw jump clear of the water (as a shark was up his tail).....Sadly the sharks won again and stole this fish as well....
    I think Nick now hates sharks.... .......

I then hooked a BIG longtail on a popper for a total of 2 seconds before the hooks pulled then the day went quiet.

All up a good couple of days....Nick you will have ya revenge mate.
    It was good to see ya legs shaking as those fish peeled some serious line of you...

Re: Landbased Longtail...But sharks win overall 24/11/08

That is one awesome fish you are holdin up!
    Well done, shame about the Noahs though.

How goods that? Top report Pete, U've got me thinking I'm chasing the wrong fish mate, I wish I could do that. It'd keep u fit walking back to the car with the fish and all the gear, U wouldn't want to catch more than one!

Nice report Pete. On my latest landbased spinning adventure it seemed like every fish we hooked their was a shark on its a$$ n ended up being lunch. They are pretty fun to watch though. great pics and report once again.
    "holy sh!t, did you see that?"

Quote Originally Posted by WestOzDesertFisher View Post
    Nice report Pete. On my latest landbased spinning adventure it seemed like every fish we hooked their was a shark on its a$$ n ended up being lunch. They are pretty fun to watch though. great pics and report once again.
    I noticed where you were from WestOz....

Might come over and see you one day....I gotta mate heading over your way shortly....He is going to Quobba.
    Would love to get stuck into some fish over there.

Did you keep the backpackers well fed boys????

Or did they just eat tuna???

Sorry, I forgot........Goshy wasn't there......................yes he was!

Good job, nice fish Pete.

Nice stuff pete. Bad luck nick.
    Hopefully a noah doesn't eat your jack on saturday

Wow, very nice.. Mind me asking where you were fishing?

Matt.

Cheers for the pics and a great read,fantastic effort off the rocks.Outstanding stuff.

not stoked i got jerried up by so many sharks.

hey pete did you hook up on the spaniard at the rocks at noosa or DI?

cheers justin

Another nice longie for you pete. I'd be crying if i had that many good fish eaten by the bloody noahs. Great catch again. Ben

where can ya catch fish off the rocks like that? in Noosa someone said? Would LOVE to have a go at that..... is it on the walk around to Alexander Bay?

Awesome report!

Brad :-)

Sounds like a great session guys
    any hints like wat do u look for wen u go for a spin tides winds etc
    Cheers Simon

Quote Originally Posted by Braddles View Post
    where can ya catch fish off the rocks like that? in Noosa someone said? Would LOVE to have a go at that..... is it on the walk around to Alexander Bay?

Awesome report!

Brad :-)
    HEAPS of locations scattered throughout QLD and NSW.

Any headland with Deep water will produce good fish.

Last edited by Pistol_P; 27-11-2008 at 06:33 PM. Reason: spelling