P.B. Barra does it count? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: P.B. Barra does it count?

Re: P.B. Barra does it count?

I am just a tyre kicker on here, but I do remember threads.reports on ausfish in the past where people look down on trollers like they are lepers "the trollers". Be good for some of these people to have the balls and admit it and just come out and say that no, fish caught trolling don't count.

Just IMHO

BTW, my opinion - a PB is a PB if caught by legitimate/legal means on rod and reel.

Does that mean if a PB is caught on a hand line, it doesnt count?

What about if a PB was caught trolling, useing a hand line?
    The mind boggles.
    Trolling, casting, educated fishing or sheer blind luck, it doesnt matter, your best fish is still going to be your best fish.

Quote Originally Posted by mylestom View Post
    Does that new Personal best barra that you caught count, or do you adhere to some of the the elitist comments coming from some quarters.

If you caught the fish by legal means, then to me it counts.

But some comments that I have heard in the recent years include.

Impoundment barra aren't real barra and don't count.
    Usually uttered by some one who has never even seen an impoundment fish, let alone had 50lb braid crack like a riffle shot as a big girl puts her head down turning for the trees

If you don't catch it casting it doesn't count.
    Usually uttered by someone who has one arm like Popeye, and the other arm like Oliveoil

Trolling doesn't count.
    See above

What is your opinion.

Trev
    My opinion is as long as youve caught the fish, no matter how, its a legitimate PB.
    The method you choose to catch the PB is fairly closely related to the satisfaction level you achieve when that PB hits the net.

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    My opinion is as long as youve caught the fish, no matter how, its a legitimate PB.
    The method you choose to catch the PB is fairly closely related to the satisfaction level you achieve when that PB hits the net.
    I've done about 10 trips to barra impoundments over the last few of years. Every other time a metre long makes it to the boat but to date none of them have been attached to my line. When i go up to awoonga this weekend i'll take a metre long if it means I have to jump over the side and scoop one with the landing net.

Trolling does not count
    Sorry Theo we may have to agree to disagree on this one. There's a school of thought that trolling is kick back, suck on a tinnie and wait for action to come, and it's fair to say that many treat the technique like that, hence the bad name, only one up from a livebaiter so as to speak.

In fact for those who take their trolling seriously and use the technique where it's suited will tell you you don't have time to kick back. One hand on the tiller steering the lure into the sweet spot, flicking it in to neutral when you want to lure to hover a second or two and crabbing the current. Whilst the other hand is working the rod, free spooling when you want a hover or feeling a bump, working the lure from one side of the boat to the the other to get closer to the timber (or away). A good troller works as hard as the caster and to switch off can be costly on lures and lost fish.

The question is why to troll? Trolling gives you good control of your lures position vertically within the water column, something difficult to achieve by casting due to the limitations of the length of the cast whilst casting gives you good control of positioning the lure laterally depending on your accuracy. Often when using deep diving lures unless you're good for 50 metre casts a cast lure only achieves its optimum running depth briefly before being pulled to the surface as it nears the boat. Not all fish will strike straight away, trolling keeps the lure in the strike zone longer where it can be worked to promote a strike from a fish.

Casting, trolling and yes even a pinned mullet all have their place. It's not about the technique, it's how intelligently you use it.

in the boat is in the boat

the size is the size

a PB is a PB

so be it

Hi Trev
    thaught you were going to keep the old boat - become a fleet owner like myself. You must have been keen to get down to get the new boat as I dropped over to your camp site on Friday arvo and you were gone. Left there on Saturday after two good hook-ups but lost both. Will drop your radio over in near future. My run of bad luck continued as I was in Brisbane on Sunday afternoon when the storm hit but luckily no damage where i was, went back up with the S.E.S. this last weekend to help with roof tarping etc at The Gap what a bloody mess.
    Merv

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by rebelone View Post
    Hi Trev
    thaught you were going to keep the old boat - become a fleet owner like myself. You must have been keen to get down to get the new boat as I dropped over to your camp site on Friday arvo and you were gone. Left there on Saturday after two good hook-ups but lost both. Will drop your radio over in near future. My run of bad luck continued as I was in Brisbane on Sunday afternoon when the storm hit but luckily no damage where i was, went back up with the S.E.S. this last weekend to help with roof tarping etc at The Gap what a bloody mess.
    Merv
    Merv,

The damage was huge, the help that the SES from everywhere sure was appreciated, by the residents.

No worries about the radio. Got an offer on the old boat and motor from a mate and he is willing to wait till new rig complete.

Well guess its next time for both of us to upgrade to new P.B. Will be glad to christen the new outfit.

Trevor
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

A fish in the boat no matter how trolled,flicked or baited all counts . for those saying trolled do not count you might as well say it do not count unless u are in a skeeter or if your boat is not over 4m and less than 12 months old its not a boat .
    I cast and troll and enjoy both but not silly enough to stand there all day casting for nothing ,fishing is all about trying differant things to to get the hookup do the casters only use one lure because it is the only one that counts ,no
    just my opinion

Quote Originally Posted by Dick Pasfield View Post
    Sorry Theo we may have to agree to disagree on this one. There's a school of thought that trolling is kick back, suck on a tinnie and wait for action to come, and it's fair to say that many treat the technique like that, hence the bad name, only one up from a livebaiter so as to speak.

In fact for those who take their trolling seriously and use the technique where it's suited will tell you you don't have time to kick back. One hand on the tiller steering the lure into the sweet spot, flicking it in to neutral when you want to lure to hover a second or two and crabbing the current. Whilst the other hand is working the rod, free spooling when you want a hover or feeling a bump, working the lure from one side of the boat to the the other to get closer to the timber (or away). A good troller works as hard as the caster and to switch off can be costly on lures and lost fish.

The question is why to troll? Trolling gives you good control of your lures position vertically within the water column, something difficult to achieve by casting due to the limitations of the length of the cast whilst casting gives you good control of positioning the lure laterally depending on your accuracy. Often when using deep diving lures unless you're good for 50 metre casts a cast lure only achieves its optimum running depth briefly before being pulled to the surface as it nears the boat. Not all fish will strike straight away, trolling keeps the lure in the strike zone longer where it can be worked to promote a strike from a fish.

Casting, trolling and yes even a pinned mullet all have their place. It's not about the technique, it's how intelligently you use it.
    Guys,
    i don't think it could be explained any better than Dick has here.

My PB saltwater Barra can be seen in my Avatar....it along with 5 other fish were caught trolling a small submerged rock bar on a day when we had no luck casting due to a strong tide making it difficult to control boat position and place the lures in the "zone".

The sounder showed the fish sitting there, on the rock bar as i passed over it . It took approx 5 or 6 trolling passes to get onto the fish using the technique Dick described above. With each pass line distance and boat position was fine tuned until the "zone" was reached....and then it was "Game On".

Although trolling would only account for about 5% of my captures, i think it has a important place in my repitoir. I put a lot of effort and thought into trolling. I certainly don't feel any different about my PB Barra having been caught trolling, compared to others i have caught casting.

IMHO a PB fish is just that....a PB.

Cheers Nomad

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy87 View Post
    I've done about 10 trips to barra impoundments over the last few of years. Every other time a metre long makes it to the boat but to date none of them have been attached to my line. When i go up to awoonga this weekend i'll take a metre long if it means I have to jump over the side and scoop one with the landing net.
    Best of luck mate, once you crack that first one, watch the floodgates open then!

Tell you what, if you took trolling out of the equation, there would be a lot of PB's that originated from Awoonga that would be redundant.

What i have noticed when talking to barra fisherman is that almost everyone has two pb's, impoundment and wild (saltwater). I know this thread is about means of capture but is there greater satisfaction in a so called wild fish ... foxy

Hard to say Foxy, my PB saltie came from trolling the mouth of Tommycutt in the territory, just me, the crocs, and 20 other boats.
    My PB impondment fish was on a grey, wind blown rainy day, no one else on the water due to the negative reports floating around, just me fishing solo 20 k's up the back of the dam.
    Two totally differant fishing enviroments, each with their own appeal.
    Given a choice though, I'd rather pull meter fish out of a salty mangrove creek full of snags, crocs, sharks and mud crabs, 30 degrees plus at 6 in the morning, and not another person in 500 kms.
    Problem is, you cant pull a trip like that every second week end, so you settle for what you can do, and try to maximize the experience by fishing away from the mob, useing differant technique, and enjoying the social side at the end of a big day on the water.

ps
    anyone who says a dam barra doesnt fight is dreamin......

Couldnt have said it better myself Brian. With a young growing family i have limited opportunities to fish at all let alone go Barra fishing. I am starting to understand the dams a bit more now and have a resonable amount of luck, where as if i start playing around with the salties around Hervey bay, they are diferent kettle of chooks, where i would rather go and have some sucess. Mind you we caught about a dozen salties in the Kimberlies in 05 and that experience is to date my best memory....

Great thread Trev . Cheers

Hey Ben, week and a half to go mate, I was out the shed this arvo re trebleing some new lures and starting to get a bit itchy.

Further to my ramble on mangrove lined barra creeks, the other thing to consider is a PB doent have to mean the biggest, or longest fish youve caught.
    Ive got fish that stick in the memory bank due to the surroundings, or the circumstances, of the capture, rather than the fact that the fish was the biggest of that species I've netted to date. A little barra on a popper at the mouth of a tidal drain up the Wilman (spelling?) comes to mind, he was boofing bait fish on the edge of a colour change, we slid the tinny in bank side and then conned him into eating a twitch, dunk, pause, splutter surface presentation right at our feet.
    Ya gotta love that, not the biggest, but up there with the best.