Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Epic Monduran

Epic Monduran

Well just home for the mighty Mondy, after a 2 week stay, we had all weather and all types of fun and a couple of dramas but nothing that we cant handle.

We arrived to a bunch of Ausfishers Saturday night and up to masa for a bit a drink and gas bag and met some good blokes. I had 2 weeks to fish so rushing was not something I was going to do I had time to take and diddn't start fishing till the monday.

Fishing wise the water quality was down still but did improve as our trip went along. over the 2 weeks we had some good rain and for those going there is a current in the dam and its strong at the moment fishing the eddies and the backs of the trees is where I raised most of my fish that i seen. Theres is alot of floating weed everywhere and I reckon the dam has come up a little maybe a foot but the gates are open so that wont last. The Storms well lets say that was the trigger ans the camp gound copped a flogging but we were all good compared to some flattened others

Monday I went up the back to H and had the flick on monday morning and got the count off to a good start with a small 58cm fish to grab a arrafura in a feisty display of areials. I continued to fish and missed a cracker fish that near grabbed the lure as it hit the water a really great visual.anyhow back in.

Tuesday I awaited the arival of a mate with cancer who I prommised to take fishing for 3 days, he could only troll as flicking was a bit out but it was a good 3 days no fish about due to poor temps and average weather we did get a quick connection which was enought to put a grin on his face which made it worth it

The friday I did bit of a flicking session with Nipsta, with no result but a good day up Barra alley saw some good water for future trips. Hardly fishe dthe weekends due to a full camp ground and I mean full!

Ok my plan was to get serious in my second week. The water temps where 25s to 28s the first week but never stable sunday was hot and monday it was bound to start to fire up a little so a day in the 2 mile was in order I dropped 2 fish behind the island off the weed edge I was good to connect with a couple though. temps where on the rise my conferdence was getting better.

I decided to to open my options and fish the closer bay towards the Basin and with success the temps had leveled out to 27 to 30 and with rain pushing through I was wet but into my new PB 122cm fish thish fish was weird long but unheathy looking not fat like previous fish. Anyhow with rain pooring down I was not going to take my camera out so had to leave that one to the memory banks.

Ok the week only got better I jumped another couple off then all hell broke loose there where fish everywhere over the main body of water They where literally like dolphins jumping out of the water and the talley went up smartly with a few fish in the boat flicking the bays and trolling in the basin.

Friday was the highlight got up early and went out for a quick troll out the front of the dam as there where plenty getting caught, and got smaked straight up with a 90cm fish, then all of a sudden dozens of boats whe all on 4 at once and I hooked one of the simsons 123CM fish he was a fat fish heavy strong and in fine condition, my new pb to boot.. so with in a hour I was on my way in with 2 fish my new pb and ready for breaky. I decided to take My little girl out for a look that arvo and with in the first 30 minutes We were into a 119cm fishshe had a little go at playing it but was a bit thrown by the power and size.

And that was it went in after that and packed up and headed home.

To those adventuring up the sticks are holding fish its hard work but rewarding the closer bays are better to the trollers you will have fun too the basin is hold heaps of fish and all up hight in the water collum.

To wrap it up it was a great holiday for my family we had a ball. We met some great people and even did a day sking with the staff of the camp ground and Rob even got up for a lash after a 10 year dought. Yes it was a cracker time look forward to the next one......

Cheers Nath

Re: Epic Monduran

Heres a few more picks

Congrats on the 123 mate, new pb, noice!
    The big girls are heading down to the basin by the sounds of it?
    Wonder if thats got any thing to do with the gates open, a current forming......?

Anyways, gives me something to ponder over the next couple of weeks till I can get up again.
    Great read and pics mate, when I left last Sunday morn I came over to say c ya later, but the only movement at the station was number 1 daughter raiding the cereal container!
    Take it slow

ps, nice mod to the truth mat, did you do that yourself? great idea.

yeah mate should be on the shelf next year easy to lift them out of the water and we can weight them

Good Times Mate......The 2 weeks ended up alot better than when u started out......Great photo's Nath I think the gang enjoyed themselves......Hmmmm roll on January
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

great report nath was a pleasure camping with ya for a week also welcome to the 120 club nice to see ya get 2 in that bracket and a shame about those floating beast but i suppose there is always a pontenioanl for lose unless you can suss out the fish before release or maybe that is unfortuntely the way they go any how good photos for sure

Glad to see you did well up there Nathan hopefully next time i can dl a bit better but guess have to serve a apprentiship Deano might be going up on the 15th hopefully can go up on same date Merry Christmas

Nath,

Excellent report, sounds like a great time was had by all.

DNO

great stuff nath top piccys, must of worn the kids out , no sign of them yesterday .and you too looked like you were due for a nanna nap....
    top holiday for the family, well done...
    deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Nice work ther emate.

Sounds like an eventful holiday.

Lee

Mate, do my eyes deceive me or is that one of them cursed puple classics in a pic?

Hmmmmmmmmm, my second most detested lure in the box, only just edged out by a gold viper!
    I only keep one so I can give it to visitors to use, that way if they lose 20 bucks worth of lure, I wont shed a tear!
    Amazeing

Hi TT,
    Congrats on ya new P.B..Sounds like ya had a great trip.I can't wait till I can take my lil girl with me.Thanks for an informative read and the great pics.
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.