i was using a drawstring & my 2 mates had top pockets.
end result i had about 20kg more prawns than them.
not saying that there is anything wrong with top pockets, but it helps if you know what you are doing with a drawstring.
ron.
i was using a drawstring & my 2 mates had top pockets.
end result i had about 20kg more prawns than them.
not saying that there is anything wrong with top pockets, but it helps if you know what you are doing with a drawstring.
ron.
reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active
scalem
yeah it does read a bit like that, sorry should have said it a bit better.
they were in 1 boat & me & the family were in mine, they got 20ltrs & i got 40ltrs of banana prawns. ltrs & kg are sort of the same to me, this was about 90mins of casting.
ron.
reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active
i have several of both a good draw string with multi strand mono with a chain bottom is about the best cost around 200 usually made by somebody. if throwing on to snaggy bottom a standard net will come off easier but have top pockets as well as bottom ones that are not deep so you can shake the net and get prawns out easily.
the draw strings are the way to go in my book. they are great with live mullet and herring as they seem to do a lot less damage to the bait as its not having the mesh squeezing it to bits when the net is pulled tight (after they have tryed do dart through mesh and got stuck) and ya get every one ya net with a draw string, no pocket escapies![]()
![]()
figjam :wink:
where can one buy a draw string net nuggstar? Thanks for sharing your knowledge mate!
mate, it depends on the depth of the water that you are fishing. i use top pocket nets for water of 10 foot or deeper as the banana prawns will flick up to the top of the net and are easy to empty into the esky. if the water is shallow a top pocket net will not work very well unless there is a lot of run. this is because you need the top pocket to be submerged or it will not work. this is when you put down your top pocket net and use a draw string or bottom pocket net. a draw string net will also catch more fish and it will also bring more s..t into your boat as well. it will also help you catch more snags. wherever possible i use a legal maximum size (3.7M) top pocket net in monofilament with 6 - 7 kg of lead. i can throw this a fair bit quicker than a drawstring net as it doesn't have so many strings that can tangle.
davo
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
Weight makes little difference with prawns. Moreso with bait fish. Prawns will sit in the silt layer. Once your net hits the botton, slap the rope on the water. It transfers down the line and will help get the prawns out of the silt. then slow drag at an angle. "Not straight up" to dislodge the rest that are in the silt layer (or top layer of sand).
You are entitled to my opinion!
-----------------------------------------
Osprey outdoors have a shop on ebay. I got a drawstring off these guys and it was a great net. After a few years i was in the market for another and went back onto ebay and they are still selling then now. Have a look, they are good value for money.