Thread: First Catch For Newbie

First Catch For Newbie

Being A Newbie Has Been Hard, Frustating And Annoying But A Bad Day On The Water Is Always Better Than A Good Day At Work I Think. Having Problems Sorting Out The Sounder, The Gps And The Correct Gear And Baits To Use And Were To Go Well I Have Finally Done It And Brought Some Fish Aboard The Boat.
    My Son And I Left At Around 4:30am Yesterday Morning For Great Run Up To South Passage, An Easy Crossing And Headed Out Around The 35's. As It Was A Bit Windy, We Just Kept Drifting Over Our Mark And Then, Bang We Had Our First Fish, A Nice Perlie And Then An Good Size Snapper. A Few More Drifts For A Couple More Perlies And We Headed For A Choppy Run Home.

A Personal Thanks For Ausfish Member " Timiboy " Who Kindly Guided Me And Willingly Passed On His Knowledge And Experiences Until I Got It Right. Thankyou Tim !!!!

Re: First Catch For Newbie

Ah Mate, that just warms my heart! I'm so pleased for you.

Mr Wheels did this on his own - I gave him one generic mark, and then passed on all the info about how to find fish everyone else has given me. So this is a Victory for Ausfish!!!

That's a ripper Snap. What size? Length, kilos? And what rig got him?

Great stuff, and I look forward to you catching many more.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Must admit, cant read that sentence easily with all the capitals for every word, anyway the pics looked good,

mike
    Tangles KFC

good onya...one day I may even catch a legal snapper but I sure as hell won't be holding my breath waiting.

great job Mr wheels...good on you for sticking at it...cracker of a snapper by the way...nice one!!!...cheers for the piccies and report

Mrs Benno1
    Sunny

very nice fish mate should get better from here on in top effort,

It's so rewarding after burning so much fuel to land keepers. As I don't eat seafood I gave the snapper to a staff member who rang me last night and said it was such good eating (maybe because it was free) and the gave the others to the oldies. Now I have mates placing thier orders but I have told them to just steady down as it may have been a fluke.

Thanks for the support guys !!!!!!!!!

And Tim, he was just over 80cm, I don't know how heavy he was and a piece of mullet intised him to the hook.

Mate that's not bad for a first up pb. I reckon you must be a natural!!!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Well done mr.Wheels!
    I have been getting some help from Timiboy as well (same situation).
    Good on ya mate!!

Well done Mr wheels the skys the limit now mate. Set yourself goals and keep on trying. Should try the sunny coast some good country up that way and not to hard to find either. Congrats on your success.
    CHEERS BRENDAN......

mr wheels well done im like you just learning and i just stuck to it and i finally got 2 snapper for my first fish two weeks ago .its a good feeling that keeps us going back well done