Brissy River Mixed Bag

Thread: Brissy River Mixed Bag

Brissy River Mixed Bag

Met up with TimD at 4am for a new spots discovery mission and headed out of the boat passage to a flat calm river. Sounded out a possible Thready spot from Dogsbody but with no bait showing we motored on and after both of us commenting about an exposed rockbar with fish showing we found a new spot. First drop and Tim is on to something, pops it head up and a Jew of about 50cm shakes his newly acquired Transam loose ... "oh well at least there are fish here" he comments. Wanting to join the action I scout the tackle box and find a couple of Mask Vib's and on the first drop I feel a heavy thud of a Cod which went pretty hard on Bream gear, we slide the net under him and dispatch him in the esky. Tim then gets a nice Tailor, a Bream & a Stonefish and I score a small Flatty. We dropped a couple of good fish each there and donated $50 to the rockbar once the tide moved up. Rather than going broke we decided to have a look out the front of the wall but the action was very dull so headed over to Mud for a looksy ... not much showing on the sounder and what looked like a car park over the back we threw poppers for Bream & GT's but it just wasn't happening. Heading back up river to a couple of regular spots the water quality looked pretty bad so we snuck into Bulimba creek for some sight fishing for Bream, we had many attacks from the cranky locals but failed to hook up a single fish. Altogether a good day out and always good to find new areas to fish. It's funny that a stone fish has a face that only a mother could love!!!!
    Ta

Re: Brissy River Mixed Bag

thats one nasty fish,great photo

What a great shot of the stonefish,he doesn't seem too impressed by the jig in his back Cheers

nice crisp looking pics - what camera did you use?

oddbudman

Well done
    a good mixed bag and that rivers like glass!
    Cheers Simon

Great photos Matt. That stonefish is one ugly sucker!

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

If that stone fish could speak I think he would be saying "get that F@#$*ing hook outa my back or I'm coming in there to spike your ass!!!". Great photo mate! lol
    Cheers.......Terry......................

It was certainly a good session with a good variety of fish caught,I will definitely be getting some more tranzam's to throw around,We also had a laugh when some old tosser from the the Maritime Safety Queensland building came marching down the jetty and told us we couldn't fish anywhere near the moored MSQ boats,We asked where the signs were stating we couldn't fish there and his answer was "go away you cant fish around here",Matt started to loose his cool a bit and told him we could fish there as long as we were 30 metres away from the jetty,He then pulled out a pen and paper and i think he wrote down matt's rego details.

Also the blokes asking what camera i'm using its a 5mp Kodak EasyShare V530,I think i paid about $500 for it around 2 years ago,The picture quality is pretty good check out this close up of a cod at hervey bay.

Well done Matt and Tim. One of these days I would love someone who fishes the Brisbane river to show me a few spots and for showing me you will earn an all expenses paid trip on board H.M.A.S Nauti~Gal. It seems to be yielding more than Mud Island has been of late. Great photos.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Well done Matt, that's a good day for sure.

As others have said, top photos.

That Stonefish looks like someone I know of!!

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Thats one ticked of stoney. Good photos.

god those stone fish a evil lookin things. good mixxed bag there but.
    well done

Good stuff Matt, great pics.

So I take it you didn't give the javallon away to the stonefish and it was retrieved with a pair of LOOOONG nose pliers at arms length??

Still have to make use of the ones I got off you, damn study preventing me from fishing!! only 2 weeks left..... c'mon hurry up!!!!
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Funny thing was after we caught the first fish I realised I had no Pliers!! Tim didn't bring his as I always bring mine .... our unhooking tool for the day was a Fillet Knife!!!!!

Chief, think we saw you coming out of Bulimba Creek?

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Well done chaps. Some great shots there.

Not to sure on the donation to the reef fund

Avast ye matey!