Thread: copeton dam

copeton dam

hi all i just got back from a overnighter at copeton....quick trip but the fish are biting,,,took the fam and we got into a few yellas ,,and a catty...then went trolling the better half got a nice coloured yella,,,and i got into a few redfin,,,there use to be heaps of these years ago...and there been quiet for ages but there back and great fun i caught 5 in afew minutes from the camp shore spinning this morning,,,and one hell off a time this morning on way back to camp for my FIRST TIME I RAN OUT OF FUEL [ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 38365

Attachment 38366

Attachment 38367

Attachment 38368

Attachment 38369 yep ...the better half starting paddling and lucky some nice bloke towed me back to the bank.. ...NEXT TIME REMEMBER TO BRING SPARE FUEL TANK.....LOL..LOL...all up great trip ,,,fam enjoyed,,,, cheers bdowdy..brett....few photos included....

Re: copeton dam

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]
    one more
    Attachment 38370 the youngest loved driving the boat

Great work Brett, Loved that last shot of the horizon. Used to love eating the reddys, heaps of bones though but the flesh was sweet as.. Just a quick question... What age did you get the littlies into fishing?????
    PS Dont forget to fill up.

hi ben when they could hold the rod and wind they were practicing....im out the back yard always firing a few casts into a old tyre for practice so i guess they see me and want a turn.....i usually cast out for the youngest till they can do it for themselves..as for the reddys i think there one of the better freshwater fish to eat...thanks bdowdy..brett

Nice report mate..and lovely pic's..

That third photo of the cattie against a backdrop of the boulders bought back memories...Almost wished I was back on the Gwydir again...that was until I remembered that my family only gets 700mm of rain a year just downstream from there... verses 4200 mm where I now live...

Always loved the freshwater fishing but hated the freezing winters and seemingly endless drought conditions..

But hey I had some fantastic times there as a kid and young adult....fishing ,hunting,camping etc...and wouldn't trade them for anything....

And glad to see that the water had heated up and the fish are on the bite again....but maybe you were lucky the missus didn't crack you over the head with that oar rather than trying to help paddle to shore..

Getting better with the pics Brett, only once did I have to tilt my head to the side!

onya Brett,
    another good report mate,

THANKS FELLAS....copeton never fails me... always get fish here..compared to other dams...i enjoy fishing this place...hi vinny mate if i have to take sideway piccys they look good that way...LOL..LOL..any way thanks fellas..bdowdy..brett

Hi Scott .you Have To Take The Missis For Something ...she Caught Some Good Fish So Thats Okay....im Hearing That..ccheers Bdowdy

Nice family outing Brett, your kids & Belinda really enjoy there fishing.
    Thinking about heading to the fishing comp at Copeton dam next month might see you there?
    cheers rossco

Hey Brett - great to see the family getting into it too. Great Pics.

The yella's have fired up here too. Idiot-proof at the moment, even hubby can catch one!

Us lot are trying to arrange Copeton Comp in Dec too - maybe hope to catch up with some of you there?

Cin

hi rossco and cindy.....i think im working but wouldnt mind getting over if i can get it off...the fam enjoyed there overnighter...brett

Gday
    Let me know if any of you are going to the comp and Ill try and get out for a couple of quiet beers and a yarn.
    wamjam

just remembered ive got abucks night for agood mate so cant make the comp,,wish i could have....beers and b..bs or fishing hard choice....brett

Hi Brett,

I was over there on the weekend......

I have a feeling I went past you trolling on late saturday arvo.

Was that you that asked us what we were trolling etc...?

We got some good Yellowbelly and had a few cod follow us on Sunday morning.

Phil