-
How to cook Magpie Geese
G'day all,
Yesterday I was given some magpie geese breast fillets.
I was wondering if anyone had some ideas on the best way to cook these.
Thanking you
Aussiefool
-
Re: How to cook Magpie Geese
-
id look for duck recipes.....
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Gidday Andrew ,when we lived in Darwin I used to go to Fog Dam and catch the magies with a chinese mate and an indigenous mate .
Cooked indig style in the fire made them tough but chewable whilst the majority of times we had em chinese style ...marinated and cooked on the bbq.
Yum I'm dribbling just writing this .
-
Ausfish Gold Member
press the fillets out with the palm of your hand till about 12 mm thick then coat with bread crumbs and fry like crumbed steak, legs and giblets make fantastic spaghetti condiment . never pluck just skin bird there nothing much left anyway. they are a protected bird in some states
-
Ausfish Addict
-
[quote=Volvo;934061]Dunno how many geese ya have there or in what quantity but ide cut in pieces and along with a bit of olive oil in the bottom of a nice clean pot ide braise till a wee bit brown ..Slice or cut heaps of onions into eighths or quarter pieces and drop into bottom of pop and stir around till they start to caramalise a tad..
Vinigar and dont go stingy with it and slowly braise with salt n pepper to taste(Dont by any means rush the process, coooook ever so slowly)....Alongside some sweet potato , pumpkin, spuds n whatever other vegies roughly cooked seperately gives it that great but poor mans taste ..
doesn't sound like a bad recipe the method is ok apart from the vinegar replace this with red wine and it'll taste 100% better.
or
if the skin is still intact and breasts are off the bone score (cut) the fat , seal them on the meat side till coloured ( brown) them turn over and reduce the heat, cook at this temp barely 100* C this will start to render (liquefy) the fat, until you start to see small droplets of blood(pinhead size)on the flesh side. remove from the pan and rest for 10 minutes in a warm place (oven on and door open) no more than 40* C. this method will crisp the skin and and give you beautiful pink goose breasts that are as tender as ........ cook 'em any thing more than medium (pink), i prefer rare to medium rare, and they will be tough tasteless and a waste of a beautiful game.
If you want to go the whole hog: remove the legs (their is not much meat on them, but plenty of flavour) chop the carcass into pieces no bigger than a childs fist, brown all in some oil in a hot pan, remove, add some rough diced carrot, onion and celery in the proportion 2:2:1 brown this, remove, deglaze the pan with some drinkable red wine reduce this by half (evaporate off the moisture), put all in sauce pan cover with plenty of water (imagine they are fish and you are teaching them to swim) add some bay leaves, thyme and maybe a few juniper berries (taste of gin), bring to boil and simmer for a minimum 40 minutes up to 1.5 hours. this long slow cooking will render the legs tender. remove legs and reserve, simmer stock for a further 3 hours (this will extract a maximum flavour from the bones) strain stock and reduce (evaporate off the moisture) until you have 75ml of liquid per leg this is your sauce. All the stock and cooking of the legs can be done the day before. Serve with some soft polenta.
je**s this makes me hungry
A good red wine, Shiraz? (cool climate i.e. Victorian, central or gippsland) and it is a meal fit for the gods.
al
enjoy