OK...Who's tested the FingamaJigs yet??
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OK...Who's tested the FingamaJigs yet??

Question OK...Who's tested the FingamaJigs yet??

Gidday all,
    OK now. A few of you fella's have the FingamaJigs so I was wondering if they've been tried and tested yet and what was the result??
    Are there any changes needed??
    Are they dunky dorry as is??
    I looking for any feedback at all really as I have not heard anything much at all.

Negative feedback is gladly received, even welcomed, as that's the only way things can improve isn't it

If you've got them you'll know what I'm talking about. If not then you might be left wondering.

Thanks Scott
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: OK...Who's tested the FingamaJigs yet??

got them, tried them with no result so cant commemt yet. planninig on another trip real soon so i will let you know
    cheers ian

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

got 1/16th and some 1/8th ( I think ), fine guage hook works well for Flatties
    Its hard to get a fine guage hook in larger sizes
    Might be a bit light for Snapper/ Reef fish

Your Fingaqmajigs are good thanks Scotty, I would however prefer to use a higher tensile stronger hook in the larger sizes, something like an Owner forged jig hook would be ideal. The smaller jigs work a treat though.

I have been using gamakatsu hw90 jighooks the last batch i made up recently and although they are holding up well i have twisted and straightened two fairly easily in testing. Any sideways twist under pressure will have them fold over, so I am sourcing some forged jighooks next.

Scott, I have not had a chance as yet, but looking forward to giving them a run..

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    Your Fingaqmajigs are good thanks Scotty, I would however prefer to use a higher tensile stronger hook in the larger sizes, something like an Owner forged jig hook would be ideal. The smaller jigs work a treat though.

I have been using gamakatsu hw90 jighooks the last batch i made up recently and although they are holding up well i have twisted and straightened two fairly easily in testing. Any sideways twist under pressure will have them fold over, so I am sourcing some forged jighooks next.

have the Fingamajigs you have straightened out?? or was it some of your own??

Quote Originally Posted by sid_fishes View Post
    got them, tried them with no result so cant commemt yet. planninig on another trip real soon so i will let you know
    cheers ian
    Mate, If I remember you got some of the series ones. Call around and get the later models. They're a lot better. Series 1's are crap in comparison

Quote Originally Posted by Leighton View Post
    got 1/16th and some 1/8th ( I think ), fine guage hook works well for Flatties
    Its hard to get a fine guage hook in larger sizes
    Might be a bit light for Snapper/ Reef fish
    Thanks matey. Those ones have the Mustad hooks. I was not that impressed with them but if you reckon there're okky dokky then that's good .
    The main range of the FingamaJigs have the Heavy gauge Eagle Claw with the seaguard treatment. A lot stronger and supposed to last a lot longer before rusting away.
    PM me your details again and what size you'd like to try in the heavy's and I'll send some.

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post

Mate, the larger hooks are the main worry. If you use the Owners they cost about 3 times the price of the Eagle Claws but the Eagle Claws are worth didly squat if they bend so I might have to do the Owners as well. LuckyPhil suggested that as well.
    Up to what size is fine with the Eagle Claws??
    I've also been given the same story about the Gama's

Quote Originally Posted by DR View Post
    Scott, I have not had a chance as yet, but looking forward to giving them a run..
    Slack ar&e
    Mate, your the chief test pilot

Thanks fellas. This is what's needed to make them better.

Ausfish Platinum Member plaztix's Avatar

Hey Scott,

The few i have used have been good, the long shank is perfect for flatties.

I haven't done much estuary fishing since i got them and as stated the gauge of the eagle claw hook is probably a bit fine for snaps etc. but as long as you dont expect to pull stumps with them they'll do the job nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by plaztix View Post
    Hey Scott,

The few i have used have been good, the long shank is perfect for flatties.

I haven't done much estuary fishing since i got them and as stated the gauge of the eagle claw hook is probably a bit fine for snaps etc. but as long as you dont expect to pull stumps with them they'll do the job nicely.
    Mate, you got the 1/8 and 1/16th in the fine gauge hook didn't you?
    If so they're Mustads.
    I haven't got a heavy gauge that goes down to those small weights yet.
    The smallest of the heavy gauge is 1/8th with a #1 or sometimes a 1/0 in the heavy gauge.
    If you want I'll drop next time I'm up there and show you.

Cheers matey

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Mate, you got the 1/8 and 1/16th in the fine gauge hook didn't you?
    If so they're Mustads.
    I haven't got a heavy gauge that goes down to those small weights yet.
    The smallest of the heavy gauge is 1/8th with a #1 or sometimes a 1/0 in the heavy gauge.
    If you want I'll drop next time I'm up there and show you.

Cheers matey
    Yeah i got a range from 1/16 to 1/4 i think. I cant remember exactly what size hooks but i got the biggest ones for the weights, i thought they were the eagle claws. They have the eliptical curved hook.

Quote Originally Posted by plaztix View Post
    Yeah i got a range from 1/16 to 1/4 i think. I cant remember exactly what size hooks but i got the biggest ones for the weights, i thought they were the eagle claws. They have the eliptical curved hook.
    The 1/16ths will be Mustads.
    I think the 1/8ths will be too.
    Easy way...if they're bronze they're Mustads. If they're silver they're the eagle Claws.
    Cheers then

I've been using the ones you gave me all year mate. Good gear, heaps of bass and the occasional yella have been pinned to them.
    The bigger bass do tend to bend them a little, but I'm talking BIG strong fish and I was using the lighter ones rigged with small plastics for edge feeding fish.
    I use thicker guage hooks a lot but the ones you supplied were a finer wire and the hook ups in my opinion were much easier.....they are nice and sharp, and the plastic holder was a good design. The only time the plastic would slip on the jighead was after it was assaulted by fish.

I like em

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    I've been using the ones you gave me all year mate. Good gear, heaps of bass and the occasional yella have been pinned to them.
    The bigger bass do tend to bend them a little, but I'm talking BIG strong fish and I was using the lighter ones rigged with small plastics for edge feeding fish.
    I use thicker guage hooks a lot but the ones you supplied were a finer wire and the hook ups in my opinion were much easier.....they are nice and sharp, and the plastic holder was a good design. The only time the plastic would slip on the jighead was after it was assaulted by fish.
    I like em
    Suckhole
    Do you want to try the heavier ones??
    If so PM your details.
    Thanks matey

Aw yeh !! just a handful will do. I'll be happy to test them for you. The bullet heads are good rigged onto sliders. I fish in fairly clear water and it's amazing to watch them slip through the water with a bass or yella following them.

pm sent

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    The 1/16ths will be Mustads.
    I think the 1/8ths will be too.
    Easy way...if they're bronze they're Mustads. If they're silver they're the eagle Claws.
    Cheers then
    All silver.