Thread: What should i do?. Hilux? Rodeo? Other?

Re: What should i do?. Hilux? Rodeo? Other?

Hi Mate,

I have a 06 2.5l td Navara STX and also have a 19' boat with an all up towing weight 1.9 tonnes fully loaded (weight on weightbridge) the navara tows that with no problems heap of power and top end speed. I normally tow at 110 km/p but have been known to get up to 130 km/p and it loves it. It has heaps of power to pass road trains with little effort at all. I am more than happy with the way the navara handles when towing and at any other time to be exact. leave teh rest go a navara 2.5l td.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    He wants a ute so 80's and 100's are out.
    I think some here are stuck in an old rut when it comes to modern utes.
    The disco td5, and the patrol 3l are both small motors and both are motors that I have some experience with towing fully laden 680 hainses long distances with. I rated the experience highly (thank christ neither blew up). Nothing comes close in the fuel usage stakes either.
    The navara has the exact same engine as the patrol.
    The hilux has the same motor as the 3l prado which is a prized tow vehicle among grey nomads who value tow ability vs fuel usage - just check the resale on an 8 Y.O. one.
    A ute is then, the same 'small' engine dragging around less mass than a fat arsed wagon - am I missing something?

One very pertinent thing to look out for however is wheel track. The utes generally have a smaller track than the big wagons and in a 'tow off' the vehicle that matches the track of the trailer will win every day regardless of body shape, engine size etc.

Thanks for this post. I'll just blow up a few myths here.

The engines in 4x4 vehicles can destroy the transmission in no time flat. I can destroy the transmission in any 4x4 in 15 minutes. It won't just be a bearing I'll blow every seal have oil pouring out everywhere and then we'll strip the gear faces before it all siezes. If you want me to do this to prove a point, lend me your 4x4 and come with me. You will throw up after 5 minutes. Drivelines are not as strong as diesel engines and haven't been since the 1950's.

The new small capacity TDI engines are excellent and reliable technology. Like all engines before them (especially Toyota engines) they need servicing and proper lubricants. Like all diesels, they need power fed in - not WOT, otherwise you just spew unburned fuel out the exhaust and fill the sump with diesel.

Do not treat manufacturers axle loads and towing loads as recommendations. They form part of the vehicle compliance so they are absolute limits and only apply on gazetted roads. If you go off road you need an extra margin to protect you and your insurance policy.

Plan carefully and tread lightly.

White Pointer

He wants a ute so 80's and 100's are out.
    That's why I suggested he get a trailer.

I think some here are stuck in an old rut when it comes to modern utes.
    The disco td5, and the patrol 3l are both small motors and both are motors that I have some experience with towing fully laden 680 hainses long distances with. I rated the experience highly (thank christ neither blew up). Nothing comes close in the fuel usage stakes either.
    The navara has the exact same engine as the patrol.
    I wouldn't touch the 3 litre Nissan engine with a barge pole. Sure they tow alright when they're running, but after they've blown up they don't tend to be quite as good for some reason.

The hilux has the same motor as the 3l prado which is a prized tow vehicle among grey nomads who value tow ability vs fuel usage - just check the resale on an 8 Y.O. one.
    A ute is then, the same 'small' engine dragging around less mass than a fat arsed wagon - am I missing something?
    It's the same block, yeah. But the Prado got an intercooler which improved the power, torque and performance and therefore made it a much better tow vehicle. I believe the situation is the same with the Patrol and Navara sharing the 3 litre diesel engine. Patrol got an intercooler, Navara didn't. Therefore Patrol = better tow vehicle. I still wouldn't go near one, though.

You wouldn't find any serious grey nomad towing a big caravan with a prado or a 3 litre patrol. When you're using any vehicle near it's limit for a long period of time, there will be problems at some stage, it's as simple as that.

matt

Its not me wanting a ute - i've got one - it's him. Still haven't heard you mention one to assist the bloke????

P.S. a wagon and a trailer is not a ute.

Agree on the i/c addition - prado also got efi over the lux.
    Already mentioned the 3l patrol thang.
    Dunno what you mean about 'serious grey nomads' theres heaps with diesel prado's and 3l patrols - just go over to exploroz and read about them whinging about the pootrols blowing up.

White pointer - I've stripped the driveline out of a '100 series petrol just as fast as you could in any diesel. Anyone can do it - it's not hard.

Agree with GBC. Don't rule out a petrol model - great power for the beach and alot cheaper. Picked up a 2005 courier xlt 4.0lt dual cab at pickles for $13k with 88 on the clock

good luck with it!

bb

Its not me wanting a ute - i've got one - it's him. Still haven't heard you mention one to assist the bloke????

What are you talking about? I think you're confused. Read my last post again, carefully.

No, a wagon and a trailer is not a ute, very observant of you. But he needs 5 seats and some space for tools, I assume, and he needs to tow 2 tonnes regularly and over long distances and on sand. A cruiser with a trailer is the best option for his needs IMHO.

Dunno what you mean about 'serious grey nomads' theres heaps with diesel prado's and 3l patrols - just go over to exploroz and read about them whinging about the pootrols blowing up.
    All the nomads on exploroz with big vans drive cruisers or 4.2 patrols. Yes, there are some who drive 3.0 patrols but many of them have let go. Some of them with smaller vans drive prados and very few drive hiluxes, navaras or rodeos. So back to my original point - hiluxes/navaras/rodeos are not particularly good for towing 2+ tonnes regularly over long distances or on sand.

Therefore a cruiser or 4.2 patrol and a trailer might be a good option for the thread starter. The other thing to keep in mind is that he wants to tow a 2 tonne boat on sand. You can't muck around with 4 cylinder engines if you want to do a lot of that, and if you do, you're asking for trouble, IMHO.

White pointer - I've stripped the driveline out of a '100 series petrol just as fast as you could in any diesel. Anyone can do it - it's not hard.
    Why are people proud of that??? I don't get it.

matt

Sorry guys didn't mean to cause such a ruckus.. haha.. Anyway, the verdict is, i'm gonna go with the rodeo. My uncle recommended it and hes done some time as a mechanic. Reckons the isuzu engines are great and would have no problem towing my boat. He too has owned both a petrol and a now the vcdi diesel rodeo and raves about the diesel so i feel safe with this choice. Thanks to everyone for the comments.

If i have any problems/or if its better than perfect, i'll let yas know.

Thought no-one would ever ask. I did it for a living - testing driveline durability working in the vehicle manufacturing industry. I learned a lot about the power of engines, the multiplication of torque and how to keep it all working reliably.

Drive them all like Morris Minors!

White Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by Brades View Post
    Sorry guys didn't mean to cause such a ruckus.. haha..
    Don't worry about it, mate. We love arguing about this sort of stuff.

matt

Quote Originally Posted by White Pointer View Post

Thought no-one would ever ask. I did it for a living - testing driveline durability working in the vehicle manufacturing industry. I learned a lot about the power of engines, the multiplication of torque and how to keep it all working reliably.

Drive them all like Morris Minors!

White Pointer

Mate,

If your job was anything like I'm thinking it was like - I'm seriously jealous.

Our toys are very easily broken - I agree.

Mate,

If your job was anything like I'm thinking it was like - I'm seriously jealous.

Our toys are very easily broken - I agree.

You are right - it was seriously fun until after dinner on the first night out, deprived of alcohol and made to rebuild it all for the second round of testing on day two, and then day three and then ... by day four you were seriously knackered, had lost weight, didn't want booze - just sleep.

On day five you fell asleep at the wheel and ran off the road and rolled or hit a tree - and they analysed that data as well.

Respect them - drive them like Morris Minors.

White Pointer

well my brother has a 2004 roadeo with approx 40,000ks on it and a blown motor due to a factory fault with breathing or somthing I would go with Toyota.

WHy not look for a patrol that has been extended. They are out there and 25k will pull it up. Dual cab , dual rear axle and a tray. Simple. Just make sure it was done properly.

10 ltrs per 100k and the towing you want aint gonna happen. ps ...dont buy a petrol ffs. You will soon whittle away any savings. They drink hard.
    You are entitled to my opinion!
    -----------------------------------------

Every model car out there has blown a engine transmission or diif. think cars are all the same, shapes and badges are different they all have there probs. If there was a perfect car where would all our mechanics be?