Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: surface fish + sneaky bonus pic

Re: surface fish + sneaky bonus pic

That's fantastic.

I live in Maroochydore and have been fishing the river since 1994... I've never caught anything asides from your average (and average sized, except the 70cm flatty I landed at the mouth) bream, whiting and flathead. I couldn't count the hours I've spent fishing the river.

It tells me something I recently realised... I don't know enough! I think I need to up the ante on aquiring knowledge.

Matt.

matt there out there. iv been fishing the river since 2000 and im only now starting to get it right. maroochy changes so much it hard to keep up with whats on offer at any time. at the moment the tides are building up so soon it will be worth going and haveing a look at twin waters weir, iv pulled lots of good fish and been done over there heaps of time when the tides are big and the water is pumping over weir, ya get lots of needle skin and two spot queenfish there and lots of mid size big eye trevs and the odd good size gt up to around 60cm but every now and then the big ones come in to play and ya know about it when there in. the mouth on north shore side can be awsome for tailor and other palagics, try poppers and walk the dog lures there as well, ya can catch any thing there but ya realy have to pic the right tide for that place. a nother good stresh where ya might find them is just up from the cod hole, look for any signs of bait on the surface or and bow waves from fish, if ya see one, ya might just think its a mullet croozing past cast at anything ya see move as it could be a gt or big eye like my one sitting just under the surface and if ya get it about a meter and a half in frount of him, he should hit it. try surface walk the dog lures(stick baits) in the 60mm-85mm and practise practise practise as it is tricky.
    figjam :wink:

Brilliant, thanks for the info mate. I'll put it to good use tommorow!

Matt.

hey nuggstar do the poppers work at night on jacks

iv never tryed targting jack at night on poppers but iv got plenty of barra up north at night on poppers and fizzers. i dont see why it would not work. im keen to go and try it now ya made me think of it. one of my mates up in darwin got 2 on a fizza one night chasing barra in woods creek. he just rote them off as he wanted the barra more, funny how they are so precious over here but only seen as tucker up there. i think the popper will work at night for em but. ya go a chug bug yet. there is a yanky lure they use over there for the large mouth bass called the ambush pop a long and i recon it will dominate the trevs and jacks, do a surch on google and check it out, i think you will like it hay hehehe just check it out dude

This one was at night on a Tiemco Black Pepper popper.

Nice Jack Jeff hope there`s some of em round for the M&G

morning stack, ah see stezza ya can catch a popper jack at night. thanks jeff, thats ripper, such a cool looking fish hay

Im going out thursday night after work to target jacks on poppers, see how we go

Quote Originally Posted by stessco View Post
    Im going out thursday night after work to target jacks on poppers, see how we go
    i hope ya get em. thay have desided to hide from me for the last 3 weeks, the only ones iv seen have been 6cm long and thay are ever so cute.

I think the weather might bet me this time

did ya check out that ambush pop-a-long, im trying to get 2 of them. i just no they will work.

I checked them out, the chug bug and the ambush pop they look like they will do some damage, where do you get the chug bug from?

bcf mate, they allwas have heaps of them. if yaget the smaller ones look for the clear yellow one, it works good on the jacks. with the bigger ones try thr green back orange bellys and the blue crome for the trevs. the pop a long has to be sent over.

here the other pic