Thread: Pine River Grunter

Pine River Grunter

Fished the pine on sunday morning nice and early!, got the boat out just on high tide and headed straight for the highway bridge to harass some bream! Unfortunately for about the first 45mins i couldn't boat anything worth putting in the esky, caught a catty that would have gone about 60cm (seem to be getting more and more everytime) which gave me a screamer of a fight on light line but once again my heart sank when i saw him next to the boat...about 10mins later i pulled in a 30cm bream and decided he was probably the only guy there...put him back in the water and changed spots! Not long after the anchor went in, i pulled up one of he weirdest looking bream i'd ever seen, he actually kinda freaked me out at first...he had a spotted back, head coming to a point like a barra and he was making some odd noises...checked out the tide guide and bang! Grunter Bream...he was only about 29cm, but a first for a me, so i was a pretty stoked! He went back in the drink and after two more disguistingly big catties i called it a day!

Re: Pine River Grunter

hey saltdog i know how u feel with those catties barsted of a fish they are. theres seem to be a lot of sizable grunter in the pine these days which is a good thing a few weeks ago a got a 55cm out of then pine which blew my mind never thought they would get that big down here then went back the next day an got 1 around 40. the out up a great fight on light line an taste just as good

well done

catties are like the cane toads of the rivers...
    ugly smelly slimy bloody things

Hey Ben
    Great stuff
    Wer u fliking the placcies aswell? or jst bait?
    Well have to go for a flick next W/E

Quote Originally Posted by noddy1786 View Post
    catties are like the cane toads of the rivers...
    ugly smelly slimy bloody things
    Smelly & slimy they B but (unlike cane toads) they are native fish just doing their thing so please respect them and release them unharmed..........

The cattys are a fact of life for bait fishos in brisbane . Went sharking on saterday in the brissy river and got 57cm 58cm 59cm cattys. i do want a grunter while breaming tho

Saltdoggy,

Great to hear of another grunter from the Pine. They are a favoured fish for me because, as Bowds13 says, they taste great (much firmer flesh than a bream) and give a good fight on light gear. Unlike bream the legal size is 30cm so some people believe they should only be called their other name "Javellin fish" to remove the confusion.

I'm yet to get one in the Pine - well done again,

Catfish are the pine river barramundi.
    Great fun on light gear.

Cheers Troy

Hey Saltdoggy, some actually call them Dhu fish & reckon they are ok to eat??, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

lol yeah i met an old bloke out one day and he reckons he cooks em up (catfish)! Not for me though...i can't stand the sight or smell of them...
    i'm so keen to get a grunter with some decent size to him bowds13!! I can just imagine the fight a 55cm one would put up!! Is there a special area you happen to find them? As i was not fishing my normal bream spot, i was fishing banks for flatty...??

Hey simon,
    yeah its been too long, we should go for a flick for some jacks, possibly next weekend? this weekend i'm going to inskip with some mates! I'm taking the new big rod down and going to do some searching for a big grey friend!

Next W/E sounds good!
    Good luck on the Noahs jst remember a solid stream of burley!

Might see ya up the saltdoggy. I'll be in a littl tinny chasin tuna early morns around inskip.

lol you coming up too creek vermin?? Along with THIRSTY i bet? Are you camping with him? I'll be up there with his younger bro and some other mates...should be a good messy weekend!

Nah thirsty aint comin this time mate. Doin a solo trip. Everytime I go there with him I end up at the country club and catch FA fish. I'll keep an eye out for yas and pop in for a coupla cans..