Thread: Two kids, 1 day, and Bulimba Creek

Two kids, 1 day, and Bulimba Creek

Hi guys,
    I'm most likely going to look stupid, but hey, why not
    Tomorrow, my friend and I (both just over 14) are going on, shall we say, a fishing trip to Bulimba Creek.

As it was organized tonight, neither of us have any bait, and will be fishing most likely in the canoe trail/pontoons there. The spot I've been to before, was a bridge behind the KFC in Carindale. We caught several small mullet there, and further up, there was a pontoon where we caught bream.

Also has anyone ever seen people fishing in the Minnippi Park lands? I went down today and saw heaps of freshwater fish there, even a few bow waves
    So, my question to you all, is, what bait would work on Bream, flatties, or whatever we might find, along with freshwater baits?

Sorry for the long post,
    snagking

p.s. I don't think we'll keep any fish outa there though
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Re: Two kids, 1 day, and Bulimba Creek

Cant go wrong with prawns mate, both freshwater and salties love em. If i were out there i would chuck out baby pillies, for some of the bigger bream in the area and mabye the odd flatty. I dont like to fish with lots of different kind of bait cause i never use it all. Also would you consider using any soft plastics? go round flicking the banks and such?

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Unfortunately we don't have access to prawns however i have made some dough bait (heard it works well) and have packed some plastics. I have packed 2" banana prawns, and the gulp red wormy things.
    I was thinking that maybe i could catch some of the mullet, then fillet them for strip baits? good, bad idea?

I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Yer give it a go you never know whats out there, possibly most likely rays if there any about, they love flesh baits, I use dough when fishing for mullet near my house its pretty good stuff for mullet. So yer make sure you get into the snags but not catch the snags.

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

yeah hopefully will catch something
    At least it'll be better than housework
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

The results: a few mullet, which we just threw back (too small to bother filleting)
    a couple bream 15cm, and 25cm
    about 10 turtles (all released in good nick)
    and at the freshwater lake (minnippi):
    a 85cm eel!!! (actually pulled hard)
    more turtles.
    And we saw about 20 carp right in close to the structure on the banks, but wouldn't take our bread or corn

when we were talking an elderly gentlemen, he said his grandson had caught a bass in there XD, and i believe him

all in all a great day, and we'll definately do it again sometime
    I Fish, I catch, I SNAG

Gday mate,just a little tip for next time,those small mullet make excellent bait for bigger fish .either as strip baits or as a live bait.

Cheers Craig

I went there with bread and caught nothing - Good work though

buy yourself a earthworm farm if you're gonna make a habit of freshwater creek fishing. From when I was about 12 onwards me and my mates would spend whole weekends and school holiday periods fishing the creeks from around Goodna/Redbank right through to Colleges. I remember earthworms always worked a treat as did lawn grubs, grasshoppers etc (experiment with what you can collect, half as much fun we found). We regularly caught eels, turtles, eel tailed catties, carp, spangled perch and a few surprises like lungfish on all that stuff. Sounds like you're enjoying yourself, good on ya!

Goat