Thread: Cocoa Ramp Townsville

Cocoa Ramp Townsville

Townsvillians,

I was considering Cocoa ramp to launch this weekend. I have a 4m tinny on a 4wd tilt/trailer towed with a Rav4.

Any advise on the current conditions or recommended tides for access would be great.

Sunday's tide is high of 2.68 @ 0616 and low of 1.12m @ 1215.

Will I get in and out alright?

Re: Cocoa Ramp Townsville

Here is a photo taken at 8:19am in the morning. High tide for Townsville was 9:38am that day (2.61m). I had no dramas launching/retrieving my 4.1m tinny but you could see where others had in the past.

When I was last out that way (August I think) there was a bit of building under way using logs at the other lauching area just upstream. I'm unsure what/if anything ever came of it though.

Hope this helps to give you some idea.

Roo.

Cheers for that. Couldn't ask for much more than a pic!

Might be a bit sloppy on low tide would be my only concern?

G'day Dexyboy,

I wouldn't plan on trying to pull your boat out of the water at low tide. I didn't actually try it myself but I reckon you would end up in trouble.

Perhaps some of the other Townsville lads can shed some more light on whether recovering at low tide is possible at all?

We went out and fished for the entire day and therefore pulled the boat out when the tide was probably at least 3/4 back in. Too easy then.

Roo.

PS
    If you are heading out of the mouth take care. It is all shallow flats and the channel is pretty narrow. There were a few markers stuck in the mud to help.
    Theres a few crocs getting around in that little creek as well.

mate not a good thing on low tide, unless u hav a car topper, u can carry. even then the bank iss really slippery, iv fallen in there before, got out pretty bloody quik tho
    scott

dexyboy

you will have trouble on that mud ramp at low water!
    myself... i would be more concerned about leaving my car & trailer there, i know a few people who have been broken into down there, 1 bloke even came back to find all his rollers & wheels were gone off the trailer.
    so be careful. but the fishing that can be had over the flats at high tide is unreal!

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

where is this boat ramp?
    ive never heard of it befor
    dunks

Dunkxx, a goat track has better launching ability than the ramp at Cocoa

and Ron is correct, leave your car their at your own peril, if its not broken into they are regularly vandalised....absolutely no security.
    I'd go the extra distance and launch from Ross River
    Fillet and Release Squad

I'm with Brett on this one. Tak e the extra time and launch from town. Much safer.