-
Popper tings today
Went down the coast today to score a few tings. Things were very quiet until the tide turned and the water became a little less clear. Unfortunately this diddnt happen til late this arvo which diddn't leave me much time to fish while they were interested in the popper. Scored a couple though Biggest 38. Ben
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Popper tings today
great size whiting there blooey,bit of fun, cheers
-
Another top effort ,very impressed with these tings on poppers well done
-
Ausfish Addict
Yeah Ben....Nice.
I wish I could nail a 38 on a popper.....40 would be even better.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
nice whiting there i bet they tasted even better knowing you caught them on poppers
bron
-
Ausfish Gold Member
nice fish mate
Is there a few stingrays on the flats where your fishing? looks like a stingray mark to me in the pic
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Good bag of whiting Ben. It seems the more quality ones hit the poppers. You've inspired me to go out after work and give it a go. - RC
-
love it mate ya good. that big one's colour looks funny, not like a normal ting, its like a albino ting or something, or were the others that colour too. it just dose'nt look like the ones aroung here. ya need to wipe the fish slime off ya cam lense to, the pic would have come out heaps better.
-
-
well done Blooey some good fish.
-
blooey, nice fish mate! Those dropshots are a really nice flick stick hey! love mine, do you fish shallow water with the poppers or is it fairly deep? Cause i know whiting are bottom feeders so i just can't see em swimming all the way up from deep water just to check out a popper...could be wrond tho???
-
Nice spotting barrakid, Yep heaps of stingers have to keep your'e eyes peeled so you dont step on them while your'e wading. They follow you around too.
RC, I get twice as many small ones ranging from 6cm-26cm as i do bigger ones normally. So yeah the little fellas aren't shy about smacking a popper either.
Nugg, Cant say i notice the colour difference mate. They are coming out of very clear water though so maybe it's a camo thing. Few showers today so i was a bit wet and diddn't have anything dry to wipe the lense with. Ben
-
Well done again ben.
I gotta give the whiting a serious run on poppers some time, but stuck on the fly phase atm. Maybe some white gurgler flies for them . . . .
Keep smiling, It makes people wonder what you're up to.
-
Ta crumbo, Yes have to agree fly fishing can be all consuming if you let it. Was thinking about it yesterday and if you could come up with a clear headed fly popper youd be laughing. Might have a bit of a play on the fly tying bench myself. Ben
-
Nice work Ben, I am keen to give this more of a go now after seeing you and others having great success using poppers!! Sounds like great fun and a good feed to boot
Brandon...