Thread: Ross River Tville - Golden Jack

Ross River Tville - Golden Jack

Gday fishos,
    Went down to my usual this arvo along the Ross and after a few flicks i picked this lil fella up. Beautiful specimen espcially with the golden tinge. Ive never seen a jack with this golden colouring befor. Is this natural? has anyon else noticed this?

cheers all
    Dunks

Re: Ross River Tville - Golden Jack

i remember when i picked up a juvinile once it had a slightly golden tinge to it, looked impressive no foto tho
    scott

Hey Dunks

Seems like the the Ross has seen a lot of Ausfishers just recently. I was down on Wednesday night and bumped into Mozza flicking poppers in the dark.

Them Jacks are good fun tho eh? Unusual colours on that one.

Mate they come in all different colours i have caught them and they looked green and some that looked white or light silver there good at changing colour to match there mood.

my pet one goes from nearly white to light pink to bright red crimson with white and orange stripes depending on what he is doing ie feeding.

nice one dude, go the palagic. how long have ya had that reel for, the spin reel i get off them is still going hard( after 2 years now), not bad for the price ya pay hay.
    figjam :wink:

dunkxx
    if you want to start catching the next size up, strat throwing your sp around any of the boat ramps casting just off them is how my son sometimes keeps amused.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post
    nice one dude, go the palagic. how long have ya had that reel for, the spin reel i get off them is still going hard( after 2 years now), not bad for the price ya pay hay.
    You got that right nugs. This combo i got off ebay was an absolute bargain.

won the rod for $2.25 plus postage $15 (still worth it)
    won the reel $11 plus about $7 postage
    even th braid cost about $10 all up

It great for me becasue i can get decent begginer level gear without buying the big brands.
    Dunks

Quote Originally Posted by ronnien View Post
    dunkxx
    if you want to start catching the next size up, strat throwing your sp around any of the boat ramps casting just off them is how my son sometimes keeps amused.

ron.
    Thanks ron,

Im gonna try the sth tville boat ramp this arvo. I hope the sand flies arent that bad beacsue last night i got smash buy them. Red dots everyhere. haha.

dunks

The golden tinges to a jack are not uncommon, I regularly notice their brighter shades of pale coming through. Here is a pic of one scored today locally with good markings.

jack
    thats one very nice looking jack mate.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Jack

He's a good size bet he cooked up a treat.

Cheers Rod....