Bribie Passage still firing

Thread: Bribie Passage still firing

Ausfish Platinum Member Fishbait's Avatar

Bribie Passage still firing

Headed out in afternoon up Bribie Passage to Spot X I found last week . Sure enough, the place is still firing with heaps of bream.

Started of fairly slow but like last week, 3 hours before the high, it goes mad. We kept 20 nice bream and threw back no exageration 20 others that didn't make our 28cm boat rule. I didn't do so well myself - probably several for the arvo . But my little boy kept pulling them in and so did my other old mate I fish with.

Watched the storm go around us and only got some cold wind and not much rain. Maybe thats why the fish were going nuts? Back at the ramp at 6:30pm just on sundown so a safe trip home.

Cheers, Darren.

Re: Bribie Passage still firing

nice work fishbait.i also have found a spot x at toorbul where we have been getting some nice flathead.

A good afternoon fishing Darren........and also heartening news for us as we're still working in Armidale for the next 2 weeks...after which, we're having 3 weeks break at Bribie.....before heading to our next job at Rockhampton.

We'd love to have an afternoon like that...Great Stuff

Rick & Julie

well done fishbait , bloke i know up here in caloundra went out just after the storm and cleaned up as well,

cheers Paul

Quote Originally Posted by steve luscombe View Post
    nice work fishbait.i also have found a spot x at toorbul where we have been getting some nice flathead.
    I don't target flathead as I'm not that good. But I'm definately going to give it a go oneday though - their good fighters as well as good eating. I only pick up the odd flattie when I'm checking my bait - they seem to grab my hook then - poor unfortunate unlucky buggers.

I'll try another new spot next week as well - want to keep my stock in the area for later.

Cheers, Darren.

hey darren

mate would you believe i was a red beach for a wedding in that storm and we got hammered.My landcruiser has tons of hail damage and even had the windscreen smashed it looked like snow afterwards with the ground covered.

thank god for insurance
    cheers scotty

Quote Originally Posted by nofrills View Post
    hey darren

mate would you believe i was a red beach for a wedding in that storm and we got hammered.My landcruiser has tons of hail damage and even had the windscreen smashed it looked like snow afterwards with the ground covered.

thank god for insurance
    cheers scotty
    G'Day Scott

Thats amazing . We we're parked at Spinnaker and lucky to get away with nothing from it thank god. I thought the day was looking good early. Even looked at my rain coats in the shed when I was getting my rods and thought, NAH, won't be needing them today. Man I was looking for some warmth around 3pm when the cold wind and rain started but it only lasted around the half hour or so north up the passage so forntuate there. Hope the wedding went OK and you get your car a new paint job soon.

Check your PMs

Darren.

I saw the storm coming and took my new (second hand) car to the shopping centre at Kippa-ring to put it under cover....didnt get hail quite the size that would do damage...but larger than average. Its quite common for fish to go into a feeding mood when a storm is approaching....I believe it has something to do with a rapidly changing air pressure. With Australian Bass, they go absolutely berserk in those conditions.

Well done on the catch.

Spot on Sleepygreg - if you can fish just before an approaching storm hits the fish seem to go absolutely bananas. I've had this happen a number of times in both salt and freshwater. The hardest thing is to decide when to stop dodging the lightning bolts and seek some shelter before you get fried!
    Cheers Freeeedom

Hi Darren,

You are the Bream King mate. Those new Stradics will be worn out soon.

Frank OO

Quote Originally Posted by Fishbait View Post
    I only pick up the odd flattie when I'm checking my bait - they seem to grab my hook then - poor unfortunate unlucky buggers.

Cheers, Darren.

same here mate. happens a bit to me. no idea why

Basically cos flatties are lazy little buggers. They lie on the bottom and wait till a bait smacks them on top of their head, then they eat it. This also explains why they have a flat head, lol.

Ausfish Platinum Member Steve B's Avatar

Good report Dumpy,

got ya PM. Great fishing there mate,.

cheers Steve

Some nice fish there Darren. Good to hear the young bloke is outfishing you. Rumour has it you have been getting some nice crabs lately?? Care to elaborate mate?

Cheers Scott

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    Some nice fish there Darren. Good to hear the young bloke is outfishing you. Rumour has it you have been getting some nice crabs lately?? Care to elaborate mate?

Cheers Scott
    Hey Scottie

Only the big blue sandies type in the passage - my pants are fine .

Cheers mate,

Darren.