Thread: the cape still rocks

the cape still rocks

After a two mth lay off due to the birth of my second child (first son), thought it was time to blow some cobwebbs from the outboard. After doing the ring around on Saturday night the only taker was my brother who gets sea sick! I thinks well if he is keen at least an extra set of hands at the ramp would be handy. Left Bribie at 10am and decided to head straight out to wide cal wasn't the best of rides going into an easterly swell. Stopped at the beacon to jigg lives, did see some surface activity but did not stop to fish. First mark and the brother pulls up a flathead and squire on a bottom basher, before spewing his guts up then staggering into sick bay, which left me the whole back of the boat. Lots of small pp & hussar,cod etc were caught on all the marks I tried. Moved closer to the cape to a pearly ledge in 100m and managed to put some fish in the esky and my bro gets a second wind. By this stage time was getting on so we headed to a spot which has been kind in the past. Set the boat up for the first drift and deployed live bait, floaters plus one bottom basher which got smashed before hitting bottom, after a 10min tug of war up pops a pb snapper. This is when I remembered that I had left the camera at home. Lucky I had my mobile. Did one more drift for nothing and noticing that the sun was going down, we made a dash for the close grounds were I pulled up on a favourite mark put the nose into the wind, tossed out the anchore and hoped for the best and managed to fluked the perfect position. A whale passed within meters of the boat and unbelieviably breached 6 times as it headed south. Started to burley with some prawn shells and old bait the next hour was absolute mahaem with eight snapper and a spangled plus a big yellow tail that took the last live bait and just about turned my poor old brother inside out. After that without another boat in sight the call was made so we iced the fish and enjoyed a full throttle run home in in the dark. It sure was a memorable day. Sorry not photos of the catch as I gave my brother most of the fish at the ramp but here is the big snapper which went 11.1kg.

Re: the cape still rocks

Wow! I mean, WOW! Good fishin'.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

sounds like a very good day on water salty wish i was there with ya

Thats a bloody ripper snap Salt Rat. We dont see too many bigger than that up here hey.. Sounds like a good trip.

Cheers Scott

that is a horse well done and what sounds like a great trip. cheers lethal

Well done Salt Rat ...that is a friggin snodger snappa

What was the current like east of the Cape ??
    Clean water..??

Have heard reports of 'green' water in the Bay...
    May be EPA had something to do with that ....!!

Phil

blooody ripppa!! good onya. sounds like one of those trips when everything falls into perfection!! cheers trav

Craigo – awesome fish there mate. Thanks for giving me first spot on the boat but after our week at Tinaroo with serious sleep deprivation, I don’t think I would have been much help at the ramp or on the boat unless you needed someone to drown out the 2-stroke noise with a bit of snoring . I would have loved a chance at that 11.1kg though. Reckon he would have taken my Nuclear Chook before your stinky pily ! Congrats on a stonker PB – LEGEND!

good snapper, you often hear of 10+ kg models but dont catch them too often!

cheers - Craig

awesome fish mate great effort well done

Great Sanpper mate - I can only dream of something like that. Cheers, Darren.

there certainly are some big snapper arod at the moment

well done

thanks for your comments guys,spectre min current 8 ball at 100m spot and water as clear as it gets.
    black sheep, never mind mate next time keen to try soft plastics,but still having fun with bait and 2 strokes long live the 80's when is van halen touring next...

Awesome snapper mate, that is huge! well done.

Anthony

Very nice snap mate, well done.

Cheers Wal