Thread: the pajero on the road again!

the pajero on the road again!

well my pajero is back on the road again! new motor and $3500 later! its good to be back on the road again!

Re: the pajero on the road again!

Quote Originally Posted by shano View Post
    well my pajero is back on the road again! new motor and $3500 later! its good to be back on the road again!
    So how much would it have cost to buy another 4wd? I think you made the right choice in fixing the Pajero up and at least now you know what you have. I need to make the decision to do my poor old girl soon. She is starting to blow smoke on start up but I would expect that with the amount of kilometres that it has done. Good to know your Pajero is back from the dead. Out of interest did you put another motor in or do up the old one?

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

i put another motor in! my motor was stuffed! piston and heads was stuffed! new heads were $1000 ea ,plus the more i pulled mine apart the more i found! the harmonic balancer bolt must have came a bit loose and started to flog out the keyway, also the locating lug was elongated! so was putting timing out a bit! just trying to chase up a acuator that operates the butterflies in the lower plenum! mine was flogged out an this is what caused the problem in the first place! the new motor had it's one removed!

also doing all the work myself has made it easy to do future work on the car! i know where everything is now!

Good choice to keep going with her Shano, in reality what would it cost to buy another 4x4? My 2.8ltr TD Pajero has just done the 320,000K sell me or I will cost a few pennies Vintage but it looks like I should be trouble free for a while now. Darn good car still and worth the investment of some fairly major work.

Ausfish Bronze Member Aussie Spirit's Avatar

When you look back at how long the Pajero has been around along with the ever increasing evolution of the Pajero motor, they are a very good vehicle. I believe that they were first built purely for the Dakar rally. Glad to hear you have wheels once more.
    Aussie Spirit
    Stacer Proline 3.75
    Rego: WG951Q

Good to hear Shano!!

Well done matey. I reckon that knowing your beast is half the battle. I reckon the modern ones are getting a bit toooo electronic for my liking (in all brands).

Good news Shane. That price sounds pretty good.

catch up soon.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    So how much would it have cost to buy another 4wd? I think you made the right choice in fixing the Pajero up and at least now you know what you have. I need to make the decision to do my poor old girl soon. She is starting to blow smoke on start up but I would expect that with the amount of kilometres that it has done. Good to know your Pajero is back from the dead. Out of interest did you put another motor in or do up the old one?

The smoke you see will be from hard valve stem seals, after a while she will start to smoke idling for a minute or so as well.

But they can be replaced pretty easily by a Mechanic, I got quoted 120 Bucks to do mine in me Cordia Turbo, Thinking the Turbo was stuffed.

Anyway no more smoke.

That was a while ago now can't hurt to get a quote though.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Good news Shane. That price sounds pretty good.

catch up soon.

how did the camera stand go?