first jack of the season

Thread: first jack of the season

first jack of the season

Hi all i have been waiting to finally break the draught on my 2008 spring jack hunt and it has happened
    To begin i called nathan (tropicaltrout ) and asked if he was interested in a seson at one of my favirote jacks spots. after we both done some sweet talking to the bosses we had clearance we meet at the boat ramp at 3.45pm to go and collect our supply of live bait of course to my disma the tide was alot higher then i had predicted which didnt help since i want a variaty of fresh speciemen to sacrfice to hopefully awaiting mangrove jacks. We then had enough bait (thanks to nath bring some he had from earlier in the day ) and off we went to spot x we anchor up with 4 lines in the water and we didnt have to wait long for some action around 5ish i had a mullet get smashed as i tried to slow this fish down i grab the braid ( which is not a normal thing for mwe to do due to the use of overheads normally ) of course it burn my finger and duw to me relaxing the line the fish let go of the bait . SO of course we keep fising for a while longer with no inquirey and me being a quick thinker i decide to put out another line well first bait i put on i cast out and lune get cught in reel and healthy bait go swiming off
    ok ill give it another go cast bang same again this stage nath is telling me to give up i would trhow that thing in the water i didnt listen i put on a peeled prawn and just as i get ready to cast my other rod get smashed bang the bait pulled clean of the hook i cant belive my luck. 2 to the fish nil to me
    THen it was my turn to have a lul and nath starts getting action . He brought 2 rods one that would handle a red devil on the run and one that normally handles red devil in the reidy areas but it the rock areas would most likey end up in 2 pieces nath and me achatting away and he tells me about how he loves when the lives take a run like something is on there tale and the rod bending and drag peels off well sure a shivers the fish lets go just as he start winding damm therere on the ball tonight he says
    Any after another hour of no action finally i see my rod tip twitching a little and then as i get my hands on it the rod loads up i locked in to him he is heading straight for the rocks so i give him full load and slow him down finally the line is over near the boat where me and nath are waitng to see that red flash then up he comes a 47cm mangrove jack great way yo start the jack year off and its looking good for more to come pictures below

Re: first jack of the season

wheres the rest of it....

O.K You've got me hooked. I Need MORE. Ben

AAH there we go. Nice jack. Thanks, Ben

Great fish and not a bad read either. I've gota catch me one of them one day.
    You had better leave the bad luck at home for the next trip to Monduran. How's the back holding up?
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Great work Nipsta!! thats a very red devil too!!
    I have to say though you were asking for trouble using 2 rods mate They are too quick to have to pickup the rod after they hit!!

Bradon..

Quote Originally Posted by Callop View Post
    Great fish and not a bad read either. I've gota catch me one of them one day.
    You had better leave the bad luck at home for the next trip to Monduran. How's the back holding up?
    so far dave its ok so if its stay like it is at the moment i can mange it a bit better then i have before i can tell the signs of when its time to say stop and recover before i push it to far so yeah all good and yes a jack is a must that is for sure they are hard fighting fish and you need good gear to deal with them in a rockledge situation there first hit is that fast they nearlly rip the rod out of ya hands due to the fact they dont give you any tap tap bites so you know they are there its just bang and off they go straight for the structure awsome fun

Good read nipsta, fishing 4 jacks is great isn't it, there's nothing like it, gets the heart pumping .

Dids

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

Well done simon, nice lookin fish , what time did you fish too.??might get up there one nite soon..before the mondy trip....rod is in the ute might have a look off the bank this arv.....
    deano..

Quote Originally Posted by DEANO68 View Post
    Well done simon, nice lookin fish , what time did you fish too.??might get up there one nite soon..before the mondy trip....rod is in the ute might have a look off the bank this arv.....
    deano..
    fish till about 9.15 ish but yeah tough going with this weather chopping and changing few good hot days should fire things up abit yeah and i reckon the bank should start to fire now we have abit of hot weahter let me know how ya go i got to get up there again soon nut i might do one more trip not dure yet see how the week pans out then i want to rest for mondy give the back a bit of settling time plus im working on some timber lures for mondy and other damms and i got to get the right before we go so far i have one shape that swims good but i will show ya when finished

Good fish guys!!! Can I ask where you got the brag mat from? Looks a bit easier to read than the normal shimano ones.

Shane

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

I dare say its a truth mat

http://www.truthmat.com/

Well done Simon.
    Its a nice one to kick off the start of the season. Congrats mate.
    My brownie point bandit is taking as many as i accumulate at the moment, as i am off To Awoonga on Sunday and she has the knives out and looking for my scalp!!!!! Will get on them on the return!!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member DEANO68's Avatar

went for a flick with nath tonite simon couple of breif hookups, nath got busted upon hookup on one and i got one little one bout 25 cents....not worth of a report ,,so just tack it on your thred..might do a sat nite livey sesh, be in touch..
    deano..

nice sounds like nath has the bug now as well yeah staurday might be out ddue to a game of poker that might be happening but i might sneak out alone later this week will see if i have enough brownie points to allow this to happen

Ben no probs wait till will all get back from our respective trips and ill catch ya for a fish that way temps will be upa nd jack should be on it bye then

Geez you Sunshine Coast boys have got it tuff!!
    Great fish Simon, and nice little tacker Deano, whats happening with nath, is he draging the chain??