Thread: quick arvo fun session

quick arvo fun session

With the young bloke soon to be out of action ,I guessed a quick arvo sesh might be good to lift some spirits and get a few laughs but bloody hell. The brissie river bream were going off.Certainly did the trick . Pics don't tell the story but it was pretty well non stop action on HBs.Best bream went 37 cm to Garrett.WE had double hook ups and I lost a horse as it ran around another fish Garrett had hooked. I think you can see by the last pic of Garrett ,it may have been just what the doctor ordered After loosing my second lure as I tried to release a fish ,accidently nicked my leader and dropped fish with lure still in his gob Anyway changed to a different colour and scored 5 Cod straight on the next casts.Thought of Saltdoggy commenting in my last post that he hadn't caught a Cod ,well mate here's a pic of the little lure and colour.The cod could not wait to get at it.Funny I did not pull one bream on that colour tho Fantastic fun session with all fish released and heaps of laughs. love these summer river bream they are just so aggressive ,Cheers

Re: quick arvo fun session

on ya mate, lovely fish. o no you got the chubbie bug ( sorry r2s bug), ya wallet will be empty now.
    figjam :wink:

Great stuff Chief anther great sesh!
    5 cod in a row thats a great effort
    cheers Simon

sounds like u guys had a ball, and some good size bream. have u guys ever chased jack up the river before? cheers stessco

Rat king..you know Garrett did not score 1 cod fishing the same area,they just wanted that colour

Stessco..we haven't really targeted them but we certainly come across them occasionally along the rocks walls. 9 time out of 10 its zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz gone

Sounds like an awesome session mate!! well done

That boy of yours got a bit of kiwi in him chief ?
    The ultimate distraction, is fishing !!!
    Cheers for a great report ...

i think i no whats going on with the cod and that lure, look at the colour hard and it sort of looks like the purple rock crabs, i think the cod my be mistaking them for them crabs and scoffing it down befor a nother cod can get it, they dont stuff around.
    figjam :wink:

looks like lots of fun mate give garret my best wishes mate.

Mark-p....thats what happens when you play rugby,you end up with heaps of Bro mates

Nuggs... your spot on nuggs, one greedy little bugger regurged 3 small crabs exactly the same size as the lure and they were that orange colour.Good call there champ.

hey chief Good job catchin all those bream, and the five cod! Mustive been a cracker of a session! cheers for the heads up on the lures! Are they an eco gear lure? Or just a small deep diver?? I'll have to go scour the brissie river some time soon! But first a trip to tackle world...love that place...so much to choose from!

Saltdoggy... River to sea baby cranks.Brilliant river lure for bream,squire ,flathead and of course Cod even had threadies take them.The best thing about them is the price.Half the cost of the A brands but in my opinon just as good.Never had a bad swimmer out of the box ,Great value!

good on ya mate. The young fella and I are going to the river in the morning. Think I might throw the fly rod in.
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

HI Dave ,I going to do the same.Will see you on the water,and also find out how Monduran and the trip to NZ went.Cheers

Thanks chief! i'll have a look asap! Didn't take the boat out last week so I'm keen as mustard to get out sometime this coming week/weekend, i'll let you know how i go! One more question and i'll leave you alone haha, do you fish your hard bodies like a plastic??? I've got hard bodies, but i've never really decided on a good technique when retrieving?