• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Spaniard_King
    Ausfish Addict

• Mar 2003

Re: shimano gear

Well I just picked up a Shimano Stella 10,000FA for $699.00 Should be in my hands on Monday.

Retired Honda Master Tech

Comment

• samson
      Ausfish Gold Member

• Nov 2006

If shimano had a 90% off sale i still wouldn't bother the reels are garbage. I've given up fixing them they just sit in a bag in bits now bloody rubbish.

Comment

• breamnut

• Apr 2007

Originally posted by Spaniard_King View Post
        Well I just picked up a Shimano Stella 10,000FA for $699.00 Should be in my hands on Monday.
        great buy garry, awsome reel, what are u going to try chrisen it on?/
        u should see the new stella's

Comment

• GPB
          Ausfish Gold Member

• Jan 2007

Originally posted by samson View Post
          If shimano had a 90% off sale i still wouldn't bother the reels are garbage. I've given up fixing them they just sit in a bag in bits now bloody rubbish.
          Maybe it's who's doin the fixin
          Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit

Comment

• sleepygreg
            Ausfish Addict

• Mar 2006

I have said this before in another post.......In my opinion as a former reel fixer upper ( I owned a tackle shop specialising in sport and game fishing gear), when you compare equivalents in Daiwa and Shimano.....the Daiwa's appear to have greater longevity before parts wear out. Mind you - thats not to say that Shimano are crap.....proper servicing and care will see much longer life out of both brands....and both these brands leave most of the competition for dead when comparing like models. They are also the companies that pour most of the money into R & D, so the rest can copy!

Comment

• Spaniard_King
              Ausfish Addict

• Mar 2003

Originally posted by breamnut View Post
              great buy garry, awsome reel, what are u going to try chrisen it on?/
              u should see the new stella's
              \whilst we are mid season I recon a kingy or AJ would be a good start... maybe a fish with plenty of red in it if I get a chance

Retired Honda Master Tech

Comment

• tassie

• Mar 2007

Originally posted by samson View Post

Were they past there 10 year warranty mate, i have a Tiagra, Trynos, TLD 25, TLD 15, 2 6500 baitrunners, 4500 baitrunner, 3500 baitrunner, Spheros, and other shimano reels all mated to Shimano rods and have never had a problem yet. and many times they have been put under load that they are probably not rated to. You must be just hard on gear mate......................

Comment

• kevvie

• Jun 2008

Horses for courses i reckon...

I dont reckon Shimano are as good as Daiwa but they are streets ahead of any other tackle manufacturers...

I also have an issue with wear and tear on shiamno too. Mainly the bearings.
                  For fishing reports, fishing info, new techniques and fishing news read;
                  Savvy Fishing Blog

Comment

• NAGG
                    Ausfish Addict

• Oct 2006

Originally posted by Outsider1 View Post
                    Yes they did, during August and September Shimano had a major sale on and prices were at decade lows. You can still buy some of them at those prices on Ebay , but you need to be very quick.

Dave ..... I hate being cynical , but Shimano have that sale on yearly! ....... Yes there were some good buys available! ....... but most stuff did not reflect a 35% improvement in the OZ

Comment

• breamnut

• Apr 2007

Originally posted by Spaniard_King View Post
                      \whilst we are mid season I recon a kingy or AJ would be a good start... maybe a fish with plenty of red in it if I get a chance
                      mad, though u dont give the poor snaps a chance on that!
                      also lext not turn this into yet anotjher shimano vs daiwa debate

Comment

• Outsider1
                        • Dec 2007

Originally posted by NAGG View Post
                        Dave ..... I hate being cynical , but Shimano have that sale on yearly! ....... Yes there were some good buys available! ....... but most stuff did not reflect a 35% improvement in the OZ

Be as cynical as you like Chris, I am not here to defend Shimano, they can do that themselves. I simply answered your question.

Not being much of a cynic myself, just a tight ass!, I treated myself to a heap of gear I wanted at prices we are unlikely to see again in the foreseeable future.

So how much did Daiwa discount their gear this year??

Comment

• oldboot
                          Ausfish Addict

• Sep 2007

I think now is the time to be looking for tackle bargins.

all the shops and wholesalers will be trying to get rid of old stock and to generate both cash flow & hard cash.

just look arround there has been a screaming "t" curve special at the place with no name for a while now....some of the tackle stores will be stocking up with the clearance specials.

as far as the wholesalers and retailers are concerned.. if their landed cost goes up 30%...they realy have no option..... there isnt a heap of margin in the fishing market these days.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Comment

• reidy
                            Ausfish Gold Member

• Jun 2007

yep about a 2-3 week window maybe to buy cheap
                            Reidy

Comment

Working...
                            X