Thread: Awoonga Arvo Fires UP - 15-10-2008

Awoonga Arvo Fires UP - 15-10-2008

Well up this morning early to head into Gladstone for a medical for an Apprenticeship only to find myself on the other end of a offer from NRG to start next year for an Electrical Apprenticeship. I was pumped and dad was proud so we decided to hit the dam to celebrate. On the Water t 2:30 only to find half the carpark full already. (full moon and Awoongas like Queen Street). Well heading up towards dingo and i glimce around the Lake and decided to give a few new areas a crack. Stopped the boat about 500m from the bank to let the wind blows us in towards the fishing area. First cast dad gets a hit. The wind blow us towards the bay further to find a nice shollow weed bed and out comes the frog. Twitch Twitch this goes one for bout 30 mins to find no surface action. Electriced back to were dad got the first hit and anchored 30m on the windward side of the weed bed. While i was tying off the anchor dad get straight into it. "Oh Im on" i look around and dad has hooked up. After a grooling fight and in comes a nice 103cm Barra. Few photos and fish bac in the water. About 5 casts later Dad had another hit but a miss strike. A quite spell hit but we new the fish were around so we decided to sit it out and wait for the chew time. While the barra decided turn off for a while we were talking bout the Stance for Barra fishing. So after a few trialed stances we come up with the "ONE". Well now with the stance all ready to rubble ( Thanx to "JM and Lyndon for ther post") the barra had turned back on. While i was trailing new things and lures dad ( MR PERSISTANT) had the 130mm Black and Gold slick rig with a slow retreive had hooked up. After another good fight dad landed a nice 101cm model. Well i was a little ticked off and deceded to go bak to the same lure a retrieve. I was changing my lure and Dads on again ( 3-0 ) i was shattered well i was getting a flogging and an ear full and dad lands a nice 92cm barra. Well it was time to even up the score. Well i had kicked dad off the front deck and got serious. Had the stance ready and i was "ON" Couple jumps and then he decided to head for the sticks. I had my thumb on the spool and was giving it to him but he had me and snap off he gets with a few leaps of relief. Well it was still ( 3-0 ) and he was getting cocky. So i put another plastic on and was on a mission to catch up. Couple casts later and I was on. After a few little jumps a nice 87cm model hits the deck. WOW ( 3-1 ) i was on the comebak. Bak in the water and the S- Factor was out. 2nd cast later i was on again and another nice 83cm barra. Well i was catching up. Dad was a little nervous. The fishing went quite and we moved spots for the last 30mins fishing. Into another bay bout 200m up and anchor was out. First cast i hada hit ( I was not in the correct stance and was not concetrating = No hook up) well i nearly throw my rod overboard as DAD VS SON competition was heating up. Dad still had a 130mm slick rig on as i secretly changed to the 110mm. HE was pulling weed after weed as i was just comeing across the top. Well 10 mins was on the clock and Dad was still 1 up. I was in the middle of my retrieve and i was un concentrated and Rod tip positioning and foot stance was all up the creek and i missed the last chance to equalise. Well after a great arvo we ended up with 5 landed, 1 lost and 3 miss hits was a good 3hr session. Pulled out at 5:40 and headed for home while lost count of number boats at the ramp. Was a great day catching 5 barra and picking up an Apprenticeship and life is about to start.

Cheers Plastic_Magic

Re: Awoonga Arvo Fires UP - 15-10-2008

NICE FISH im wanting to get up there so MUCH..THANKS FOR SHOWING..cheers bdowdy..brett congrats on the apprenticeship

Congrats on getting the appreticeship Loc. Good to see the old boy still got it.
    Cheers Lucas

PM,

Man what a day for you hey. Great stuff and thanks for sharing both your "wins". Great to hear you are thinking about how you are fishing, as all the small factors add up to assist in greater hook up ratio.

Good on ya "apprentice"

Cheers Guys .

Lucus- Thanx mate have work especially hard this year to get good marks to jag a job oppurtunitly like this. Im stoked. Yeh Dad always seems to out me but he has the boat so im happy.

Cheers PM

Nice session PM, Congrats on the apprenticeship. A word of warning BEWARE THE SLIPPERY LOOB AND THE MEGGER . Ben

Good fishing plastic....i love those un planned trips, when everything comes together!!

Congrats on your apprenticship.....sparky eh....you'll never look back.

Cheers Nomad

Nice work there PM ...... A top read with some thoughtful information.
    Good to see some fishing rivalry on the the boat ........ but you need to have a rule that no one fishes till the boat is tied off & settled ..... My old mate is notorious for it ( & often ends up with a fish too)

Anyway congrats on the apprenticeship & look forward to your future reports.

Great hat trick. The job, the fish and a great afternoon out with your dad. Well done on all accounts.

Thanks mate nice read.
    Great effort with the apprenticeship, start to a prosperous career i hope.
    UP at Awoonga in 10 days now, cant wait, hope the action is similar to what you had. Did you use standard weights on the jig heads, or trim them down??
    Congrats once again

Thanx Guys for the replyes.

eotbmg- The plastics had there normal jig head in them with the normal weight. As dad used the 130mm all day and it proved to hook the larger fish. But the 110mm was more prctical to retrieve over the weed bed. Good luck and maybe we will see you out ther. We have a Bluey Poly with a 60 Tohatsu on it.

Cheers PM

Lach... Good one mate And in daylight too ! To have that result when we have a fishery that gets harder by the day this time of the year is a top effort... Great effort with the apprenticeship too Cheers Trevor ps {So when you going to take me fishing } ????

HAHA Hey trev. Yeh mate it was a good arvo perstitance paid off. Yeh thanx its been alot hard work to get this apprenticeship and well worth it. Mate haha any time i would pay to take u out and learn all the tricks off the trade. But i takes time to master Awoonga and hopefully one day i can be looked up to aas ur are to many.

Cheers PM

P.S. What colour is your skeeter?

Fantastic Plastic.......both on the fish and the start of your new career. Well done mate.

Might see you up there in a couple of days.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Good fishing mate, thanks for the report, and congrats on the sparky apprenticeship as well

brian