Thread: Sunday: how to fish it?

Re: Sunday: how to fish it?

A couple of kingies will sort the boys out!

You may find a few of them up towards Hutchies.

Good luck

I'd try a couple of Gold rapala's around the 50mtr mark from the cape to Hutchies Tim. 7/8 knots.

If i can get my gunnel back on by sunday i might even give it a try myself. Will give you a call on 21 if i'm out.

Cheers Scott

Timi have a look at the thread by Cap rednut in offshore. Lure visable.

Cheers Scott

i dont no how big ya boat is or if ya have a lecky but going by what iv seen on google earth. the ruby bay cannals should hold heaps and heaps of bream under all them jettys( may be jack too). id use a gulp shrimp my self but if ya motor up the the jettys verry quietly and cast a unweighted prawn or pice of pilly or a live crab, as close to the jetty (even hitting the wash boards) and let ya bait slowly drift down and wait for a twitch or ya line to start moving, you guys will clean up. its dead eazy and will keep ya young cruw verry entatained for a wile at least. if you dont get a fish after say 30second after casting at a jetty move to the next one. dont stay in the one spot, just keep moveing and you will find them.
    figjam :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post
    i dont no how big ya boat is or if ya have a lecky but going by what iv seen on google earth. the ruby bay cannals should hold heaps and heaps of bream under all them jettys( may be jack too). id use a gulp shrimp my self but if ya motor up the the jettys verry quietly and cast a unweighted prawn or pice of pilly or a live crab, as close to the jetty (even hitting the wash boards) and let ya bait slowly drift down and wait for a twitch or ya line to start moving, you guys will clean up. its dead eazy and will keep ya young cruw verry entatained for a wile at least. if you dont get a fish after say 30second after casting at a jetty move to the next one. dont stay in the one spot, just keep moveing and you will find them.
    Hey cheers Nugg! But I think I'll stick to offshore, she's a bit of a pain to manoeuvre in those tight spots, being 23+ feet long. Ever tried to sneak up quietly with a 250 on the back? Dunno....

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

I should be out that way on Sunday, around River mouth/Mud. If you see a white Mustang 1600 tournament ( no AF stickers unfortunatly) come and say hello, would be good to meet some of you guys.

i would run wire on shotgun

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    Hey cheers Nugg! But I think I'll stick to offshore, she's a bit of a pain to manoeuvre in those tight spots, being 23+ feet long. Ever tried to sneak up quietly with a 250 on the back? Dunno....

baaahahaha sorry mate, that would look funny rapeing the cannals in that. i wish ya all the luck for you and the boys. my your lines be tight with snaps and cobes.
    figjam :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post
    baaahahaha sorry mate, that would look funny rapeing the cannals in that. i wish ya all the luck for you and the boys. my your lines be tight with snaps and cobes.
    Yeah it's funny. I have a Mate who's an accomplished Marlin fisho, but he reckons I should drop the tub in one of the dams for a fish - you don't have to scrub her after a dip in the fresh, he says. I reckon it'd be like stickin' the Queen Mary in a bathtub!!!

Thanks to all for advice! I'm not going to put up a big report, sorry. Suffice to say we had a cracker of a day taking in Tangas, bottom bashing then trolling around Hutchies, then down to some favoured ground south of Hendersons, and in through the bar. The Boys had a blast.

Hutchies yielded Kingies around 60 cm both bottom and trolling, we kept a few, and very tasty they were, too.

We also picked up a couple of sweep, and a Fingermark that went 38cm, as well as a heap of smaller stuff.

Kersey chundered for pretty much the whole trip, but never complained. The other Boys gave him heaps all the way, as evidenced by the photo...

A Red Emperor, too. But 39cm, so he went back. I reckon it was the same fish I saw Cheech bring up a few months back at the same spot. You know where, Cheech!

The Boys cleaned the boat and did a good job, too, and my Son, Dale, really enjoyed it. He's coming out more and more, and learning the ropes. Gotta be happy about that.