Thread: NOT so clear CRYSTAL CREEK

NOT so clear CRYSTAL CREEK

This is usually a spot with great colour water and looks just soooooooooo fishy. Arrived at 5am this morning and got some livies ready to kill some fish. It turned out to be disasterous. My cast net got badly snagged and ripped to pieces and NOT A SINGLE bite on any of the six rods for the next 3 hours. (Not even a crab)

We were trying to understand the situation. I blame the lack of fish due to the surprisingly dirty water. My mate blamed it on the full moon. Mate told me that they are dredging the Harbour and this mud goes somewhere to be dumped. I wonder if they dumped it between Toomulla and Crystal creek.

The day almost started really tragically at 4am when travelling in Currajong to pick up my mate some idiot runs the stop sign and if I hadn't swerved violently we would have both been in Townsville hospital tonight. He was either pissed or not quite awake yet.

At 8am we left Dirty creek and headed south and pulled in at Toomulla beach. Fished the mouth on the top of the tide and the start of the outgoing. Once again the waters looked murky. 1 shark and a big ray for our efforts in Toomulla.

Looks like a new cast net is what the doctor ordered and that elusive legal Jack lives another day.

Re: NOT so clear CRYSTAL CREEK

Sorry to hear your woes there Kev, don't worry mate, this wind is responsible for alot of the shitty stuff around at the moment. Better days ahead I hope.
    Fillet and Release Squad

yeah letrs hope so. Bad luck kev, we can't win them all. Hopefully the big tides this week will flush a lot of the shit out and clean everything up a bit. I'm heading out tomorrow arvo/night around the bay, hopefully I can get onto some good fish.

Good luck mate,

Your report after tomorrow will explain some of the theories floating around. Full moon tomorrow and yip murky water. Prove us all wrong mate

Hey Kev

Unlucky mate.....those are the kind of days you wished you had just stayed in bed. Chalk it down to experience and hey next time things can only get better!

what fish were ya targeting. i find when the water is to dirty to see thrugh, i use the blades like the tt switch blade and the eco vx's and snag heaps of bream on them, ya get lots of cool by catch with them too, just a thort for ya for next time. good luck cobba
    figjam :wink: