Would any of you undertake this journey...
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Would any of you undertake this journey...

Would any of you undertake this journey...

A couple of months ago i bought a Mustang 28 from a workmate who had to return to Perth,it was a great price and only 14 months old.I'm more of a fisherman but the mrs. like to cruise so we decided to buy it and it's surprised us both how suitable it's been for fishing and cruising up to Straddie etc.

When i say suitable for fishing,it has a wider beam than a Cruisecraft Outsider 685,Victory,Signature etc and there's no fishing around an outboard (hate that) has a transom door and swim platform to fish off,but no live bait well,but i lure fish anyway.

It cruises well with sleeping for 4,toilet/shower,fridge,microwave,tv/dvd.The only real issue is i believe it's underpowered at 320hp Volvo Duoprop pushing 3 tonne.I reckon you need a minimum 175hp per tonne which extrapolates out to 525hp.Wellcraft 290 Coastals are powered by twin Yammy 250's,which would be perfect power/weight.Having said that it does get up alright with the 2 of us and some gear.

I have 6 weeks off soon and we were thinking about cruising from Southport to the Whitsundays stopping overnight at Mooloolaba,Hervey Bay,Keppel Bay then onto the Whitsundays.My main concern is travelling that far with only a single engine,you really need twins for that distance but cruising the Whitsundays for 5 weeks in our own boat would be awesome.

We thought about trucking it up but it's so expensive and cruising up would be great,staying at different marina's,meeting other cruiser's along the way.

What do you guys think? Go for it or too dangerous on a single engine? It only has 57 hours on it and perfect mechanically.It has 2 VHF's,Furuno Navnet,radar.

Jack

Re: Would any of you undertake this journey...

I don't think the power is an issue..I had a 4 tonne boat with twin V6's..total 450 hp..no problems at all.
    As for that type of trip...would not have considered it in a cruiser like that...I would have gone the truck option.

A mate purchased a 7 year Riveria around that size from the Goldcoast. We cruised up to Yeppoon over 4 days with no problems. It was in winter though and conditions were perfect (could of skiied most of the way).
    Tin Can bay was a real surprise for us, very nice, everything was handy to the boatie without a car. Would recommend dropping in.

When you say 'soon' are you talking about summer time? My neck of the woods central queensland coast doesn't get a lot of really consistent reliable whether over the summer months. Between Gladstone and Mackay there is a lot of open water between sheltered anchorages and/or marinas.

Sounds like a great trip have fun.

i have thought about a trip like this too. however it is a long way with large gaps between anchorages. the wether might be great today but what is it going to be like in 6 or 7 days time? the fuel you would burn on the trip up & back would most likley cover a truck & fuel in your car to drive up. that way you would have a car up there aswell. would be a great trip but with a boat that isn't desigined to handle big seas (my sea ray isn't & they are simmler boats) could be a bit risky. just my 2 cents.
    rick.

A guy I know drove his 650 sea legend from brisbane to the whitsundays it has a single 225 honda .

Hi Jack

I too am on the GC and I've done some sailing in 43ft and bigger craft between Sydney and the Gold Coast and the Whitsundays and the Gold Coast and the way the weather can be IMHO the truck option would be a lot more appropriate for a boat such as yours. Boating in the Whitsundays is great but you don't have the optimum vessel to do the trip and have the necessary safety factor in your favour.

Flying up and joining your boat that you trucked to say MacKay and motoring up from there would be a lot safer as you have shelter from the islands eg St Bees, Scawfell all the way from there.

The other point to be mindful of is that if you have a wife who likes boating why risk putting her off using the boat with you with a near miss and or a shitty experience? I've got one in that boat and it would nicer if she were not.

Have a great trip around the Whitsundays!

What could go wrong.......................

I'd have to agree with the above, surely the amount of fuel used to motor up would be similar or more than a truck, and safety aspects have to be considered above all other things ?

By the way, very nice boat.. a mate has a 3300 mustang.. fuel guzzlers, but nice
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Mate, I say go for it. Diesels are so reliable these days. F&B had a single diesel in their 26 footer. Chances are you'll get SE winds so you'll have the seas up your tail on the way up. And if you get there and it was a bit of a hassle then you could get the boat trucked home. I don't see a prob with that journey if you plan it carefully with your routes and fuel usage.

Hi upstart

I would have thought that a VOLVO 5.7GXI DUO-PROP...320HP was a petrol?

What could go wrong.......................

the fact that you have a single engine is not a worry, the biggest problem that you need to fully research is how much fule you can carry, and the biggest distance between Ports that have a Petrol Bowser (all will have diesel), the Weather does play a small part, but it does not matter if you are off the whitsundays, off the Gold Coast, or anywhere in between as long as you know what you are doing, then the Boat will be fine, fuel costs will be a tad on the expensive side though, better off to do some maths and figure out which way is the best and safest option, I guess it all comes down to the fact, if you have to ask, don't go!!

Quote Originally Posted by The-easyrider View Post
    A guy I know drove his 650 sea legend from brisbane to the whitsundays it has a single 225 honda .

We probably know the same bloke on the Northside ;-)

yep, he had no qualms about doing it, and loved every minute of it.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Or you could give me a fuel card and I'll deliver it there (or home) for no cost.
    I've heard they're big on volume and aren't as sea kindly as some similar length hulls. Slow cruise (17 odd mph) it'd do it easy though.

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    We probably know the same bloke on the Northside ;-)

yep, he had no qualms about doing it, and loved every minute of it.

Hi Kev how are you traveling these days , still loven my new boat

Have you thought about hiring a skipper to deliver your boat,have heard you can join him on the boat,so if something nasty happens you have an experianced (hopefully)guy on board to help.

Quote Originally Posted by The-easyrider View Post
    Hi Kev how are you traveling these days , still loven my new boat
    Been crook mate with a couple of cracked ribs but better now. Glad that you're enjoying your new boat..................I'm missing my old one :-)

The new one is a beaut though..............easier for me and the kids to get into the garage and up the drive, and loads of room to fish...................even fit the granny in there :-)

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.