Another good red south of bay

Thread: Another good red south of bay

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Another good red south of bay

I shot out wed dusk for a chance of a snapper before i loose another good moon (it seems every full moon has crap weather before lately) Lumpy trip for so called 6 to 8 notts but i am used to that. Pulled up a good sweety earlier and then moved to next spot and bang of went the 12 pound leader and 10 pound braid and boy he didn't want to stop so i gave chase with the bow mount and circled him through the fight to confuse it and i think it worked. He sat there for a bit and that gave me time to lift him off the bottom but he had other ideas. After some fast runs i got some line back and lost it time and time again. Finally he came up and netted solo after a bit of waiting for him to calm down. Been a while since i passed the big boys (without straightening any hooks) and one happy family for a few meals. Cheers.

Re: Another good red south of bay

Nice snap, there hasn't been too many bigger models caught of late but hopefully we will see a few more in the coming weeks.

Cheers Chris

good snap!!
    not a bad yellow sweetie for the bay seen a few that size but its hard to get one legal in the bay.

Bloody ripper mate, well done. Been a while between drinks hey? gives me some hope I might come off my dry patch soon aswell. Great snap and very nice lipper aswell. Is that a nuc chook ? a 4 inch maybe ?

very nice fish mate.....well done

Hey DD, awesome fish mate. Any general hints on where you got these two little lovelies????

yea nice snapper there mate wat did ya catch it on??

cheers cervi

Good snapp, Nice to see someone out there and that sweetlip is a nice fish as well.Cheers

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

on ya mate, you gotta show me how ya get them suckers. top fish
    figjam :wink:

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Thanks guys it brings out the snapper boys when a big one comes out of the bay. The bay has much more fish in it than everyone thinks but they are still hard to find. I caught him on my 5 inch nuck chook on a 1 and half jig head after throwing a 3 inch prawn in (you guessed it nuck) just to see if i could bring up a larger one. You know it was the only bite of the night after the sweety. Thought i was snagged after the weight of big bugger. I pulled up gentely to unsnag and off he went. For a 2500 shimano sedona on a 2 to 4 kilo rod it was straining as he ran off. Cheers all and hope theres plenty more for all of us.

Well done dd, haven't been out in the bay for quite a while. Might have to get focused & get stuck into them that's if i can pull myself away from the lizzards, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Nice fish Dave good work long time between drinks but that was worth it!