Thread: Viability of a 12' tinny out of Airlie?

Viability of a 12' tinny out of Airlie?

For those of you up in that area, I'm looking to head up to airlie beach with a friend of mine for new years, spend the week there camping.

Would love to show her as much as I can, especially the islands/hidden bays and the like.

Is it worth my time towing the 12' tinny up to airlie to reach the islands with regards to capability of reaching daydream, north or south molle, anything closer or a bit farther afield?

Keeping in mind that down here I have little hesitation in running out to mud island from manly and the occasion to moreton, with stradbroke (north and south) and anything inbetween being a walk in the park.

I've never been to airlie or shute harbour let along boating in the area and would love to know what it's like

Re: Viability of a 12' tinny out of Airlie?

No problem at all. I went to Long Island and the Mole group in an 11 footer. Anything under 15 knots and you are fine. The outer islands (hook and Whitsunday) provide great swell protection so it is only chop you need to be concerned about. The main channel between the inner and outer islands is a little more hazardous ,but you can still get out there on the calmer days.

Also, try trolling some lures around the coastline to Cannonvale's nth. You will pick up coral trout in the areas where bommies are present and cod on the flats. As well as other species.

There are two ramps in Cannonvale and one at shute harbour. There is one at the sailing club in Airlie Beach central ,however not sure of its status with the marina development. I would suggest the shute hatbor ramp for island access and the cannonvale ramps if you want to fish inshore. I have recently moved from Airlie Beach after 15 years there.

You are in for a treat on the water with some spectacular landscapes.

Good luck and happy fishing.
    You are entitled to my opinion!
    -----------------------------------------

thanks a lot snatch, much appreciated. I imagine the NE and SE winds to be the ones to be cautious of?

Can you recommend a campground at airlie with good facilities and close to everything? (walking distance to shope, night life and the like)

There are a couple of caravan parks close to town, however they are largely home to offshore island staff and seem to have some problems with crime etc.

Airlie beach has always been poor for camping in general. The council camping ground has been closed for years.

The best caravan park is "adventure whitsunday caravan park" on the way in. There is a large pub/gaming/ counter meals place almost across shute harbor rd and the shopping centre is an easy walk. It is around 4-5 k's from the main street so if you plan on chasing some tail whilst there it is a little out of the main street action.

Alternatively, there is another one on the other side of Airlie which is also not too bad. It is called "Island gateway resort caravan park". It is around 1.5 ks walk to the main street. There is also a pub/bistro over the road and an IGA supermarket in easy walking distance.

If you chose to stay at adventure whitsunday (which I would) a cab to airlie is around $15.00 each way. There is also a bus stop at the front door of both.

There are a couple of hostel type camp grounds right in airlie but they are subject to 3.00 am noise and some theft issues. Also, they would not accomodate your boat.

Adventure whitsunday caravan park is one of the best in QLD and has a huge modern pool and all the necessities for camping. Make sure to ring to book though . I am not sure about camp fires either. You would need to check.

Shute harbor ramp is approx 10 k's from Airlie.

Hope this helps..

That area blows s/e most of the year and (usually) swings to the nth east around September. But not this year or last year due to lanina type conditions. Plan for Sth easters . The positive is that there is always somewhere you can fish from a boat under 20 knots.

There are three islands right in shute harbor with channels and reef that can produce fish. Be sure to check zoning. If you have a sounder on board, look for deep holes just off long island jetty and drift them with squid baits. Red emporer and lipper are caught there.

I should also mention Proserpine river. It fishes very well for barra and King salmon right thoughout as well as flathead nearer the mouth on the flats. It tips into Repulse Bay which is the biggest barra fishery on the east coast. I have caught some fine barra there on live mullet as well as numerous kingsalmon on fresh prawns.

So even if it blows up you will have somewhere to fish. I am not sure where you are travelling from but should highlight that it is croc country and there are numerous crocs in the river. As we are heading into the warmer months , the crocs tend to spend more time in the water so just because you don't see them does not mean they are not there. Trust me they are.

Proserpine river ramp is a 20 k journey from Cannonvale, which is where adventure whitsunday van park is.

You've been a big help snatch, anyone else got anything to add?

Hi Dave,

I've done the Whitsundays a couple of times in a 12 foot v-nose punt (quintrex explorer) with a 15hp on the back. If you are experienced out in Moreton Bay, you will find it a piece of cake. The Main Channel can get some small pressure waves on a big tide opposing the wind but it's not that bad - just don't cross it at that time. You can get out to Whitsunday, Hook, Hayman, etc no worries at all.

Don't worry if the locals freak out at the size of your boat, you've only got chop to contend with if you are crossing the main channel. In around the outer islands is just like being on the inside of Straddie/Moreton in a Southeaster/Northeaster.

By the way ...... if you are in an area where you are catching heaps of small parrotfish(tuskies) , drop one down live & then hang on Dude!!!

You can camp on a few of those islands, you just have to be self sufficient and check the QPWS website for camping & green zone info.

Why don't you try Flame tree caravan park near Shute harbour and go out of Shute. It's a shorter run to Long Island and across the channel from here.

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

also not far up the road is dingo beach that will give you close access to some more islands

Quote Originally Posted by Jackinthebox View Post
    Hi Dave,

Why don't you try Flame tree caravan park near Shute harbour and go out of Shute. It's a shorter run to Long Island and across the channel from here.

Mick.
    He said he wanted to be near the shops. Flame tree is nowhere near the shops or bottle shop. Unless of course you want to pay bs prices.