Thread: Where to fish in the Darwin area?

Question Where to fish in the Darwin area?

Hi everyone,
    As some of you may know I have moved to Darwin to care for my parents who can no longer manage some of the day to day things that life throws at them.

My question is, just where the heck do you catch a fish in the Darwin area.(ok the Palmerston area.)
    I have tried under the bridge at channel Is. and on the bridge at Elizabeth river.
    Do I fish the run in or run out? 1/2 and 1/2?

BTW I'm land based
    Aussiefool

PS. I'm not interested in catching Queenies or GT's as while they are fun to catch I would rather target something that is better on the chew

Re: Where to fish in the Darwin area?

G'Day Andrew,

I didnt have much luck with anything other than queenies or trevs to be honest. Ive just come back from a week in Darwin and my list of fishing spots compiled with the help of nugg is, Mandoran wharf, Cullen Bay, Rapid Creek, Buffalo Creek and the Eastpoint rock bar. Have a look at the spots they are prety well signposted on Google Earth. Buffalo and Rapid creek 'supposedly' hold barra most of the locals seemed to be using live baits....they werent catching anything either which made me feel a little better. I didnt get to fish Mandoran Wharf it is suppose to be reasonable. Easiest way to get over is to catch a ferry over from the city.

Goodluck Mark

Thanks mate, I'll just have to keep trying

yer mandora is the place to be. plan a night over there and stay at the hotel and drink grog at the pub all night hehe then be at the wharf befor sun up. take a cast net or bait jig and get some herring befor the suns up(there should be hundreds around the pilongs) and get ya liveys out on a 1\0-4\0 hook (i just used wasabi and big red and black majic hooks) use a 1/2 or ounce ball, sinker running on a good 20lb-40lb leader. i no ya not after the queenfish but the place is full of them and this will make up most of ya catch there. i fish right on the edge of the broken shelf bit and between the the first to pilongs at the start of the long strait, thers a big sign there, you pick up lots of different stuff there like cod and the occasionally get red empra and coral trout but i bet the gt's give ya a hard time there too. you get macks and Lt's of the end useing herring of live squid(ya get squid there at night) under a balloon. early morn and late arvo are the big bight times. old fort hill if its still there holds jew and the odd barra and golden trev. duck ponds for barra. and larrakeya rock walls for anything and every think. pm me if ya still stuck and i will give ya some more spots to try, o yer jacks in rappid creek. i use to fish that elisabeth bridge and channal island bridge but only would get gt's and queenfish of that reef drop off there at cannal island with slugs and poppers and livies. and barra and pikey bream off elisabeth. there is a good spot just down the road from palmaston but i cant remember what is called but il give that one to ya too when i remember
    figjam :wink:

Thanks mate