Thread: Iluka Paradise

Iluka Paradise

Just back from a week at Iluka, just love that place. Camped right on the river but being so close to the water it got a bit windy at night, so what i say we were ok. Smashed the Flattys in the river. Tally for the week was 74 Flathead, 1 Bream & 6 Taylor. There was 9 of us together camping so kept enough for 3 feeds & was shit hot. Flattys wern't big around 50cm's but the action was hot. Learning the Clarence pretty well with the help from the staff at Dizzys tackle shop at Iluka. Big River Bait & Tackle at Maclean is an amazing shop if you get the chance to pop in for a visit. I have never seen a shop with so much stuff for us tackle nut's. Anyhow going back at chrissy for another week cant wait, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Re: Iluka Paradise

I have been told how good it is down there by heaps of people now and still have not gone down there yet. Will have to make it down there soon. Good feed and great camping so close to the water were the action is. Saw your boat in boat yard and wish i had the bucks to buy (nice boat) Cheers.

Is a very nice spot for a fishing holiday, dont forget to check out the old fish photos at the pub, and when you have holidayed at iluka venture down to south west rocks, very beautifull.

Those size flattys are prime tucker. Thats great country down there. I have been doing a week each July holidays recently and can't wait to get back. Bait or plackys for the lizards.
    Noticed the boat as well. What are you in now?

Sounds like a nice break Peter, I saw a recent fishing show on TV where they zipped outside, not 2K offshore and into BIG fish... It gives me a hankering to go down there again myself when I see you can get a feed inside as well. Beautiful place when there's not a low presure system blowing its ar# off and fresh water kills everything with finns. That's my last memory of being down there in January. Amazing bounce back from only a short while ago hey?

Placcies and bait? No boat?

Good haul mate! Just gave me some motivation to put the boat in this arvo. Alot of the flattys are starting to congregate on the walls recently. Heard of some mammoth fish being taken on livebaits last week, going between 91-96cm.
    Did you hit the northern side of the river or the yamba side?

Growing up in Lismore I fished a lot of these places as a kid. Iluka is special as is South West Rocks as mentioned; we had Xmas hols for 15yrs in the same holiday letting ever year at SWR and for 2 weeks we fished every day and had a ball. I recommend any of those places for a family get away.

some nice lizards there looks like the big red boat needs 2 see the mid wall again OH YER

Horse & Scalem, all caught on my own jigheads & 3inch Mr Twister plastics from Ebay @ $8.00 for 50. I took my 435 Hornet with me cant go boatless. Hope to have my Southwind gone by the next trip & mabee have a new 489 Barra Pro, Peter.
    mattooty, i fished in North Arm & along the long bank near Harwood Island about 10km up river, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"