Thread: Fraser Week

Fraser Week

Been at fraser the last week. Will keep it pretty simple.
    First few days fish were pretty thick but some quality tailor falling to a 2 hook rig, and a slab of tailor. Biggest was around 80 to the fork, so a few new pb's but still not the magic metre. Fished before sun up till around 8 each morning. They would shut down as the sun came up but a swap to heavy slugs that could get out over the sand bank got them back on the chew.
    Anyway when the rocks opened the wind conveniently picked up, however wednesday morning, managed quite a few good sized fish on raiders and poppers off waddy. Finally thursday and friday hit indian head both mornings. Thursday between 5 of us we guessed we pulled between 4 and 500 fish. Sounds pretty unbelievable but they were on every cast for about 6 hours straight. Tailors and heavier raiders did the job. Managed we guessed over 150 myself so sore arms. A few bigger fish in the mix but mainly 40-50cm fish. Friday was much the same. Not quite as thick but bigger fish. Dropped a few monsters and nailed a few from 70-80cm. Great fun but scary stuff on the rocks and with a slug in their gob.
    Only kept a few when needed for a feed. probably 30 for the whole week between 10 of us. God they are nice to eat fresh. Used a single 7/0 on the back to minimise damage to the fish and the small ones still had not trouble getting that down.

Re: Fraser Week

Thanks for the report jackash, heading up in 2 weeks so hope there is still some bigguns about, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Yeah no worries mate. Get some slabs of tailor out at night. The biggies can;t resist

Nice fish jack, well done.80cm is a ripper. No photos, or is that it in your avatar? If youve got a pic, you should add it to the tailor thread in Saltwater Photos.

Nice report Ash.....sounds like a good trip. I look forward to hearing all the (exaggerated) stories from Kris next im up north. You guys only managed about 600 more tailor than we got at Moreton in July!!!!

Jerry

Haha thanks jerry. Yeah kris was getting pretty excited a few times. broken rods, fair few cuts and grazes from running around on the rocks.... probably doesnt surprise you.
    Gogecko, didnt get pics of the biggest fish unfortuantely. haha jsut wanted to get them back in the water nice and quick. got a few pics of some around 75 but might be a while before i get the photos

Ash (and others)

this link might be of interest.

http://publisher.onepixel.com.au/INF/document_detail.asp?serviceid=4&documentsetid=5&do cumentid=39

there are tips for other species also on this website.

regards.

Jono.

This breaks my heart.....this year is the first for the last 5 that the boys week isn't on and you guessed it - fish are on, weed isn't, and here I am at home. Bugger. Good on you Ash anyway. I live on vicariously through you!

Seamus

Hey mate
    Congrats on a great trip. Also refreshing to see after the years of massive fish kills, you caught over 500 fish and kept only what you needed, Thanks again, it is pretty easy to smash them to oblivion, good to hear you chucked the ones back you didnt need, and ate them fresh

ditto above, well done for putting them back, I can't rate defrosted tailor after eating fresh fillets, so send back what you can't eat fresh i say, then bigger and better ones for the ones you wanna keep every year thereafter.

I'll drink to this post.

I am in the same boat as Seamus, for the last 6 years we have been heading to Fraser and putting up with huge floatillas of smelly decomposing weed which in turn made the fishing difficult (still good but not exceptional) and this year we did not go and look what happens....no weed and sessions that dreams are made of.

Thanks for your report Ash.

Next year I'll be back

Kev

Cheers guys,
    Yeah they keep bloody terribly. Catch em early eat them that day and then if you need more go knock some more off that arvo. no point bringing home more than a couple. the bag limits are pretty ridiculous still despite the new changes. but oh well i guess its better than nothing. hopefully in future years there be more biggies swimming around.

It's amazing that you still meet a few people up at fraser that think the bag limits are ridiculous...ridiculously low that is! (obvsiously not you guys!) I'm not sure how many fish they actually want to be able to keep, but 30 per person would seem like more than enough in any reasonable recreational fishing person's book...

(note: a reasonable person does not even have to be someone who's passed the "reasonable person's test"...)

Great to see a weed-free Fraser and lots of greenbacks.

your a champion

Do you think there is a chance of weed moving in on Fraser later? I'm heading up the 24oct.

Mitch