Thread: Kayak Surface Bass

Kayak Surface Bass

Was up at 3:30 this morning to go for a paddle and a flick in some new territory. Yak in the water by 4:30 , a quick cast from the launchsite resulted in a big missed hit on the popper.
    Headed upstrem and found an abundance of very fishy looking snags but wasn't getting much interest.
    Cast at a snag and the little popper landed over a partially submerged branch, Gave it a tweak anyway and you guessed it got hammered. fought the solid bass over the top of the branch (which pulled the yak ontop of it) but it all held and i landed my first for the morning going about 46.
    2 casts later at the same snag and the rebel got clobbered again this time about40.
    Paddled on for a while till the creek got very skinny and lobbed a cast into the shallow stuff BANG instant hookup to another nice bass about44.Paddled back downstrem with no more interest untill i got to my starting point again where i changed lures to a minnow and tweaked it slowly back ,got a very solid hit and the line screamed towards a tree and snap. Might have to up the ante from 4lb next time.
    Great session in some new country with the mist still rising off the water.
    Sorry bout the crappy pics

Re: Kayak Surface Bass

Good size bass Blooey and you were rewarded with your early start. Early sessions with the mist are quite memorable experience. Those Rebel poppers are quite a good lure arn't they. Were you in the GoldCoast region or not? That 4lb might be a bit light for what could be lurking in those snags. I have since upgraded one of my bass rods to 10lb very fine diameter and it doesnt seem to have effected the strikes much at all. - cheers Richard

Ta richard, Yep between brissy and the goldy mate. The mist rising on the water you are paddling through makes it all seem a bit surreal until an agro bass smashes the daylights out of your'e lure. And your'e right 4lb is well and truly undergunned for this style of fishing. Lucky to land any of them really. Ben

blooey thats awesome stuff mate,virgin water and u catch some crackers. Where did u say u got them? Hehe
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Good size Bass Ben.

Good stuff.....You need fish when you get up at those hours.

TA guys, Geoff you cheeky bugger. Pete i agree .I dont have a drama with getting up that early to go fishing, but ask me to get up at that time to work and i struggle. I reckon the scenery is the bonus when fishing , I'm there to catch fish. Ben

Geeez mate...3:30am, thats dairy farmers hours. Well worth the effort though.
    How smooth is the surface of the water in those shots. It would have been great watching them plow a lure on top of that glass.