Thread: Corroboree Trip

Corroboree Trip

Hey guys thought I would post up a report from last weekend. I had my dad up from the Gold Coast so the pressure was on to put him onto hi first barra. The plan was made that we would chase some barra and toga using soft plastics around the lillies and shallow weedbeds and do a little bit of trolling throughout the day. My mate I usually go out with got called away on work commitments so we booked a hire boat located on the billabong. We got in and started fishing on friday arvo about lunchtime after having got settled at the Corroborre park Tavern, within about 10 mins dad was onto his first barra well what a start I thought the pressure was off. I then hooked up to a nice barra in the shallows, which took some real convincing to come out of those lillies. We then went through a period we dropped a few fish and got busted up in the shallows. I guess that is the problem fishing weedless in tight country i reckon on some days the landing rate is probably one in five. All this didn't seem to worry the old man who was having a ball watching barra smash his soft plastic in the shallows only to have to lure fly back at him.

We got onto a couple of smallish barra later in the arvo and also caught a few tarpon and a huge long tom of about a metre. Saturday was a little bit quieter but we still managed a couple of barra first up in the morning after about 11 am though things went very quiet. We stuck it out in the heat and right on sundown were rewarded wqith a couple of very nice toga, which made it a good day in the end. Sunday we managed a few tarpon and some odds and ends including a few dreaded catmundi's we lost a couple of nice fish fiirst up, which I think put the fish off to our detriment. Overall we had a great weekend and Dad was pleased as punch.

Francis

Re: Corroboree Trip

Good report Francis. Nice photos and looks like you turned it on for ya Dad. Well done - can't complain about that session. Looks like he'll be back for sure now. Cheers, Darren.

good to hear a report from up there Francis and a nice mixed bag of fish. Great looking Toga there. I sure bet your dad will be planning another visit.

Hi Francis great report mate keep them coming.

Putting your dad on to fish is a great gift mate well done. Tarpon, Toga, Barra and a huge long Tom mate that's a good day in anyones language.

All the best on future trips.
    Cheers Lyndon.