Thread: RC@Monduran-sept 24-27th

RC@Monduran-sept 24-27th

After a stop and Foxies to finally meet the well known couple, we arrived at Monduran around 3.30pm Wednesday to be greeted with a strong SE breeze after a week of calm weather and good fishing. I had lined up Rob form the park for a guide and by 4.30 we were fishing with him.

This was a father and son camp for 5 dads and I was really hoping for my 11 year old Josh to experience a barra at the end of his rod and maybe spur a interest in fishing that isn’t really there.
    Rob took us to a productive spot in B that had been producing the goods for the last few weeks.
    He certainly taught me the finer art of using slickrigs and after about a hour of gentle taps I am onto a nice barra. I pass my rod to Josh who can’t believe the weight and pulling power and the fish runs and then goes under the anchor rope. I grab the rod off him and feed it under the rope while keeping tension on and pass it back to him. He says” no dad it’s to hard” and I stand behind him and give him some help. A couple of flashes and a jump and then the barra does a deep dive near the boat and snap the braid is cut – This was to be the first of many high points and disappointments over our 2 full days and a evening and morning.

Back to the house boat now moored at white rock to meet the rest of the kids and fellows. Up at 4am and I casting from my boat next to the house boat and 5th cast I am on. Same spot and same lure as the trip some 5 months ago. One jump and its off. A few more casts and I am on again to an even better fish and a good jump and couple of runs and I am feeling confident. One more big run after getting it near the boat and then slack line – the lure has pulled free. I cant believe it, this is just like what happened last time again.

From then on it was no fish to be seen or felt. I spent hours casting at the spot in B and the bays around it that resembled the pictures and hints given during the muster reports. The guys on the boat had been up there for a full day longer than me and over the whole period no barra were landed by any of us. The kids couldn’t even get catfish off the house boat with bait. Maybe it was the weather change or what I don’t know but no fish were landed over the next couple of days in any of Robs other charters either.

Weather changed again back to good conditions the morning we left. Fished from 4am until heading back at 8am with all of us trolling or casting without a single hit. It was beautiful watching the fog role in that morning and very eerie in the trees with the fog. Great spending the time with our boys but sad that again it was a big zero from Monduran. Josh never got the fishing bug and begged me not to a take him to Awoonga for the Saturday and part sunday as I had hoped but we had a great bonding time together and some good memories.Also happy to at least hook up on a few fish and get the adrenalin pumping.

This barra fishing can be hard. Especially disappointing with all the monies that get spent preparing for a trip ( e.g brand new Yamaha efi) and the anticipation of what could happen and how long until the next trip if it doesn’t happen. I have all the good gear but really don’t think I know how to use it properly yet and I certainly don’t have much luck in finding active fish. Over time I will learn but it can sure be a frustrating yet beautiful experience. You local guys are very fortunate to have these great dams and fish down the road. – cheers Richard

Re: RC@Monduran-sept 24-27th

Richard, dont be too disappointed,take what you can from the frip and plan another.Its hard when you have to lock in a date and go cause you are at the mercy of the weather.Im fortunate i only live an hour or so away and generally pick and choose my weather. I dont like south easters,i know a lot of the better anglers catch fish in them but i struggle to do it consistently.stick with it, it is rewarding....

G'day richard, I've only had 3 trips to mondy. 1st was cracker 2nd and 3rd were abismal. Planing my 4th right now. Ben

First time to Monduran for me I spent 3 whole days casting my arms off for a big fat doughnut.

The second was more successfull.....But its a place where a zero for the day is always a big possibility.

Yeh Chewy I will learn from each trip. I had already considered not planning any more trips and just go up when the conditions are good. As you said alot of the guides and experienced anglers can pull fish regularly. Sites like this are great with a lot of people keen to help and encourage.

Stick with it Richard ...... Just think , it could have easily been 3 or 4 landed with a smidge of luck! - much better than not getting any hits ....... Next time , it just might turn it on for you

Hi Richard,

I went up this weekend and got a big fat donut too. It can be a soul sucking thing chasing these fish, although I highly recommend it as whilst some trips are uphill all the way, sometimes it clicks into place and it's the best.

I almost didn't go up because of the sou' easter however despite getting a donut I'll do it again as like you said every trip is a learning experience.

Better luck next time, and I'm sure it will all pay off for you. After all the best things in life are those we have to strive for!

Richard ....Sent you a pm....

Mate the last 2 trips for us have come up with nothing but slight grabs and touches. But when you here the guides and the regulars have had zip trips too you don't feel as bad.

Know exactly how you feel Richard but keep at it, your luck will change.

Try and keep Josh involved. My son caught the barra bug early and now, at 16, I can't keep him away. Our time on the water is golden, even if we don't get a single barra......

Richard.

Were you on the housboat Tues and Wed (I think Wed I saw it up there)??? if so, those days were a bit tough on the water for me too. 1 fish wed arvo.

Stick with it mate, as you said,, if you have to chance to get up when conditions are right thats the way to go....in saying that, some of the 'perfect' days havent been producing many fish either..cracking the daily pattern hasn't been as easy this year....we have been spoilt previously.

Keep the young fella as interested in fishing as you can mate! Might cost you a fortune in lures and gear though

cheers steve

Pics look great mate, spewin about losing a few, still would have been great to get away from the rat race on the coast hey? Give the young fella some time, he might come around.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Thanks for the report Richard....at least you got to hook onto a few. Any trip away to a place like that is worthwhile. fish or not. Just getting out there with the boy would have been great.
    I'm having a hard time getting Caleb out to North Pine, because there's no barra there. He turns his nose up to bass. He's dead keen on hitting the lakes up north though.
    Love the second photo mate. Hauntingly beautiful...sure would make a good background for a barra painting.

Michael.

Hey Richard, Keep at it, learn from it. I dont want to sound too Cryptic but there are lessons in every result, good or bad. Some of these things didn't fall into place for me until I'd had a couple of Donut trips....and sometimes your just unlucky....like the time Kim Spanked me 4- nil while trolling almost the same lures behind the boat.....I was beginning to think it was just me, but some times everyone has one of those trips.
    Cheers Roo.

It can be a place of such high's and low's. That's what keeps us come back trip after trip. At least you had a hook up or two!! Hope you can keep your little buddy keen.
    Better luck next trip.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'