Thread: Not a bad day for it !!!

Not a bad day for it !!!

I set the alarm nice and early, I had to be home in time to mow the lawn, make guacomole and get the beer on ice for a little lunchtime get together.
    Wading into the water I started with a spinnerbait and tossed it into the thick tangles of underwater weeds. It took a while for the first yella to start bouncing on the end of my line.
    Next up I tried to find some bass, started with some heavy lures tossed out a fair way to find them. Nothing out wide so it's on with a slider hooked onto a beetlespin to hook another yella in close. A beautifully conditioned fish that had its spiny fins aimed at me the whole time it was out of the water. I had this one called for a bass for a few seconds until I felt it powering off hard but slow.
    The slider beetlespin combo also woke up a bass of about 43cm.
    Another was dropped after me stuffing up my knot. I retied a loop knot to the beetlespin for some extra action but I forgot to lubricate it, I considered redoing it...wish I did now.
    I'm guessing it was a good bass that popped the line after two fast runs. Picture me slapping my forehead.
    The weather was beautiful with just a gentle breeze blowing across the water.
    A nice way to kill a Sunday...the guacamole was good and the beer was even better.

Re: Not a bad day for it !!!

Great report mate! Love that pic of the engulfed slider!
    cheers barra

some great looking fish there mate,well done
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

LGM
    some great pics of some lovely fish! Your dad would be licking his chops over those yellas! bet he cant work out why you would throw them back. I just told my dad about the barras last week and he really lost it when I told him we released the whole 12 of them. Guess they grew up in the Fish Depression..not!
    definitely will be out there with you later after my trip OS.
    Barry
    " Fishing is not a hobby, a Hobby is something I do in my spare time! "

Sounds like a good session Michael and a great way to start your day. Nice to also get a mixed bag of fish on different lures. Have only ever caught one yellow myself at at Somerset. - cheers Richard

Quote Originally Posted by Barraboy7 View Post
    LGM
    some great pics of some lovely fish! Your dad would be licking his chops over those yellas! bet he cant work out why you would throw them back. I just told my dad about the barras last week and he really lost it when I told him we released the whole 12 of them. Guess they grew up in the Fish Depression..not!
    definitely will be out there with you later after my trip OS.
    Barry
    Mate, I've taken the old man out there a few times...when he caught his first bass he looked at me, looked at the bass, looked at me, looked at the bass. He knows my stance on keeping these fish...it went back in. And boy did he grumble to Mum when we got home. Doesn't bother me if other people take them but it's not for me. I keep the occasional yella if he's visiting, but only very occasionally. He thinks I'm nuts for not eating them...I still haven't tasted a bass and have no desire to do so. They're supposed to taste really good, but I think catching them time and time again is also really good.
    He's told me that when I finally meet up with Grandpa again I'll probably get good a kick in the pants.
    Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    Sounds like a good session Michael and a great way to start your day. Nice to also get a mixed bag of fish on different lures. Have only ever caught one yellow myself at at Somerset. - cheers Richard
    Pretty easy to get them at North Pine Richard because they hang around the edges and we get them a few metres from bank. They love all the old submerged shrubs in the water. easy pickin's mate.

LGM, Great report mate and cool photos, the old bettle spin and slider used to account for many bass at Cressy and Somerset in the days for me. What a way to spend a sunday

AM -catching bass and yellas
    PM- Beer and guacomoli!!

tough life mate .

cheers Steve

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    LGM, Great report mate and cool photos, the old bettle spin and slider used to account for many bass at Cressy and Somerset in the days for me. What a way to spend a sunday

AM -catching bass and yellas
    PM- Beer and guacomoli!!

tough life mate .

cheers Steve
    Had to plan that day very carefully....if the lawn wasn't done, and if I still smelled like bass by the time our friends showed up, the boss would make my life very tough !!!

Good work LGM.

Did that clip in the last photo open up during the fight or what??

Cheers, Jeff.

Good little read LGM ....... Yep nice way to knock off a Sunday

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Good work LGM.

Did that clip in the last photo open up during the fight or what??

Cheers, Jeff.
    yep... I noticed it a few casts later. A 43cm bass isn't a particularly big fish but they've sure got some grunt to twist those beetlespin frames. It's usually the yellas that do the damage. They flop around on the brag mat and bend trebles and spinnerbait wires.
    Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Good little read LGM ....... Yep nice way to knock off a Sunday

Best way I can think of mate

Good fish there mate, this may sound stupid and easy to explain, but how do yu get to the water, the grass s so thick and you literally have to cut and barge your waythrough it, do you just barge through it? or do you have a little trail you follow? i no theres a trail (that is now covered is grass) over at forgans on the left side, is this one of the trails?

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

G'Day Michael,

Great report mate coupled with a good result and to top it off it sounds like you had a good little lunch, top stuff mate.

You've realy got that lake sorted haven't you, will have to get some tips off you.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
    Good fish there mate, this may sound stupid and easy to explain, but how do yu get to the water, the grass s so thick and you literally have to cut and barge your waythrough it, do you just barge through it? or do you have a little trail you follow? i no theres a trail (that is now covered is grass) over at forgans on the left side, is this one of the trails?

Cam
    There's little trails everywhere mate...just a little hard to find. I actually use different types of trees to find my bearings.
    I'll give you a hint. Off the walking trail..over the fallen logs...passed the pretty pine...watch out for the brown snake.....find the small grove of trees close to the water and there's your starting point.
    My mate was going to meet me there on Sunday morning but got lost. I kept asking him " are you sure you remember the spot" Yeah no worries..He ended up at Forgans and had a bit of a flick in the shallows.
    Those fish weren't caught at Forgans, that spot was a little closer to the wall. Caught along a fifty metre stretch of bank.
    If your going to go through the grass out there, make sure you check for ticks when you get home. Nasty lil buggers.

Righto thnx, geez i wanna go out there now with those ticks lol i dont mind the snakes, but ticks!

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons