View Poll Results: Would you share marks with newbie's??

Voters
139. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes - share marks

49 35.25%
  • No - Not until I know them

90 64.75%
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Giving away secret spots......????

Re: Giving away secret spots......????

hhhmmm if you give away a "secret" then it is no longer a secret? so as soon as you tell one person, you might as well tell the World yes/no?

and after that deep insight, I fully agree, some people could not catch a Fish if you threw it to them, so to them, unless they start to learn a bit, the location will mean bugger all, except they might be there when you want to go there, then that will be two Boats, then someone will zip by and see two Boats, guess what's going to happen now!

I'm of the opinion as are a few others that no secret spot is really secret unless you live somewhere like Cape York or Arnhem land.
    Most spots are fished hard. What can make a spot fire is more what people should be looking at in ragreds to what turns the fish on.
    If it's moons or tides, water temps, bait, clarity, etc whatever floats your boat then that's what you should be studying.
    It's this stuff that drives me to be a better fisho. Rather than ask for a spot, get out and explore and try new techniques.
    When I got up to Darwin, no-one held my hand and showed me the ropes. I took what I learned down south and applied it to my fishing up here. Now I'm seeing a few fish it's all good.
    Take note of when people post and what they catch, extract the key points and deduce what you will and apply that to your own spots.
    You can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink boys.

Richie

It all depends if you give them your y-z spots and the not the x ones

I've done a fair bit of research on quite a few (fishing) subjects, but I really wish I had the time to collate all that is said on different threads here on Ausfish, and who actually said what?

I reckon that if we took a long hard look at what has been said on this thread,(and similar others), then collated that to the respondents who have actually written up reports, then the results would throw up quite a few questions?...............all those with 'secret spots'? How many of them actually report or give advice? Look at the membership stats and look at the report stats.............are we really a "community"?

I don't for a minute think that folks should give up their "secret spots" but why is it that I so often see a thread that seems to draw out of the woodwork those who we rarely see imparting any semblance of aid to fellow fishos, and that they seem to post only to illustrate to others how they, (apparently), know more, or are better fishos than others?

The number of times that I've seen it written here that fishing is just, "about being on the water", or "chilling out" or "being with the wife and kids" and then I see responses that relate to "secret spots" and/or some other magical skills/knowledge that the poster has, when they have previously implied that they don't see fishing as competitive or egotistical. If you do, that is fine, whatever floats your boat, but I'm tired of seeing posts from those who have never posted in the reports section or indeed, in any section offering advice, and yet they somehow think "they're in the know', and yet they do nothing at all to serve their fellow fishos other than to say "I've got a secret spot or a secret technique"

Get real people................by all means exercise your freedom to say as you find or feel, but please don't attempt, when you have never posted a report or imparted knowledge to fellow fishos, that you are in someway superior because you have a "secret spot" or a 'special technique"..................You may well catch more fish, and you may well feel good about yourself................but if you ain't got nothing to offer those less fortunate than yourselves..............then you ain't worth jack shit!

If you really had secret spots, what would be your motive for telling others that you had, when you weren't prepared to divulge them, and why put up reports of catches without even a mention of something as simple as hook sizes or bait?

Don't get me wrong, there are those who have responded here who have admiited to secret spots whilst at the same time being regular contributors to increasing the knowledge and skills of their fellow fishos, and they will know who they are, but there are also those who only pop up on a thread such as/or similar to this, who talk of their knowledge, and yet never impart it to others in the slightest manner.

Sin bin here I come, 'cause this response may come across as confrontational, (and I 'ain't being, I'm just asking you to think), but before you judge this purely on a fishing level, appreciate that this response relates to life in general. If you've nothing to offer, then it pays to stay quiet..............tall poppies may hold their head up high for a short while, but they bend easy in the wind.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    It all depends if you give them your y-z spots and the not the x ones
    no G-spots I hope...

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    Sin bin here I come, 'cause this response may come across as confrontational, (and I 'ain't being, I'm just asking you to think), but before you judge this purely on a fishing level, appreciate that this response relates to life in general. If you've nothing to offer, then it pays to stay quiet..............tall poppies may hold their head up high for a short while, but they bend easy in the wind.

I like your point, Kev. I get a little touchy when folks say what they caught, but give no idea of the conditions, date, time, rough location, ie "off Moreton" would be enough. Was it two years ago? Three? At least if I know when, I can find out what weather folks are prepared to fish in, and how much success they get.

Same re bait and some other details. It would then be very helpful, for someone like me who doesn't know jack and wants to learn!

Love the poppies comment - try this; "If you soar like an Eagle, you'll be sucked in by a jet engine"

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    I've done a fair bit of research on quite a few (fishing) subjects, but I really wish I had the time to collate all that is said on different threads here on Ausfish, and who actually said what?

I reckon that if we took a long hard look at what has been said on this thread,(and similar others), then collated that to the respondents who have actually written up reports, then the results would throw up quite a few questions?...............all those with 'secret spots'? How many of them actually report or give advice? Look at the membership stats and look at the report stats.............are we really a "community"?

I don't for a minute think that folks should give up their "secret spots" but why is it that I so often see a thread that seems to draw out of the woodwork those who we rarely see imparting any semblance of aid to fellow fishos, and that they seem to post only to illustrate to others how they, (apparently), know more, or are better fishos than others?

The number of times that I've seen it written here that fishing is just, "about being on the water", or "chilling out" or "being with the wife and kids" and then I see responses that relate to "secret spots" and/or some other magical skills/knowledge that the poster has, when they have previously implied that they don't see fishing as competitive or egotistical. If you do, that is fine, whatever floats your boat, but I'm tired of seeing posts from those who have never posted in the reports section or indeed, in any section offering advice, and yet they somehow think "they're in the know', and yet they do nothing at all to serve their fellow fishos other than to say "I've got a secret spot or a secret technique"

Get real people................by all means exercise your freedom to say as you find or feel, but please don't attempt, when you have never posted a report or imparted knowledge to fellow fishos, that you are in someway superior because you have a "secret spot" or a 'special technique"..................You may well catch more fish, and you may well feel good about yourself................but if you ain't got nothing to offer those less fortunate than yourselves..............then you ain't worth jack shit!

If you really had secret spots, what would be your motive for telling others that you had, when you weren't prepared to divulge them, and why put up reports of catches without even a mention of something as simple as hook sizes or bait?

Don't get me wrong, there are those who have responded here who have admiited to secret spots whilst at the same time being regular contributors to increasing the knowledge and skills of their fellow fishos, and they will know who they are, but there are also those who only pop up on a thread such as/or similar to this, who talk of their knowledge, and yet never impart it to others in the slightest manner.

mate he asked for peoples thoughts on so called secret spots ,must have taken you a while to type this lot of delluded garbage

I reckon Kingtin has got a very good point there. Well said. There is alot of chest beating that goes on on Ausfish. Some of it is fair enough.

I think some good views have been expressed actually.

These so called "secret spots" are not fabulous little "holy grails" of fishing are they? Are they so filled with hungry and enormous fish that one can go there day or night to catch your limit?

More realistically methinks is that they may be a productive spot for a certain species in certain conditions at a certain time and all that if you hold your mouth right and happen to be lucky on the day and that the conditions hold well enough for you to get there and it is on a day off and you have the lawn mowed.

And then, you will need the knowledge and skill to actually present the right bait at the right time in the right way at the right place to induce one of thse monster fish to line up and take it.

I have been to other peoples "secret spots" and got skunked. I have been to my own secret spots and got skunked. What works today may not be the go tomorrow.

I just tell people now; I figure that if they don't have the right skill then they won't catch anything anyway; and if they do have the skill they probably know about it already.

someone earlier said something like pick the essence of posts to get bits of info that can be useful to us.

I took this challenge up and it's surprising at what you can piece together and then put into a search on the WWW and find nifty stuff like (coordinates etc) . So, I guess with a bit of research most "secret spots" could be deduced with a bit of brain work..............
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

Hi All , Iam a new member,have been fishing for many years, my time you only told them about a tree and gap in a mountain.Now with gps a different ball game,one wrong number in the co-ord and your miles out.yes I have given marks,but not a certain few,anyway the certain few only produce if you pick in the right spot and burley properly,also depends on current.well thats enough for a new guy{old guy}.Cheers Lew.

I was going to give away all of my best marks that I have spent 1000's of hours of trial and error finding, 10000's of dollars in fuel, tackle and bait, plus give you the right gear, baits, weather and methods to fish those areas correctly. But then I thought why put people through the drama of having to get their boat ready, launch and then put in an effort to actually fish, exhausting themselves in the process. It just didn't seem right to put people throught that hassle.

Instead I thought I would save them the trouble and go and do it for them, save them the inconvenience of having to learn something so they could stay warm at home and watch the telly. Then having caught some nice fish for them I thought well hell they won't want to get all smelly now cleaning them so I did that for them as well. Then the cooking odours, can't risk exposing the delicate folkes to that kind of nasty aroma can we so I cooked it up nicely for you as well.

Just when I am about to bring the finished product over to you I start to think about the health and safety. What if you are alergic to seafood, I could kill you or something then I remember, I don't know where you live bcause I have never seen you nor spoken to you and probably never will so I can't deliver your fish anyway. Shame that, but I tried.

If you give something away for free that is usually the value the recipient places on it. copyright straddie 2008

Quote Originally Posted by straddie View Post
    I was going to give away all of my best marks that I have spent 1000's of hours of trial and error finding, 10000's of dollars in fuel, tackle and bait, plus give you the right gear, baits, weather and methods to fish those areas correctly. But then I thought why put people through the drama of having to get their boat ready, launch and then put in an effort to actually fish, exhausting themselves in the process. It just didn't seem right to put people throught that hassle.

Instead I thought I would save them the trouble and go and do it for them, save them the inconvenience of having to learn something so they could stay warm at home and watch the telly. Then having caught some nice fish for them I thought well hell they won't want to get all smelly now cleaning them so I did that for them as well. Then the cooking odours, can't risk exposing the delicate folkes to that kind of nasty aroma can we so I cooked it up nicely for you as well.

Just when I am about to bring the finished product over to you I start to think about the health and safety. What if you are alergic to seafood, I could kill you or something then I remember, I don't know where you live bcause I have never seen you nor spoken to you and probably never will so I can't deliver your fish anyway. Shame that, but I tried.

If you give something away for free that is usually the value the recipient places on it. copyright straddie 2008
    Couldn't have said it better (without infringing on your copyright),my thoughts exactly.

general fishing spots no worries (do Tamar fm (community radio)fishing report).
    My top spots no. I will pass them on to friends but not on air.When the end is near for me i will then pass on every spot i can think of but not at this stage.
    A number or years back i passed on a top kingy spot (for Tassie) to my local who writes for the local paper and the next week-end i could walk across the boats in that location (place was my own until then).Not happy jan.I see the comercial value for the tacklo but what about me.
    Reidy