Giving away secret spots......???? - Page 3

View Poll Results: Would you share marks with newbie's??

Voters
139. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes - share marks

49 35.25%
  • No - Not until I know them

90 64.75%
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Giving away secret spots......????

Re: Giving away secret spots......????

I would only give out secret spots to mates that i personally know and some trusted Ausfish members, otherwise if you tell everyone about a spot its gonna get raped, even if they dont catch as mch fish, you can be pretty certain theres gonna be rubbish everywhere and more harmful things done to the enviroment.

Cam
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

For a newby to fishing I would give a couple of general productive spots to get them going in the right direction . Dont think I would give them my top hot spots as I only give them to friends who I know will exchange their spots. As for secret spots, I thought they were myths in this day and age. There is always someone watching
    Fishing! Its the way of life.
    Southwind 6.70

I think "Secret Spots" are a bit of a myth..... Skill and technique are probably more the sectret ingredient.... My wife loves fishing, I love boats, our " Secret Spot" is anywhere we find that suits our mood at that time. We didn't buy a boat to visit one spot each week regardless of how good it is, the enjoyment is in the searching out of new spots, to relax, catch a few (maybe),or just enjoy the trip.

Bill.

i would encourage people to share certain things such as a large area to fish for noobs eg. fishing a common shoal, but i wouldnt giv away my 'special' spots, that produce for me, i know they get used by others but we hav 2 liv with that, but say there is a lone couple of rocks in the bay that MOST people fly by without even giving a look i wouldnt tell many people bout them, specially if they regularly produce and dont get much other pressure. id b a bit selfish i guess.
    scott

Happy to give out general marks to people i don't know, but keep my special(ie little lump in te middle of nowhere) marks to a close few.

Used to think no one fished a couple of my marks UNTIL i went out on a weekend. Bloody hell. The theory of unknown marks got blown out the water

Cheers Scott.

There no such thing as a secret spot! There r spots that not alot of people know about! but with me im always looking for "THAT SPOT" that know one knows about thats close that u can look after burley and release the fish to get bigger and catch again! Cheers simon

I'll share spots ..... but usually only with likeminded fishoes which I've got to know .......... I would hate to see a location abused

Nagg

Yeah, I do, but I don't share spots.

If I have a general mark for a reef or shoal, then I'll give that out no worries, but 'my' spots, or should I say, the spots that I frequent, I will only give to those I know.

I've been given a lot of marks from members from this site, in fact nearly all of my marks are because of Ausfish, and I've gained some great mates out of it.

AS some have said, there's not much of the sea floor that hasn't been fished before, but living on the GBR you do sometimes find some great "honey Holes" which are more often than not passed straight over as people make their way to the biggest FAD known to man, the Reef, so they don't stop and check out the scenery when crossing the paddock. These honey holes would be places I'd guard with my life, only taking the most trusted friends and family to them.

If I had the resources, I reckon I'd hardly fish the reef, I'd be trolling everywhere, searching for these honey holes that go ignored, you'd be surprised with the amount of fish a small lump the size of a motor bike or half a small car will hold when its so far away from any other structure, that is dead, flat ground for miles in every direction. These spots are often so overlooked that you'd have a good chance of being only one of a very few people to fish it, where bait presentation, and that whole box'n'dice won't matter one iota.

u gota be kidding fella,s ever since gps and fish finders have been invented there,s no such thing. just because you bag out at 1 spot today doesn,t mean some one else will the next day or week will eh! i,ve even heard of [ from a charter boat skipper] a few times over the last couple of years that blokes actually take a hand held gps to steal spots outside so they can give to there mates these grubs were caught red handed so the skipper took them to areas that were none productive. good move i thought

Quote Originally Posted by batten View Post
    i would encourage people to share certain things such as a large area to fish for noobs eg. fishing a common shoal, but i wouldnt giv away my 'special' spots, that produce for me, i know they get used by others but we hav 2 liv with that, but say there is a lone couple of rocks in the bay that MOST people fly by without even giving a look i wouldnt tell many people bout them, specially if they regularly produce and dont get much other pressure. id b a bit selfish i guess.
    We all know about those lone couple of rocks, thats Dud and Peel Island and there's that lone fishing trolley off Green Island which holds fish
    Tangles KFC

theres a jack spot i know of , , its no secret but its a hot spot ! most of my mates are real meat hunters you show them somewhere like this and they try strip the joint ,some places are just too good to give away to get pillaged

Happy to give out starter marks for known reefs but as a few have said when you put in the time and effort trolling in the middle of nowhere to find a small lump which holds fish. Which in all likelyhood you might be the only person to fish or gets fished very rarely then I keep those closely guarded. I will take people who come out for the day with us to them because half the enjoyment is watching them get a few quality fish, but do expect that they show these marks the respect that they deserve and not hit them every time they go out.
    Out of the 300 plus marks on the gps I would only have a hand full of such marks that produce good fish consistently and these are mostly 70 klm out where fewer people frequent and there are no marked reefs. Most trips we will spend the majority of the time looking for new ground and fishing on it, if we don't do as well as we hoped we might drop in on one of these marks to top up the esky.

If a total newby were to ask me for spots I would gladly give him general locations and techniques, would I share an exact mark that regularly produces fish with him?....nope. I have done in the past only to go out a couple of weeks later to see them and a couple of thier mates boats right on the spot.
    Would I share the spot with a good mate whom I trust?......Yep gladly.

GT

If anyone wants a few catties, shovellies, and stingies, then pm me and I'll give you all my secret spots. I'm not that charitable though.............I'll keep my pike eel spots to myself

The Verminator

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by geeffa View Post
    i,ve even heard of [ from a charter boat skipper] a few times over the last couple of years that blokes actually take a hand held gps to steal spots outside so they can give to there mates these grubs were caught red handed so the skipper took them to areas that were none productive. good move i thought
    I'm sure this will bring a few poison barbs my way, but geeffa you can't 'steal' a spot. I know what you mean, but it's not owned by anyone. Commercial & industrial espionage is another matter however & there are ways to protect your proprietary information (trade secrets) against lawful overt or masked competitive intelligence gathering.

cheers, HR